| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
TourismKey resourcesAustralian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Business source premier (connect | more information)Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Covers nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Business Source Premier also includes other sources of full text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and industry reports from Datamonitor. See also: ABI/INFORM global Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. Global Market Information Database. See: Passport GMID (connect | more information)
Leisure tourism (connect | more information)Database indexing journal articles and books dealing with all aspects of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and the cultural industries. Includes links to selected full text articles. Passport GMID (connect | more information)GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.
Other resourcesABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Agriculture and natural resources index : ANR-Index (connect | more information)ANR-Index, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index archive for a comprehensive search. Agriculture and natural resources index archive : ANR-index archive (connect | more information)ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index for a comprehensive search. Coverage: 1975 to 2000. AHB : Australian heritage bibliography (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures. AUSPORT : Australian sport database (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport, including sports administration, children and sport, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes. Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport. Australian tourism index : ATI (connect | more information)Indexes a wide range of material (e.g. government documents, journal and newspaper articles and conference papers) on Australian, New Zealand and Pacific tourism and related fields, including leisure, sport and recreation. Coverage: 1982 to June 2000. CAB eBooks (connect | more information)CAB eBooks provides a unique opportunity to access CABI's prestigious titles in an easy-to use format. Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters. The full front file collection is divided into six core subject collections, constantly updated with the latest titles. The six subject collections comprise: 1. Agriculture 2. Animal & veterinary sciences 3. Environmental sciences 4. Human health, food & nutrition 5. Leisure & tourism 6. Plant sciences. As of May 2009, there were over 420 titles. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business. Emerald (connect | more information)Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's. Note: Some journal articles are not available with the current Monash subscription. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials IBIS World (connect | more information)Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items"). Monash students and staff only Please note that you may be asked for a password when using this database. Note: Only the reports listed under "Opened Items" are available. Do not click the Request button as no action is taken on requested or pending reports. Intute. Social sciences (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica. ProQuest Asian business and reference (connect | more information)ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere from over 270 journals. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more. Includes full text for selected journals. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link REEF : Great Barrier Reef marine park province database (connect | more information)REEF, developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO, is a bibliographic database indexing articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, fisheries, history, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology. Source documents include books, maps, journal articles and audio visual material for both scholarly and popular audiences. Many of the records are of historical importance dating back to the 19th century. ScienceDirect (connect | more information)ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994. To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link. Important message: ScienceDirect will be unavailable on 1 November 2009 due to scheduled maintenance for approximately 9 hours, between 03:00 - 12:00 hours [UTC/GMT +2 hours] Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request. STREAMLINE : Australia's natural resources database (connect | more information)Streamline is an Australian database providing access to information on all aspects of natural resource management including the sustainable management of land resources, vegetation resources and water resources, urban water and waste water and irrigation systems. It indexes both Australian and international journal articles, published and unpublished reports, books, monograph chapters and conference papers, but the information must be written by an Australian or be about Australia. Coverage: 1982 to 2004. Tourism Australia : student databases (connect | more information)Tourism Research Australia has designed and developed an online facility that allows ... authorised user[s] access to real time research information using Tourism Research Australia databases. This online environment allows users to manipulate and use data to generate tables which are relevant to specific needs. The Online Data offers expanded functionality including: immediate access to the new data each quarter on the day of release; capability to store and update customised tables, of user specified data, in a password protected online database; [and] saved tables which can be built to automatically update immediately when quarterly data is uploaded by Tourism Research Australia.--Tourism Australia Website. TVNews (connect | more information)TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|