| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Business & economicsKey resourcesAPA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to present.
Australian Public Affairs - full text. See: APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)
Business source complete (connect | more information)A definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. It also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business source premier. See: Business source complete (connect | more information)
Econlit (connect | more information)Leading index to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles. Also indexes essays, research and working papers, books, dissertations and book reviews. Emerald (connect | more information)Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's. Note: Some journal articles are not available with the current Monash subscription. Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. WRDS : the path to business intelligence (connect | more information)A Web-based data management system providing access to a wide range of financial, economic data, including stock market indices, bond prices, interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series and financial historical data. Of greatest relevance to honours, postgraduate and staff researchers. The Monash subscription comprises the following data providers: Audit Analytics, Bureau Van Dijk, Compustat, CRSP, CSMAR, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics and RiskMetrics (formerly IRRC). WRDS also provides access to a compilation of free access data sets. Note: a day pass is needed to access the WRDS site; please read the FAQ instructions on how to get this working.
Other resourcesABI/Inform complete (connect | more information)ABI/INFORM Complete is ProQuest's premier business journals database and offers access to over 6,800 journals with over 5,510 of those available in full text ... ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprising ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Included in ABI/INFORM Complete is ABI/INFORM Archive ... This database contains complete runs of key business and management journals, providing a unique historical perspective on hundreds of topics, including corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product development, and industry conditions worldwide.--Publisher description. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ABI/INFORM dateline (connect | more information)ABI/INFORM dateline contains citations and abstracts and selective full text for articles from over 280 U.S. local and regional business journals, newspapers and news magazines (230 titles have full text). It focuses on providing access to business information on large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance,and industry news not typically found in U.S. national news sources. ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)Database includes in-depth coverage for over 3,730 publications, with more than 2,670 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Included in ABI/INFORM Global is ABI/INFORM Archive. ABI/INFORM Global has expanded to include non-periodical content like: EIU ViewsWire -- Coverage of business and economic events from across the globe; ProQuest Business Dissertations -- Access to over 18,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses; Business Cases - over 5,200 documents available in ABI/INFORM from the following publishers: Ivey, Thunderbird, Idea Group, and Darden, and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, with full-text access to the premier business newspaper in North America, with backfile coverage to 1984.--Publisher product description. See also: Business source complete | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text ABI/INFORM trade & industry (connect | more information)"ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics for more than 3,140 publications, with over 2,930 in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others."-- Publisher product description. Academic earth (connect | more information)The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website. Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport. Australian financial review quarterly on CD ROM (connect | more information)
Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998 Blackwell encyclopedia of management (connect | more information)An authoritative reference for management, accounting, managerial economics, finance, information systems and marketing disciplines. Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax. Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)
Business collection (connect | more information)Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The Business Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.--Informit databases page. Business review weekly, quarterly on CD ROM : BRW (connect | more information)
Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998 BUSINESSnetBASE (connect | more information)An online collection of over 170 full-text monographs on business management, accounting, marketing and related areas from Routledge, Auerbach and other Taylor & Francis imprints. CARMA video library (connect | more information)
Database of streaming videos and accompanying slides. The Video Library features videos from internationally recognized scholars on a variety of research methods (including qualitative and quantitative), with an interdisciplinary focus emphasizing topics relevant to the social and organizational sciences. Bibliographic references to background readings and files with powerpoint slides are available for each video. As at March 2010, there were 53 videos in the Library, with more to be added progressively each year.
CBCA business (connect | more information)Database containing citations, selected abstracts and some full text for articles from up to 500 Canadian business journals, including trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications. Columbia University Press collection (connect | more information)A cross-disciplinary database of over 500 electronic books from the Columbia University Press, the fourth oldest university press in the United States. CSI : consumer sciences index (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material on consumer economics and related fields. Source documents include journal literature published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage is Australian and international, and includes consumer education, craft, family, fashion, food, health, home economics, teaching, housing, nutrition and textiles. Coverage: 1988 to 2001. Datamonitor researchstore (connect | more information)Use the Research Store to search for individual reports, company and country profiles and interactive data models. Containing over 1000 reports and briefs, 3000 company profiles as well as interactive models and Industry Guides, the Research Store is a wealth of industry and company knowledge across 50 industry sectors. --About Research Store. Datastream (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)
A worldwide financial database covering global securities pricing, company fundamentals, economics, and other historical time series data. It provides coverage of over 30,000 equities, including next day and historical data, stock market and bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates, fixed income instruments and derivatives data and commodity prices. International Financial Statistics (IFS) is available via Datastream.
DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title. Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available. Ebook library (connect | more information)Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database. EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business. ECONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)Offering up to 580 full text titles from Routledge, this database covers the broad areas of economics, business management and public administration. Electronic journals and newspapers on Africa (connect | more information)An annotated archive of links to African Studies Electronic Journals and Newspapers. Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation. EU bookshop digital library (connect | more information)EU Bookshop is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies. Now the EU Bookshop Digital Library will provide access to 12 million scanned pages in more than 110,000 EU publications. Launched at the Frankfurt Book Fair on the 16 October [2009], it offers all publications edited by the Publications Office on behalf of the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies since 1952. Access the digital library by selecting the option ¿¿¿Digital Library¿¿¿ in the search pages. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Global Market Information Database. See: Passport GMID (connect | more information)
Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)"Covers [full text sources] in agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing."--Informit home page. IBIS World (connect | more information)Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items"). Monash students and staff only Note: Only reports listed under "Opened Items" are available. Informaworld : journals. See: Taylor & Francis online (connect | more information)
Informit collections (connect | more information)Informit Collections provide cover-to-cover access to current and archived full text content from peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers and reports. Content is comprehensively indexed and has been carefully selected to include core titles, hard-to-source grey literature and content which is unique to Informit. Collections include 1. Humanities & social sciences collection. 2. Health collection 3. Engineering collection. 4. Business collection.-- Product information page. Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection. See: Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)
Informit indexes (connect | more information)"Indexes provide instant, searchable access to up to forty years of index and abstract data from Australasia's leading research institutions. Informit Indexes make it easy to locate archived content, ensuring users don't overlook the important information only available in print and ... excluded from full text databases."--Informit Products page. IngentaConnect (connect | more information)Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers. Legal scholarship network (connect | more information)A free database of over 35,000 abstracts and 18,000 working papers in law, economics, and finance, in 61 different subject areas, available on the Social Science Research Network site. Search for papers by author and title or abstract keywords. Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites. Oxford scholarship online. Business and management (connect | more information)Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of business history; corporate governance and accountability; finance, accounting, and banking; human resource management / industrial relations; information technology; innovation; international business; knowledge management; marketing; organization studies; pensions and pension management; political economy; public management; strategy. Oxford scholarship online. Economics and finance (connect | more information)Oxford scholarship online, Economics and finance is a cross-searchable database of economics and finance e-books. Subject areas covered include: Development, growth, and environmental econometrics, Economic history, Economic systems, Financial economics, History of economic thought, International macro- and monetary economics, Microeconomics, and Public and welfare economics. Passport GMID (connect | more information)GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Princeton University Press collection (connect | more information)Established in 1905, Princeton University Press publishes general and scholarly books in the humanities, social sciences, economics and business, and natural science. This multidisciplinary database includes over 900 selected titles from Princeton University Press. ProjectMANAGEMENTnetBASE (connect | more information)Searchable database providing the tools needed to guarantee projects delivered on time with a strong return on investment. This library contains the work of experts who discuss preferred software packages and models, as well as give succinct step-by-step advice on how to maximize talent, processes, and resources to produce a positive bottom line. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site. ProQuest Asian business & reference (connect | more information)ProQuest Asian Business & Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere from over 270 journals. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more. Includes full text for selected journals. ProQuest European business (connect | more information)This database contains the latest European business and financial information. Includes quality resources such as The Economist, Fortune and European Business Journal. Provides access to more than 120 journals (predominantly European) covering business, management, trade and finance, and includes full text for selected journals. Proquest research library (connect | more information)"From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles - over 3,600 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers."--Publisher product description. PublicADMINISTRATIONnetBASE (connect | more information)Covers such topics as: business information systems, customer relationship management (CRM), facilities management, finance and investing, healthcare management, human resources and training, library and information science, project management, quality and standards, security management and supply chain management (SCM). SA ePublications (connect | more information)A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals. Journals are bundled together according to the following areas of interest: business & finance, and social sciences & humanties. The SA ePublications service offers access to full-text versions of articles that are exact copies of the printed versions. It offers contents pages of full-text articles and abstracts and the availability of an archive. Sage reference online (connect | more information)A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning. Social Science Research Network (connect | more information)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative composed of a number of specialized research networks, including accounting, law, economics, accounting, and finance. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 160,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 127,400 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications. -- Home page, viewed September 18, 2007. Taylor & Francis online (connect | more information)Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which includes: over 16,000 journal titles from the publishers Psychology Press, Routledge, and Taylor & Francis; reference works (Taylor & Francis encyclopedias); a database, Routledge ERA (Educational Research Abstracts Online), and subdatabases of ERA, Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts, Routledge ABES and Ergonomics Abstracts; ebooks; and a link to CRCnetBASE. Note: not all content is accessible to Monash University Library users. Note: Informaworld has moved to a new plaform - Taylor & Francis Online. 28.06.2011 TVNews (connect | more information)TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries. United Nations University collection (connect | more information)A database of over 100 electronic books published by the United Nations University, focusing on international trade and development, sustainable development and developing countries. University of Michigan Press collection (connect | more information)A cross-disciplinary database of over 500 electronic books from the University of Michigan Press. "The University of Michigan Press publishes scholarly, educational, and regional books and other materials in digital and print formats. The press publishes materials in a wide range of humanities and social science disciplines; produces educational texts for student audiences, with special emphasis on English language teaching."--IG Publishing product description. ViewsWire (connect | more information)The EIU ViewsWire is a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit. It delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. Contains EIU country reports & profiles. Each country is allotted an individual home page, which can be bookmarked, displaying a selection of data and a range of information available on that country. Choosing a country takes you directly to that country's home page. Once there, topics for each country as well as sub-categories for each topic are clearly displayed on the main body of the page. The country reports analyse political and economic trends, provide an 18 to 24 month forecast complementing the analysis, and include five-year statistical tables of historical data. Web magazineplus (connect | more information)
Indexes over 8,500 journals, faculty papers and annual reports of academic institutions published in Japan. Areas covered include medicine, science, humanities, popular culture, business and social sciences. Updated weekly.
World insurance sigma (connect | more information)Sigma world insurance data covers 93 countries and 17 regional aggregates around the globe, and includes direct premiums of life and non-life business in USD and local currency, real growth rates, premiums per capita in USD and premiums as a % of GDP. World Scientific eBooks (connect | more information)World Scientific eBooks are electronic versions of World Scientific print titles. All subject areas that World Scientific actively publishes in are available in eBook format. Covers 16 different subject areas, concentrating on STM titles - Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest, Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors and alumni. |
|