Skip to content | Change text size

History

Key resources

APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Bibliography of Asian studies (connect | more information)

    Citation database of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences) published worldwide since 1971 to the present. Through 1991, BAS included citations to periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Since 1992, newly published individually authored monographs are not added to the database.

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Historical abstracts (connect | more information)

    Citation database of English language and foreign language journal articles, articles in collected works, dissertations and books about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Abstracts, in English, are provided for articles only.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)

    Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.

    Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Proquest research library (connect | more information)

    "From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles - over 3,600 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers."--Publisher product description.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers (connect | more information)

    This database features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). It represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London; however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

  • Includes full text
  • Access to archival databases (AAD) (connect | more information)

    "The Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System gives you online access to electronic records that are highly structured, such as in databases. The initial release of AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records, which include over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates. Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats ... AAD allows you to search for and retrieve specific records from selected series and data files over the Internet." Includes a link to search descriptions of NARA's non-electronic records through NARA's online catalogue, ARC.

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (connect | more information)

    ACLS Humanities E-Book includes the full text of 2200 titles selected by scholars across the humanities. Approximately 500 titles are added each year. The collection includes both in- and out-of-print titles ranging from the 1880s through 2008. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963 (connect | more information)

    This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats about Afghanistan in the period 1945 to 1963, including: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents ... It consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on crucial subjects, such as: political parties and elections; unrest and revolution; human rights; government; administration; fiscal and monetary issues; labor; housing; police and crime; public health; national defense; foreign policymaking; wars and alliances; education; religion; culture; trade; industry; foreign relations; natural resources.

  • Includes full text
  • AHB : Australian heritage bibliography (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures.

    AHRR : Australian historic records register (connect | more information)

    Database of paper-based records held in private hands in Australia. Source documents include letters, diaries, photographs, financial records, posters, sketches, recipe books, catalogues, minute books, registers and other material. It provides insight into life in Australia from settlement to 1988. Completed publication in 1988.

    Aluka (connect | more information)

    "Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa ... The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides."--History and mission page. The three main content areas are: 1. African cultural heritage sites and landscapes. 2. African plants. 3. Struggles for freedom in Southern Africa (focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe).

  • Includes full text
  • American Civil War : letters and diaries (connect | more information)

    The American Civil War : Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.

  • Includes full text
  • American national biography (connect | more information)

    Fully searchable resource offering "portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation" with illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select Web sites. Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Amsterdam University Press collection (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • APAIS-ATSIS (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database is a subset of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include scholarly Australian journals, monographs, newspapers and conference proceedings. Limited articles from overseas publications are also included. Specific subject coverage includes history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture.

  • Includes full text
  • Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 (connect | more information)

    Series One - Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 - offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948.

  • Includes full text
  • Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) (connect | more information)

    Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

    AUSCHRON (connect | more information)

    Information database which provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current events, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. Source documents for current events include main state and territory papers, chiefly "The Age" and "The Australian" and national news journals, reports and other publications. For historical events source documents include contemporary records such as explorer's journals and newspapers, books and journal articles. Subject coverage includes Australian historical events in all subject areas with reference to significant current events from 1993 to the present. Historical dates deal with events from earliest Dutch discoveries to the end of 1992.

    Australasian religion index (connect | more information)

    The Australasian Religion Index (ARI) is an author and subject index covering over eighty religious and theological serials published in Australia or New Zealand and representing all religious traditions. Related areas of study such as history and sociology are also covered. ARI indexes articles, notes and book reviews in religious studies, theology and related fields in the humanities and social sciences.--About ARI.

    Australian dictionary of biography (connect | more information)

    The Australian Dictionary of Biography Online website is the Internet version of the ADB's traditional print volumes. The biographical articles published in the first online edition are those found in the printed ADB: Volumes 1 to 16 in the continuing series and the Supplementary Volume. The database contains over 10,000 scholarly biographies of significant Australians who died before 1980. Later print volumes of the ADB will be incorporated in the online edition.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Federation full text database (connect | more information)

    This database provides access to the key primary source texts of Australian Federation, including the official reports of the debates of the 1890s, the major participants' accounts and memoirs, as well as a number of important related texts.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian newspapers : historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954 (connect | more information)

