| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Social workKey resourcesAPAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families. MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. Social services abstracts (connect | more information)This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications covering current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major topics covered include: community and mental health services, crisis intervention, the family and social welfare, gerentology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect and welfare services.
Other resourcesAcademic research library (connect | more information)From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link AGIS Plus Text (connect | more information)AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 400 titles are indexed. See also: AGIS : Attorney-General's information service | CaseBase Australian family resources on CD-ROM (connect | more information)This is a searchable database of citations and abstracts containing over 1300 bibliographic records covering the period 1990 to 1998. The collection of full text documents provided have been published by 13 key Australian organisations concerned with the well being of children and families. Off campus: Not available If a pop-up message appears, click OK and wait until the link is established. View detailed instructions for further help. Australian journals online (connect | more information)AJOL is the National Library of Australia's database of Australian electronic journals, newspapers, magazines, webzines, newsletters and e-mail fanzines. The database provides details and links to over 2000 titles that include local and overseas works with Australian content, authorship and/or emphasis as well as entries for sites which advertise or promote Australian journals. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Campbell Collaboration (connect | more information)The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Through its reviews and annual Colloquiums, the Collaboration strives to make the best social science research available and accessible. Child welfare information gateway (connect | more information)"Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely, essential information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more." -- About webpage. CINCH : Australian criminology database (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. CIRRIE (connect | more information)The CIRRIE Database currently contains over 18,000 citations of international rehabilitation research (conducted outside of the United States) published between 1990 and the present. Criminal justice abstracts (connect | more information)Indexes and abstracts international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Areas covered include trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Directory of open access journals : DOAJ (connect | more information)Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages. Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior (connect | more information)Update to the MLR first edition of 1995. The content emphasis is on updating of both topics and statistics across a broad spectrum. Specifically addressing the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies, the volumes explore not only the biological basis for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment. ERIC (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. Family & society plus (connect | more information)Indexing, abstracting and full text (some journals) database provides access to the scanned images of articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Source documents include journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government publications, research reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, annual reports, bibliographies and theses. Training and curriculum material and other media such as videos are also indexed. Subject coverage includes child development, adolescence, marriage and divorce, adoption, foster care, child abuse, domestic violence, family law, housing, health policy and services, population studies, social and community services, child care, family economics, employment. FirstSearch (connect | more information)A suite of electronic reference databases (indexes and abstracts), including CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues - health and human rights), and WorldCat (OCLC - catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide). Gambling literature : online database (connect | more information)This bibliographic database provides information about authoritative materials on all aspects of gambling, with an emphasis on current items relevant to research, which are not controlled by commercial publishers. Canada is the primary focus but materials from other areas of the world (e.g. United States, Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand) are collected. Source materials include: AGRI reports; annual reports; conference papers; electronic journal articles and newspaper articles; government reports, research reports and policy papers; and, web sites. The database can be searched by subject category, as well as by keyword(s). HIVA : HIV/AIDS database (connect | more information)HIVA, Australia's most comprehensive HIV and AIDS collection, is a bibliographic database of journal articles, books and audiovisual titles listed in the catalogues of the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network. It is designed to provide invaluable information support for health care professionals, students, researchers, and people living with HIV/AIDS. It covers the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS, as well as the relationship between alcohol and other drugs to HIV/AIDS. IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland (connect | more information)This searchable database consists of a comprehensive listing of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Selected abstracts are provided for entries from 1970 to 1985. From 1986 almost all entries include abstracts. Informit (connect | more information)Collection of online bibliographic databases, includes summaries/abstracts of journal articles on Australian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural affairs indexed in over 80 databases including APAIS, AIATSIS etc. Meditext (connect | more information)Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching. Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites. PILOTS database (connect | more information)"The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage." -- Information page. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link PsycINFO (connect | more information)
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
Scopus (connect | more information)Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. Social sciences citation index (connect | more information)The Social sciences citation index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 scientific disciplines. Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies. SourceOECD (connect | more information)SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres. Subjects covered include: economics, business, social sciences, development, statistics, environment, education, agriculture, investment, finance and governance. Violence & abuse abstracts (connect | more information)"Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 35,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline."--About the database. Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|