| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Evidence based medicineACP journal club (connect | more information)A journal that comprises structured abstracts of original research articles and systematic reviews from over 100 clinical journals. Content of articles selected is based on explicit criteria, followed by an assessment of its relevance to medical practice. Published by the American College of Physicians, articles reviewed focus on more common diseases and conditions. From 1995 to 2002, includes some content of the UK publication, Evidence Based Medicine. Also available as part of EBM Reviews. Full text links in the references allow you to explore the evidence in the primary source. Full text references link you to other full text documents within the database, as well as to bibliographic databases such as MEDLINE. Bi-directional linking allows you to link from MEDLINE to documents in the same collection or to journals available in Ovid Full Text. See also: Cochrane Library EBM Reviews On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Cochrane central register of controlled trials (connect | more information)
A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
Cochrane database of systematic reviews (connect | more information)A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews. See also: Cochrane Library EBM Reviews On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Cochrane library (connect | more information)A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract. See also: ACP Journal Club CochraneDSR CENTRAL Cochrane Methodology Register DARE Health Technology Assessment NHS Economic Evaluation Database Cochrane methodology register (connect | more information)
A database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of health care and social interventions. The Cochrane Methodology Register contains over 9,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care. Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts, and reports of ongoing methodological research. Records contain bibliographic information and, in many cases, a summary. Provided as part of the Cochrane library.
Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE) (connect | more information)Over 4,000 structured abstracts, including commentary, of systematic reviews relating to the effects of healthcare interventions. Prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, UK, reviews of high methodological quality are identified by searching databases, handsearching major medical journals, selected websites and grey literature. DARE is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews. See also: On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. EBM reviews (connect | more information)A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, (Cochrane methodology register, Health technology assessment, NHS economic evaluation database) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract. See also: Cochrane Library ACP Journal Club CochraneDSR CENTRAL Cochrane Methodology Register DARE Health Technology Assessment NHS Economic Evaluation Database On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Joanna Briggs Institute (connect | more information)Homepage of the Institute which provides a collaborative approach to the evaluation of research and its integration into nursing practice. Includes information about the Institute, its membership and activities, links and its research. This web site also provides access to a resource for teaching evidence based health care to university students. The resource - RAPid (Rapid Appraisal Protocol Internet Database) - has been developed specifically for students of medicine, nursing, midwifery, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry, medical radiation, dietetics and other health sciences. Maternity and infant care (connect | more information)
Maternity and Infant Care is an important essential resource for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. This unique database contains over 120,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant's life. Database coverage is from the mid-1980s and approximately 1000 records are added to the database per month.
PEDro : physiotherapy evidence database (connect | more information)PEDro is a free, web-based database of evidence relevant to physiotherapy. It contains citations of over 5,500 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, abstracts and links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided. Trip database (connect | more information)The TRIP Database searches web sites with high-quality medical information. A search on the TRIP Database links directly to relevant 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. Clinical areas: cancer, cardiovascular, child health, endocrinology, gastrointestinal, HIV/AIDS, infectious diseases, mental health, musculoskeletal, neurology, pregnancy and childbirth, respiratory care, women's health.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|