    The Australian Newspapers Beta service allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains 70,000 digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 1954 and coverage is expanding weekly. The titles in the ANDP (as at July 31, 2008) include: Argus (Melbourne), Brisbane courier, Canberra times, Courier-mail (Brisbane), Hobart town gazette and southern reporter, Hobart town gazette and Van Diemen's land advertiser, Maitland mercury & Hunter River general advertiser, Mercury (Hobart), Perth gazette and Western Australian journal, South Australian advertiser and Sydney gazette and New South Wales advertiser.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian screen. Education (connect | more information)

    "Developed by Curriculum Corporation through The Le@rning Federation, the education collection is designed to help teachers and students make the most of the wide range of moving image resources on the site. The clips in this collection are accompanied by teachers' notes created by specialist curriculum writers. Expert curators' notes also provide useful background material ... There are currently 1065 clips with teachers' notes."--Title page.

    Berg fashion library (connect | more information)

    Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.

  • Includes full text
  • Biblical Archaeology Society online archive (connect | more information)

    Contains the content of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books. The site allows users to browse the entire corpus of material and perform Boolean searches by title, author, subject, word, issue, or date range in any combination.

  • Includes full text
  • Bibliography of the history of art/International bibliography of art (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive bibliographical database of scholarly writing about the history of western art, containing "abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues." The abstracts may be in English or in French, and index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.

    Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Brill online (connect | more information)

    Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Bristol selected pamphlets (connect | more information)

    Bristol has a substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, including the National Liberal Club collection, with pamphlets from the libraries of Charles Bradlaugh, John Noble, the Liberation Society, the Land Nationalisation Society, the Cobden Club, and others. Bristol's collection is especially strong on 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology. In addition to publications by Liberal Party members, it includes many pamphlets from other political parties.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • British history online (connect | more information)

    This digital library contains some of the core primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users in learning, teaching and research.

  • Includes full text
  • British humanities index : BHI (connect | more information)

    "An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes almost 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Subjects covered include: Archaeology, Current Affairs, Education, Economics, Environment, Gender Studies, History, Law, Political Science and Religion."--Publisher description.

    CAN : collections Australia network (connect | more information)

    The Collections Australia Network (CAN) portal is intended to be the public gateway to collecting institutions across Australia including the small to medium regional institutions. Besides providing access to nationwide information on Australia's cultural heritage, members of the public can also access an individual institution's own CAN website to explore its specific content.

    Catalogue of digitized medieval manuscripts (connect | more information)

    "The Catalogue of digitized medieval manuscripts offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, which we expect quickly to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database. As the project develops, a richer body of information for each manuscript, and the texts in these codices, will be provided, where available."--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • China (connect | more information)

    This collection contains a wide range of materials documenting western interaction with China from the first embassy by Lord Macartney to trade negotiations for military aircraft in the 1970s. It includes papers regarding the Macartney and Amherst Embassies, the Opium War, Arrow War, Boxer Rebellion, Taiping Rebellion, the opening of treaty ports, the creation and running of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service and the birth of the People's Republic, and strong collections relating to missionaries and their experiences. It contains maps, drawings and photographs, and personal accounts of life and work in China throughout the period.

  • Includes full text
  • China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science.

  • Includes full text
  • CHRONICLES (connect | more information)

    Database resource designed to assist genealogists, historians and researchers locate biographical information on as wide a range of Australians as possible. Its entries point to biographical information in a wide variety of sources, including Who's Whos, biographical dictionaries, topical and local histories, and published family histories. Entries cover all periods of Australian history. Each record contains, where available, the full name of the person in question, together with details of birth date and location, death date and location, the source of the entry, and whether or not a photograph or illustration of the person was included in that source. Each record contains only those details that were included in the particular source.

    Columbia University Press collection (connect | more information)

    A cross-disciplinary database of over 500 electronic books from the Columbia University Press, the fourth oldest university press in the United States.

    Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (connect | more information)

    Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 is a fully searchable database of over 22,000 British Government records or almost 180,000 images or pages taken from PRO class FO 371 in The National Archives at Kew. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material (predominantly in English, but containing some documents in a variety of Western European languages) to be quickly accessed by academics and students, writers and researchers. In addition to document files from The National Archives this digital edition includes a picture gallery illustrating key British operations, SOE equipment and individuals, clips from Now it Can Be Told from the Imperial War Museum, London, showing actual SOE agents reconstructing sabotage and intelligence operations in occupied France, a film begun in complete secrecy in 1944 and released in 1946, and The Chronology and Index of the Second World War, 1938-1945, compiled by The Royal Institute of International Affairs.

