| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Women's studiesKey resourcesCommunication & mass media complete (connect | more information)Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles. Contemporary women's issues (connect | more information)Contemporary Women's Issues is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies.
Other resourcesAltPressIndex (connect | more information)Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. AltPressIndexArchive (connect | more information)"Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page. APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
AustArt : Australian art journals index (connect | more information)This is a citation database which indexes Australian art journals held in the College of Fine Arts Library at the University of New South Wales. Subject coverage includes: art, architecture, ceramics, craft, design, and film. Austguide (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and selectively abstracts articles from more than 120 predominantly Australian periodicals of both general and educational interest. Film reviews are also included. Coverage: 1986 to 2006. AustLit : the resource for Australian literature (connect | more information)AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature--URL: http://www.austlit.edu.au/about. BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre. Bibliography of Asian studies (connect | more information)Citation database of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences) published worldwide since 1971 to the present. Through 1991, BAS included citations to periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Since 1992, newly published individually authored monographs are not added to the database. FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families. Feminae : medieval women and gender index (connect | more information)Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies. MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
PAIS archive (connect | more information)PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976). PAIS international (connect | more information)This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Studies on women and gender abstracts online (connect | more information)This bibliographic database, which is international in coverage, focuses on education, employment, family, health, gender roles, social policy, psychology, culture, media treatment, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Journals, books and other materials are included. Who's who of Australian women (connect | more information)Coverage includes Australian women from a range of fields, including community service, business, politics, the arts, sport, law, entertainment and academia. Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (connect | more information)"This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history ... The website provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question"--"About" page.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|