Selected databases
- Egyptological bibliography, 1822-1997 CD-ROM (available from the information desk in the Matheson Library) Compiles bibliographical references from the Annual Egyptological bibliography and Christine Beinlich's Bibliographie Altgypten 1822 -1946 to provide an electronic archive of some 60,000 books and articles on Egypt and Egyptology. This is the main database for Egyptological studies. More up to date articles are available from the OEB : Online Egyptological bibliography website.
- L’Annee philologique contains fifty-seven years (1949-2006) of L’Année philologique (volumes 20 to 77). Lists citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. It is published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique in collaboration with the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography.
- Anthropology plus combines Anthropological literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Anthropology plus indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material cultures and interdisciplinary studies.
- JSTOR is an electronic full text archive of over 1,445 journals in a wide range of disciplines (see JSTOR content page). Publication dates range from 1800's to the most recent 3-5 years. Search or browse under the Archaeology, Anthropology, Art and Art History, Classical Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, History, Religion, and Asian Studies disciplines for relevant articles.
- Periodicals archive online is an index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1770. Includes articles in English, German, Italian, French and Spanish languages. Provides links to scanned articles in PDF format.
- Current contents connect provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of over 8,800 journals and books in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences areas from 1993 onwards. Updated weekly.
- IBSS: international bibliography of the social sciences covers the core social science disciplines of: economics, sociology, politics and anthropology. Coverage is from 1951 onwards. Current data is taken from over 2,700 selected international social science journals and around 7000 books per annum. Updated weekly.
- Ingenta select provides links to full text journals and websites in a large range of subject areas crossing the three disciplines of arts and humanities, social sciences and science. Under Social Sciences there is a heading for Anthropology and Archaeology listing 80 publications.
- Academic research library is a general reference resource which indexes 3,820 journals and provides the full text for 2,550 of these journals. Subject areas include arts, humanities, social sciences, and international law.
- Expanded academic ASAP indexes 4,500 journals in all subject areas except the pure sciences and 2,587 of these journals are available in full text.
- Wilson art full text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from several hundred journals published throughout the world. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. It includes articles from 1984 onwards.
- Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors
|