  • Includes full text
  • Confidential print, Middle East, 1839-1969 (connect | more information)

    The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.

  • Includes full text
  • Contemporary women's issues (connect | more information)

    Contemporary Women's Issues is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.

  • Includes full text
  • Cornell modern Indonesia collection (connect | more information)

    "The Cornell Modern Indonesia Project (CMIP) was initiated in the 1950s by faculty members in Cornell's Southeast Asia Program who were committed to making contemporary analyses of Indonesia and translations of its important documents available to scholars and students. The 75 titles in this series are divided into four categories: Interim Reports, Translations, Monographs, and Bibliographies. These works capture the drama of Indonesia's political and social evolution through the twentieth century: its struggle for independence from the Dutch under the leadership of Sukarno, reactions to the Japanese Occupation, the development of its civil government, its civil insurgencies, and the conditions that prevailed throughout the long dictatorship of General Suharto. A few other works in this series, such as Benedict Anderson's Mythology and the Tolerance of the Javanese, reflect on earlier Indonesian history relevant to the modern nation."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Cowen tracts (connect | more information)

    Personal collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900). A social reformer and Member of Parliament for Newcastle (1873-86), Cowen's pamphlet collection dates, mostly, from his active years from the late 1840s to early 1880s. The collection reflects his interests in social, educational and economic issues and includes much local material.--Publisher description

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.

    Digital National Security Archive : the documents that made U.S. policy. (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive set of declassified government documents, the Digital National Security Archive now includes 31 collections consisting of over 80,000 indexed documents. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.

  • Includes full text
  • Digital South Asia library (connect | more information)

    The Digital South Asia Library, a project of the Center for Research Libraries, is a global collaborative effort to make important and rare South Asian resources available to the international community.

  • Includes full text
  • Domesday book : Britain's finest treasure (connect | more information)

    In 1085 William the Conqueror commissioned a survey to discover the resources and taxable values of all the boroughs and manors in England. He wanted to discover who owned what, how much it was worth and how much was owed to him as King in tax, rents, and military service. The result was the Domesday Book. The Domesday Book survives as two volumes, Little Domesday and Great Domesday, and both can be searched on this site. Searching can be by names of places or people, or by folio reference, and scanned images can be downloaded, along with a modern English translation.

  • Includes full text
  • Earl Grey pamphlets collection (connect | more information)

    Still owned by the family, this collection was largely accumulated by the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Earls Grey. Charles was Foreign Secretary (1806-07) and Prime Minister (1830-34). Henry George was Under Secretary for Home Affairs (1830) and the Colonies (1830-34), Secretary at War (1835-39), and Secretary of State for the Colonies (1846-52). Albert Henry George was Administrator of Rhodesia (1896-97) and Governor-General of Canada (1904-11). The Greys were particularly interested in parliamentary reform, colonial affairs and Catholic emancipation.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment (connect | more information)

    This first release of Early Encounters in North America (EENA) contains approximately 10,250 pages of material. When complete the product will include more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.

  • Includes full text
  • Early English books online (connect | more information)

    This database gives full text reproduction access to the works (over 125,000 titles) listed in: Pollard & Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) ; Wing, Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) ; and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The works in this collection are presented as images, which may be viewed online, or downloaded in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • eBooks@Adelaide (connect | more information)

    Web book versions of over 2,000 classic texts in literature, philosophy, science, and history. Foreign-language works are mostly presented in English translation. Works are divided chronologically into the Classical Age (e.g., Aristotle; Confucius; Homer; Plato; Plutarch; Sophocles); the Hellenistic Period (e.g., Apollonius of Rhodes); Roman Empire (e.g., Virgil; Horace); the "Dark" Age (e.g., Beowulf; Omar Khayyam); Renaissance (e.g., Bacon; Dante; Chaucer; Cervantes; Galileo; Machiavelli; Marlowe; Shakespeare); the Age of Enlightenment (e.g., Blake; Descartes; Kant; Leibniz; Milton; Molie真re; Newton; Swift); Revolution & Romanticism (e.g., Austen; Dumas; Hawthorne; Hegel; Hugo; Lamarck; Malthus; Shelley); Realism, Naturalism, Symbolism (e.g., Balzac; the Bronte真s; Doyle; Emerson; Ibsen; Melville; Pushkin; Thoreau; Twain; Verne; Wells); and the Age of Uncertainty (e.g., Camus; Chekhov; Darwin; Joyce; Marx; Nietzsche; Shaw; Proust; Wilde; Woolf). Includes special collections of classic works in travel and exploration; gastronomy/cookery; the Gothic novel; horror, science fiction, and fantasy; crime and mystery; the Greek dramatists; and Russian literature.

  • Includes full text
  • Economist : historical archive 1843-2006 (connect | more information)

    This database features more than 8,000 issues of The Economist since first publication in 1843. It delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century journals (connect | more information)

    Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II), the British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library and the Brotherton Library (Eighteenth Century Journals IV). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.

  • Includes full text
  • Empire online (connect | more information)

    This database is being published in five sections between 2003 and 2007 offering approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (2003); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (2003/4); The Visible Empire (2004/5); Religion and Empire (2005/6); and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (2006/7). The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

  • Includes full text
  • English short title catalogue (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic records for over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly but not exclusively in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Engraved music, maps, and prints are excluded, although atlases and texts which are wholly engraved do appear in ESTC. Some other categories of material are excluded, for example trade cards, playbills and playing cards. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).

  • Includes full text
  • Feminae : medieval women and gender index (connect | more information)

    Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection (connect | more information)

    On deposit from the FCO, this collection comprises the earlier collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office. Both include rare publications from overseas. The Foreign Office Collection consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century. The Colonial Office Collection is chiefly comprised of pamphlets sent back from Britain's colonies, including some unique early material from Australasia.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Foreign Office files China (connect | more information)

    Published in three sections covering the periods 1949-1956; 1957-1966; and 1967-1976, this project addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People's Republic, in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976. The series begins with Section I: 1949-1956. Section II is scheduled for publication in March 2010, and Section III in 2011. The complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in this period is made available.

  • Includes full text
  • Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (connect | more information)

    "These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. This was a turbulent era in the region's history. The partition of 1947 and the splitting apart of Pakistan in 1971 were accompanied by loss of life and enormous population movements, as refugees fled violence or ethnic conflict. India fought Pakistan twice in Kashmir, in 1947-8 and 1965, and China in the Himalayas in 1962. Stable and democratic government proved elusive outside India, the region experiencing a succession of coups: in Pakistan in 1958 and 1977, in Afghanistan in 1973, 1978 and 1979, and in Bangladesh in 1975; democracy underwent a flowering and then a withering in Nepal, where King Mahendra established a partyless autocracy in 1959. Even in India, which had successfully established a democratic, secular state at independence, the government of India Gandhi became increasingly authoritarian and intolerant of dissent in the 1970s, imprisoning hundreds of opponents.... The files in this collection cover these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, the papers in the files cover such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia." Section I, Independence, partition and the Nehru era, 1947-1964: This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between Indian and Pakistani independence and the death of Jawaharlal Nehru. The documents, from the Dominions Office (renamed Office of Commonwealth Relations in 1947) and Foreign Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera. Section II, South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71: Continued fighting over Kashmir and the separation of Bangladesh from Pakistan meant that further conflict dominated this period. It saw Indira Gandhi, Nehru's daughter, gain power in India, whilst the military government of Pakistan wrestled with political disturbances, military crises and issues in East Pakistan.

  • Includes full text
  • Gutenberg-e (connect | more information)

    A series of digital monographs in the field of historical scholarship produced in collaboration with the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press. Each e-text may offer extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Historic government publications from World War II : a digital library (connect | more information)

    Provides researchers with access to a large collection of digitised World War II publications, or historic documents, published by the United States government in support of the war effort, held by the Central University Libraries, Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas.

  • Includes full text
  • House of Commons parliamentary papers (connect | more information)

    HCPP online is a major source for information on 19th and 20th-century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. Includes all sessional papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-2003/04, including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. Monash University Library has access to the following collections: 19th century (1801-1900) and 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)

  • Includes full text
  • Hume tracts (connect | more information)

    Personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), Radical Member of Parliament. Hume's collection covers the major political, economic and social developments and reforms taking place in Britain in the early part of the 19th century along with the causes he particularly championed, such as universal suffrage, Catholic emancipation, a reduction in the power of the Anglican church and an end to imprisonment for debt.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Illustrated London news historical archive, 1842-2003 (connect | more information)

    "The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations."

  • Includes full text
  • In the first person (connect | more information)

    In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals, In the First Person indexes first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes - those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world. With selective full text and/or audio.

  • Includes full text
  • Index Islamicus (connect | more information)

    Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

    Informit indexes (connect | more information)

    "Indexes provide instant, searchable access to up to forty years of index and abstract data from Australasia's leading research institutions. Informit Indexes make it easy to locate archived content, ensuring users don't overlook the important information only available in print and ... excluded from full text databases."--Informit Products page.

    International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS (connect | more information)

    The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

  • Includes full text
  • International medieval bibliography (connect | more information)

    The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is a multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The IMB comprises over 445,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.

    Iraq, 1914-1974 (connect | more information)

    Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers (over 68,650 pages or approximately 400 British government files on Iraqi affairs). It presents British government and diplomatic documents -- dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents -- covering the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political history of Iraq in the 20th century, from the outbreak of World War I to the emergence of Saddam Hussein as a leading member of the revolutionary Ba'ath party in the 1970s. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life.

  • Includes full text
  • Knowsley pamphlet collection (connect | more information)

    The Knowsley collection reflects the political careers of the Earls of Derby. Edward George, the 14th Earl, was successively Irish Secretary (1830-33), Colonial Secretary (1833-34, 1841-44), and three times Prime Minister (1852, 1858-59, and 1866-68). His son, Edward Henry, 15th Earl, was Colonial Secretary and later Indian secretary in his father's administration of 1858-59.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Kungnip Chungang Toso真gwan Cho真nja Toso真gwan= The National Library of Korea Digital Library (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Liverpool University Press collection (connect | more information)

    A multidisciplinary database of over 200 electronic books published by Liverpool University Press. "Established in 1899, Liverpool University Press publishes academic books ... of high quality on a wide range of subjects which includes history, literature, art and architecture, by authors from around the world. The press is a respected publisher of science fiction texts and Liverpool interest titles."--Publisher description.

    London's past online : a bibliography of London history (connect | more information)

    Produced by the Centre for Metropolitan History in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography, London's Past Online is a free online bibliography of published material relating to the history of the Greater London area.

    LSE selected pamphlets (connect | more information)

    LSE has a substantial number of 19th century pamphlets. Among its pamphlets are comprehensive collections of political party materials, including election manifestos and political cartoons. There are also collections from pressure groups such as the Fabian Society, Imperial Federation Defence Committee, Poor Law Reform Association, Workhouse Visiting Society, Liberal and Property Defence League, and from cooperative movements such as the Cooperative Women's Guild.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies.

    Making of America (connect | more information)

    A searchable digital collection of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, consisting of approximately 5000 books and journal volumes with imprints between 1850 and 1877. The collection is strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion and science and technology.

  • Includes full text
  • making of modern law : legal treatises 1800-1926 (connect | more information)

    Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

  • Includes full text
  • making of the modern world (connect | more information)

    This database provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages allows researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport. It is derived from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University.

  • Includes full text
  • Mass observation online (connect | more information)

    Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation founded in 1937 to record everyday life in Britain. This online resource contains primary material gathered by Mass Observation from 1937-1955, including diaries and questionnaires sent in by its panel of volunteers, and research gathered by paid investigators in the form of File reports and Topic collections. The collection includes works by Mass Observation founders Tom Harrisson, Charles Madge and Humphrey Jennings, and photographer Humphrey Spender, as well as contributions by volunteer panellists Nella Last and Naomi Mitchison.

  • Includes full text
  • Medieval travel writing (connect | more information)

    Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothe真que nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universita真tsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, O真sterreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.

  • Includes full text
  • MIHILIST : the Australasian military history database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes articles from published material on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics. Source documents are 14 major periodicals for articles on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand, and Papua-New Guinean military history, and some published monographs. Coverage: 1987 to 1999.

    MILITARYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Exploring war history, weaponry, superpower politics, and the cold war, as well as terrorism and current security concerns, this site, featuring works from Routledge, offers the authoritative data and diverse commentary that both scholars and policymakers require. Up to 116 titles are available for searching or browsing.

  • Includes full text
  • nineteenth century (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic index/catalogue to the Nineteenth Century publishing programme on microfiche of English language books first published between 1801 and 1900 held in the British Library. The publications are organized into eleven main sections and their coverage is described on this site. The brief catalogue records provided in the online index include publication details, subject headings, fiche number and British Library shelfmark. The Nineteenth Century General Collection: society and culture microform collection is held at Deakin University and the Specialist collections are held at other Universities.

    Nixon years, 1969-1974 (connect | more information)

    The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation. Top level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate this collection, which provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew. Many files focus on foreign policy issues ranging from the Vietnam War and Paris Peace talks, to Nixon's China visit in 1972 and US relations with the Middle East. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment. There is also significant coverage of Nixon's domestic policy initiatives such as the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, the war on cancer, and the extension of the Voting Rights Act and liberal action on Civil Rights.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford dictionary of national biography (connect | more information)

    The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included; the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2003.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford Islamic studies online (connect | more information)

    "Oxford Islamic Studies Online brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and will be regularly updated ... Encompassing over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience."--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford scholarship online. Classical studies (connect | more information)

    "The Oxford Scholarship Online collection provides ... direct and easy access to many of Oxford's distinguished key and new titles in the [Classical Studies] discipline, including essential scholarly works by leading classical scholars on Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History. Series include Oxford Classical Monographs, Oxford Studies in Ancient Documents, Classical Presences, Classical Culture and Society, and American Philological Association Monograph Series."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford scholarship online. History (connect | more information)

    Cross-searchable database of e-books published by Oxford University Press in history, covering the period from late antiquity and the early Middle Ages right through to the latter decades of the twentieth century, and ranging from the most focused regional histories to the broadest transnational studies. Covers American, British and European history, cultural and economic history, military and social history, and the history of ideas.

  • Includes full text
  • OzLife : Australian biography index (connect | more information)

    OzLife was a selective index to articles about prominent Australians appearing in major Australian newspapers from September 2000 to July 2005. Until September 2002 Ozlife also indexed book reviews on works of Australian fiction and non-fiction which appeared in Australian journals and newspapers. It contains over 48, 000 records. Active indexing in OzLife ceased in July 2005.

    PAIS (connect | more information)

    PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world ... It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.--Publisher description. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century's most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.--Publisher description.

    PANDORA : Australia's web archive (connect | more information)

    PANDORA archive is an outcome of the Library's PANDORA Project. It was established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and is now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations. The purpose of the PANDORA Archive is to collect and provide long-term access to selected online publications and web sites that are about Australia, are by an Australian author on a subject of social, political, cultural, religious, scientific or economic significance and relevance to Australia.

    parliament rolls of medieval England (connect | more information)

    Contains searchable full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII, covering the years from 1275 to 1504, together with a general introduction, separate introductions for each parliament, and appendices containing supplementary materials. Also includes over 100 specimen images of the original rolls.

  • Includes full text
  • PictureAustralia (connect | more information)

    PictureAustralia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra. Provides distributed searching of pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. Participants include National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, Australia Heritage Commission, National Archives of Australia and others. These images cover all areas of Australiana, featuring people, places, events and objects.

    Post-war Europe : refugees, exile and resettlement, 1945-1950 (connect | more information)

    Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. Post-War Europe contains newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars. These essays offer an insight into key themes and provide direct links to the documents mentioned and a means to access for students unfamiliar with the original materials. Five documentary British Pathe films provide visual evidence of key issues covered by the documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Princeton University Press collection (connect | more information)

    Established in 1905, Princeton University Press publishes general and scholarly books in the humanities, social sciences, economics and business, and natural science. This multidisciplinary database includes over 900 selected titles from Princeton University Press.

    Proceedings of the Old Bailey : London's Central Criminal Court, 1674 to 1913 (connect | more information)

    "A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."--Homepage.

  • Includes full text
  • Project Muse (connect | more information)

    Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses : full text (connect | more information)

    "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text ... includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest historical newspapers. New York Times (1851-2003) (connect | more information)

    Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2006. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.The database covers a span of issues currently not covered by any other electronic resource.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest historical newspapers. The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003) (connect | more information)

    The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all tites of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ).

    ProQuest historical newspapers. The Washington Post (1877-1994) (connect | more information)

    The Washington Post (1877-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Individual issues can be selected or the complete range can be searched by subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. An abstract is provided for each article cited in the database.

    ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2001) (connect | more information)

    The Times of India (1838-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1839-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current).

    RAMBI : the index of articles on Jewish Studies (connect | more information)

    RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel.

    Reason in revolt (connect | more information)

    The Reason in Revolt project aims to bring together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource. By 'radical' we refer to those who aimed to make society more equal and to emancipate the exploited or oppressed. As it grows and develops, the project website will become an expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society.

  • Includes full text
  • Reference guide to holocaust literature (connect | more information)

    Provides biographical and critical essays on 223 writers connected to or concerned with the Holocaust, as well as separate essays on 307 of their works.

  • Includes full text
  • Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (connect | more information)

    RAAM provides researchers with a convenient, centralised register of locations for primary research material. It does not provide detailed descriptions of the collections themselves; rather, it alerts researchers to the existence of collections and enables them to pursue further enquiries about the material, either online or through direct contact with repositories.

    Romantic era redefined (connect | more information)

    The database is a searchable collection of literary, political, scientific and sociological works focusing on the period between 1800 and 1830. It includes primary texts and works from previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire and North America, as well as critical essays written specifically for this collection.

  • Includes full text
  • Royal Historical Society bibliography (connect | more information)

    The Royal Historical Society bibliography, which is hosted by the Institute of Historical Research, University of London, is an authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day.

    Sage reference online (connect | more information)

    A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.

  • Includes full text
  • Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law (connect | more information)

    Includes searchable PDF versions of publications from the Selden Society and Harvard's Ames Foundation as well as the English Reports ( 1220-1694), the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), and collections of early English legal classics and scholarly law review articles on the subject.

  • Includes full text
  • Sixties (connect | more information)

    "The Sixties ... brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary ... Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Smithsonian global sound for libraries (connect | more information)

    Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes. Also, various musical collections will be available for purchase and immediate download. Users may browse by country, genre, cultural group, language, instrument, artist, ensemble, album, label, or category, such as American Folk, American Indian, Jazz, Spoken word and sounds, and Children's or conduct an advanced search.

    Testaments to the Holocaust (connect | more information)

    This digital resource offers the unique resources of the World's oldest Holocaust museum, including documents and rare printed materials from the Wiener Library, London. Alfred Wiener fled Germany in 1933 and established his collection in London. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life.

  • Includes full text
  • Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (connect | more information)

    Includes full page images and articles from The Times (London, England) and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register, from its first issue in 1785 to the end of December 1985. The archive also includes digital reproductions in downloadable PDF files. Keyword searching and hit-term highlighting can be used to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

  • Includes full text
  • TLS, the Times literary supplement centenary archive (connect | more information)

    More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the Times Literary Supplement, a leading journal of the world's literary and cultural activity. Times Literary Supplement Subscriber Archive covers October 1994 onwards in full text.

  • Includes full text
  • Trove : one search .. a wealth of information. (connect | more information)

    Trove is a new discovery experience focused on Australia and Australians. Trove provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata (information about items) is pooled from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.

    Twentieth century advice literature (connect | more information)

    "Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family allows students and researchers to immerse themselves in the values and behaviors of Americans of the past. The collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • University of Michigan Press collection (connect | more information)

    A cross-disciplinary database of over 500 electronic books from the University of Michigan Press. "The University of Michigan Press publishes scholarly, educational, and regional books and other materials in digital and print formats. The press publishes materials in a wide range of humanities and social science disciplines; produces educational texts for student audiences, with special emphasis on English language teaching."--IG Publishing product description.

    Visual history archive (connect | more information)

    The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive provides access to over 50,600 video interviews conducted with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. These testimonies were collected in 56 countries and in 32 languages. The majority of the interviews are with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust. Political prisoners, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, homosexuals, Jehovah's Witnesses, and liberators, witnesses, rescuers, and aid providers also provided testimony.

    Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (connect | more information)

    "This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history ... The website provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question"--"About" page.

  • Includes full text
  • YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)

    The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors and alumni.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors and alumni

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases