Skip to content | Change text size

International relations

Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 (connect | more information)

Series One - Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 - offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948.

  • Includes full text
  • Ciao : Columbia international affairs online (connect | more information)

    Designed as a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991, it includies working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences. Has links to over 160 international sites, environmental studies Web pages and news media services.

  • Includes full text
  • Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (connect | more information)

    Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 is a fully searchable database of over 22,000 British Government records or almost 180,000 images or pages taken from PRO class FO 371 in The National Archives at Kew. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material (predominantly in English, but containing some documents in a variety of Western European languages) to be quickly accessed by academics and students, writers and researchers. In addition to document files from The National Archives this digital edition includes a picture gallery illustrating key British operations, SOE equipment and individuals, clips from Now it Can Be Told from the Imperial War Museum, London, showing actual SOE agents reconstructing sabotage and intelligence operations in occupied France, a film begun in complete secrecy in 1944 and released in 1946, and The Chronology and Index of the Second World War, 1938-1945, compiled by The Royal Institute of International Affairs.

  • Includes full text
  • Confidential print, Middle East, 1839-1969 (connect | more information)

    The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.

  • Includes full text
  • CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • Digital National Security Archive : the documents that made U.S. policy. (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive set of declassified government documents, the Digital National Security Archive now includes 31 collections consisting of over 80,000 indexed documents. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.

  • Includes full text
  • Documents online [WTO] (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), including the legal texts of the WTO agreements, from 1995 onwards, with daily updates. Also contains selected material for the period 1986-1994, principally Uruguay Round documents and a small number of GATT documents.Note: this database does not contain WTO publications.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of modern Asia (connect | more information)

    Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally.

  • Includes full text
  • Europa : gateway to the European Union (connect | more information)

    EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty.

  • Includes full text
  • FIRST (connect | more information)

    This is an integrated database system which contains clearly documented information from research institutes around the world. It covers areas in the field of international relations and security, including facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics and other reference data. A country profile approach for data retrieval is used. The system allows the user to search through more than 40 databases from different institutes around the world through a single user-friendly interface.

  • Includes full text
  • Foreign Office files China (connect | more information)

    Published in three sections covering the periods 1949-1956; 1957-1966; and 1967-1976, this project addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People's Republic, in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976. The series begins with Section I: 1949-1956. Section II is scheduled for publication in March 2010, and Section III in 2011. The complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in this period is made available.

  • Includes full text
  • Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (connect | more information)

    "These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. This was a turbulent era in the region's history. The partition of 1947 and the splitting apart of Pakistan in 1971 were accompanied by loss of life and enormous population movements, as refugees fled violence or ethnic conflict. India fought Pakistan twice in Kashmir, in 1947-8 and 1965, and China in the Himalayas in 1962. Stable and democratic government proved elusive outside India, the region experiencing a succession of coups: in Pakistan in 1958 and 1977, in Afghanistan in 1973, 1978 and 1979, and in Bangladesh in 1975; democracy underwent a flowering and then a withering in Nepal, where King Mahendra established a partyless autocracy in 1959. Even in India, which had successfully established a democratic, secular state at independence, the government of India Gandhi became increasingly authoritarian and intolerant of dissent in the 1970s, imprisoning hundreds of opponents.... The files in this collection cover these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, the papers in the files cover such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia." Section I, Independence, partition and the Nehru era, 1947-1964: This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between Indian and Pakistani independence and the death of Jawaharlal Nehru. The documents, from the Dominions Office (renamed Office of Commonwealth Relations in 1947) and Foreign Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera. Section II, South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71: Continued fighting over Kashmir and the separation of Bangladesh from Pakistan meant that further conflict dominated this period. It saw Indira Gandhi, Nehru's daughter, gain power in India, whilst the military government of Pakistan wrestled with political disturbances, military crises and issues in East Pakistan.

  • Includes full text
  • INTAN MAS (connect | more information)

    This is a bibliographic database that contains references to the literature on East Timor and Eastern Indonesia, on Australia's relations with Southeast Asia and with ASEAN and its member nations. Source documents include books, periodical articles and dissertations. The database is limited to the languages of Western Europe and Bahasa Indonesia and has selective coverage of colonial and present day government reports. Coverage: 1989 to 2002.

    International law (connect | more information)

    "International Law e-books online is the electronic version of the book publication program of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers in the broad field of international law. Coverage: Public International Law - Law of the Sea - International Trade Law - International Labour Law - Environmental Law - European Law - International Relations - International Organizations - Terrorism - Legal History - Islamic Law."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Iraq, 1914-1974 (connect | more information)

    Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers (over 68,650 pages or approximately 400 British government files on Iraqi affairs). It presents British government and diplomatic documents -- dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents -- covering the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political history of Iraq in the 20th century, from the outbreak of World War I to the emergence of Saddam Hussein as a leading member of the revolutionary Ba'ath party in the 1970s. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life.

  • Includes full text
  • MIPT terrorism knowledge base (connect | more information)

    The MIPT Terrorism Knowledge Base is a comprehensive resource for research and analysis on global terrorist incidents, terrorism-related court cases, and terrorist groups and leaders. It takes users through the history, affiliations, locations, and tactics of the terrorism entities operating across the world at this moment. The database features interactive maps, biographies on key terrorist personalities, dynamic graphs, and summaries on who is who and what is what inside the world of terrorism today. The Terrorism Knowledge Base integrates data from the RAND Terrorism Chronology 1968-1997; RAND-MIPT Terrorism Incident database (1998-Present); Terrorism Indictment database (University of Arkansas); and DFI International's research on terrorist organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • Nixon years, 1969-1974 (connect | more information)

    The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation. Top level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate this collection, which provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew. Many files focus on foreign policy issues ranging from the Vietnam War and Paris Peace talks, to Nixon's China visit in 1972 and US relations with the Middle East. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment. There is also significant coverage of Nixon's domestic policy initiatives such as the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, the war on cancer, and the extension of the Voting Rights Act and liberal action on Civil Rights.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford scholarship online. Political science (connect | more information)

    A cross-searchable database of Oxford University Press e-books in the area of political science. Subjects covered include: American politics; Comparative politics; Democratization; Environmental politics; European Union; International relations; Political economy; Political theory; Russian politics; and UK politics.

  • Includes full text
  • PAIS (connect | more information)

    PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world ... It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.--Publisher description. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century's most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.--Publisher description.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    UNBISnet : UN bibliographic information system (connect | more information)

    Catalogue of United Nations documentation and publications indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-United Nations sources held in New York and Geneva's collections. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 onward, however, more and more older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet provides access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Links to full text of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council, going back to 1946, are included.

  • Includes full text
  • United Nations official documents : ODS (connect | more information)

    ODS Online is a full-text database of parliamentary documents and official records of the United Nations available in the official languages of the UN (English, Spanish and French). Includes General Assembly, Security Council, and other Council resolutions from 1946, all UN parliamentary documents from 1992 and various UN daily journals and lists of documents. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information.

  • Includes full text
  • United Nations treaty collection= Collection des traites des Nations unies (connect | more information)

    Includes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and, those formerly deposited with the League of Nations, their latest status and a link to the full texts. Also includes bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat, detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s); and recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors and alumni.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors and alumni

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases