| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
StatisticsAustralian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport. CDATA91 with Supermap : 1991 census of population and housing (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)Enables the analysis and mapping of Australian census data for 1991. CDATA96 [with] MapInfo professional : census 1996 (connect | more information)
China data online= Zhongguo shu ju zai xian (connect | more information)Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. CLIB 2001 : the census @ your library (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)This 2nd release includes those variable that are of a more complex nature to process. Included is data on the basic community profile, indigenous profile, and classification counts products, as well as Census reference material. Stage 2 of a 3-stage release. CLib96 (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)CLib96 is a CD-ROM product which contains tabulated census data, with software that allows access, display, printing and aggregation of the data. CLib96 contains an extensive range of 1996 census data and will be available in three stages, with the final release covering all of the 1996 community profiles and the state and capital city classification counts. Encyclopedia of quantitative risk analysis and assessment (connect | more information)The Encyclopedia of Quantitative Risk Analysis and Assessment provides up-to-date material on: Risk management; Financial / credit risk; Computer security; Reliability - mathematical and statistical methods; Reliability - Management Science; Bayesian / decision theory; Environmental risk; Clinical risk; Public health / epidemiology of risk; toxic substances / chemical risk; Insurance / actuarial risk; and Homeland security.--Reference work home. GDF online (connect | more information)GDF Online provides access to statistical data for the 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, as well as summary data for regions and income groups. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios, as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported as Excel and ASCII files. IBIS World (connect | more information)Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items"). Monash students and staff only Please note that you may be asked for a password when using this database. Note: Only the reports listed under "Opened Items" are available. Do not click the Request button as no action is taken on requested or pending reports. IMF direction of trade statistics (connect | more information)This service provides access to monthly, quarterly and annual trade data from 1948 forward, as maintained by the International Monetary Fund. Data are provided for about 180 countries and geographic areas. Date of last update: March, 1999. Data is available in graph, table, spreadsheet or merged format. Indiastat.com : revealing India-- statistically. (connect | more information)Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production, economic statistics and tourism related data . Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, etc. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats. Restricted to 2 simultaneous users InfoNation (connect | more information)Searchable database of statistical information on the geography, economy, population, and social indicators of the member states of the United Nations, drawn from the United Nations World Statistics Pocketbook, its Statistical Yearbook, and other sources. Up to seven countries and four statistical data elements may be included in one search. International data base (IDB) (connect | more information)This dataset contains information from tables of demographic, economic and social data for the countries of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided . Information presented includes population, health, nutrition, morality, fertility, family planning and contraceptive use, literacy, housing, and economic activity data. Tabular data are broken down by such variables as age, sex and urban/rural residence. LABORSTA (connect | more information)International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Bureau of Statistics, including data for over 200 countries and territories. NationMaster.com (connect | more information)Database provides population and economic statistics on various countries and generates graphs from the statistical data. Includes country profiles covering geography, military, economics, international relations. "As described on the site, "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD" and a "handy way to graphically compare nations." By using the available forms, the user "can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics." This site aims "to be the web's one-stop resource for country statistics on anything and everything, whether it be soldiers, Olympic medals, tourists, English speakers or wall plug voltages." "Integrated into these is a full encyclopedia with over 200,000 articles." STATSnetBASE (connect | more information)STATSnetBASE provides access to over 120 full text statistical methods resources, including handbooks and manuals, published by CRC Press. It covers applications in a wide range of disciplines from the environmental and social sciences to medicine, biology and operations research. Publications can be browsed or searched. TRIS online (connect | more information)The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. UNdata (connect | more information)Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request. World Christian database (connect | more information)The World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups. Extensive data are available on 9,000 Christian denominations, 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as data on 5,000 cities, 3,000 provinces and 238 countries.-- Home page. World development indicators (connect | more information)WDI Online provides access to statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for 228 countries, as well as data for regions and income groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported as Excel and ASCII files. World economic outlook databases (connect | more information)The WEO database is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise. Selected series that are available in the WEO publication are now available on this website. WRDS : the path to business intelligence (connect | more information)A Web-based data management system providing access to a wide range of financial, economic data, including stock market indices, bond prices, interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series and financial historical data. Of greatest relevance to honours, postgraduate and staff researchers. The Monash subscription comprises the following data providers: Audit Analytics, Bureau Van Dijk, Compustat, CRSP, CSMAR, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics and RiskMetrics (formerly IRRC). WRDS also provides access to a compilation of free access data sets. For help see: Monash Related WRDS FAQ
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|