Skip to content | Change text size

Industrial engineering

Key resources

Compendex (connect | more information)

Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

EDGE (connect | more information)

Australian index to journals dealing with management, environmental packaging and building topics.

ENGINE : Australian engineering database (connect | more information)

ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. It covers all branches of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, geotechnical, ocean and military.

 


Other resources

AccessEngineering (connect | more information)

AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to the engineering collection in the following subject areas: Biomedical - Chemical - Civil - Communications - Construction - Electrical - Energy - Environmental - Green/Sustainable - Industrial - Material Science - Mechanical - Nanotechnology - Optical. In addition, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering is embedded on all search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian architecture database]: ARCH (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from material held by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Source documents include journal articles, exhibition reviews, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, project articles and award features. Subject coverage includes architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture.

    Australian nuclear science & technology information : ANSTI (connect | more information)

    ANSTI provides access to over 34,000 bibliographical references (most with abstracts) to Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications and the economic and environmental aspects of non-nuclear energy. It indexes all relevant Australian publications and all relevant Australian authored material including non-published material from 1970.

    Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • ENGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    ENGnetBASE is a database containing the full-text of all engineering handbooks published by CRC Press in electronic format. The titles cover a wide range of engineering disciplines, as well as some computer science and physical science areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    IEEE Xplore (connect | more information)

    IEEE Xplore is a full text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering. It provides access to IEEE transactions, more than 120 journal titles, 600 conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards. Updated weekly, it also provides an email table of contents alerting service. IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and IEE (The Institution of Electrical Engineers) are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.

  • Includes full text
  • INDUSTRIALnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database providing information on the principles and processes involved with taking an idea from a theoretical plan to a functional product. For those seeking to get in line with regulations and streamline operations, this library offers practical advice, as well as a grounding in the theoretical principles guiding today's climate of manufacturing in an international market. Categories include manufacturing and industrial engineering, quality and standards, and sales, marketing, and service.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : engineering collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Engineering Collectio provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia. It covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work on chemical technology. Subject areas include chemical reactions, combinatorial synthesis and technology, environmental protection, industrial safety, pharmaceuticals, processes and process engineering and much more. Users can search by key words, author, Chemical Abstract Registry Numbers, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text

  • List of full text titles available

    MATERIALSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    From ceramics and textiles to industrial engineering and manufacturing, machine design, lasers and optical engineering, manufacturing processes, nanoscience/nanotechnology, packaging and systems engineering, this dynamic library of over 170 handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and treatises, explains the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse material applications.

  • Includes full text
  • MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Covers topics ranging from aerospace engineering, industrial engineering and manufacturing, industrial engineering management, lasers and optical engineering, to machine design, manufacturing processing, nanoscience/nanotechnology, packaging and systems engineering. Up to 120 texts are included for searching and browsing.

  • Includes full text
  • MEDGE : management and environment information (connect | more information)

    Australian index to journal articles on a wide range of management-related topics, including environmental management (e.g. recycling and litter control), the Australian economy and government policy. Coverage: 1985 to Jul. 2006.

    POLYMERSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Allows simultaneous searching of three databases of polymer information: Polymeric materials encyclopedia, Polymers: a property database and Polymer books from Taylor and Francis.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Referex engineering (connect | more information)

    Referex Engineering is a searchable database providing access to the full text of over 1,600 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focussed on technique and practice, as well as specialised professional information.

  • Includes full text
  • Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    TRIBOLOGYnetBASE/LUBRICATIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Instantly access the properties, factors, and formulae your research requires. Download charts, pages, even chapters from an ever-growing library of complete handbooks and reference material, including titles found in the STLE Body of Knowledge. Topics covered include: electrical engineering, electronics, industrial engineering & manufacturing, machine design, manufacturing processing, mechanical engineering and nanoscience/nanotechnology.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases