| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Social sciences19th century British pamphlets (connect | more information)This project, conceived by the Research Libraries UK (RLUK) and funded by the JISC Digitisation Programme, preserves and provides online access to [over 25,000] of the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Selected by RLUK, the pamphlets provide users with a wide focus on the political, social, and economic issues of 19th century Britain.--Home page. Includes seven individual collections held at universities within the UK, many of which are whole collections that belonged to individual politicians or political families. These are: Bristol Selected pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet collection, and LSE Selected pamphlets. AltPressIndex (connect | more information)Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. AltPressIndexArchive (connect | more information)"Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page. APAIS thesaurus (connect | more information)The APAIS thesaurus lists the subject terms used to index articles for APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service, a subject guide to literature in the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS thesaurus was introduced in 1978 when APAIS became available as an online database and was first published by the National Library of Australia in 1980 to facilitate online searching. Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax. Brill online (connect | more information)Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles. Bristol selected pamphlets (connect | more information)Bristol has a substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, including the National Liberal Club collection, with pamphlets from the libraries of Charles Bradlaugh, John Noble, the Liberation Society, the Land Nationalisation Society, the Cobden Club, and others. Bristol's collection is especially strong on 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology. In addition to publications by Liberal Party members, it includes many pamphlets from other political parties.--Publisher description. Campbell Collaboration (connect | more information)The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Through its reviews and annual Colloquiums, the Collaboration strives to make the best social science research available and accessible. Canadian encyclopedia : historica (connect | more information)"The full text of The Canadian Encyclopedia and its related resources has been made available online by the Historica Foundation as a public service since 1999. Since its publication in book form in 1985, The Canadian Encyclopedia has provided the most comprehensive, objective and accurate source of information on Canada for students, readers and scholars across Canada and throughout the world. As a first source for information on all Canadian topics The Canadian Encyclopedia has continued to grow through several iterations in print and on CD-ROM, culminating in this online version published by the Historica Foundation."-- About webpage. China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science. Conference proceedings citation index. Social science & humanities (CPCI-SSH) : 1990-present. (connect | more information)The conference proceedings citation database include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in the social sciences, covering: psychology, sociology, public health, management, economics, art, history, literature, and philosophy. The database allow you to track emerging ideas and new research before the material appears in the journal literature. Part of the ISI Web of Science, the database can be cross-searched with the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes. Cornell modern Indonesia collection (connect | more information)"The Cornell Modern Indonesia Project (CMIP) was initiated in the 1950s by faculty members in Cornell's Southeast Asia Program who were committed to making contemporary analyses of Indonesia and translations of its important documents available to scholars and students. The 75 titles in this series are divided into four categories: Interim Reports, Translations, Monographs, and Bibliographies. These works capture the drama of Indonesia's political and social evolution through the twentieth century: its struggle for independence from the Dutch under the leadership of Sukarno, reactions to the Japanese Occupation, the development of its civil government, its civil insurgencies, and the conditions that prevailed throughout the long dictatorship of General Suharto. A few other works in this series, such as Benedict Anderson's Mythology and the Tolerance of the Javanese, reflect on earlier Indonesian history relevant to the modern nation."--Home page. Cowen tracts (connect | more information)Personal collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900). A social reformer and Member of Parliament for Newcastle (1873-86), Cowen's pamphlet collection dates, mostly, from his active years from the late 1840s to early 1880s. The collection reflects his interests in social, educational and economic issues and includes much local material.--Publisher description CSI : consumer sciences index (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material on consumer economics and related fields. Source documents include journal literature published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage is Australian and international, and includes consumer education, craft, family, fashion, food, health, home economics, teaching, housing, nutrition and textiles. Coverage: 1988 to 2001. DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title. E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu (connect | more information)Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); DBpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); KRpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information. Earl Grey pamphlets collection (connect | more information)Still owned by the family, this collection was largely accumulated by the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Earls Grey. Charles was Foreign Secretary (1806-07) and Prime Minister (1830-34). Henry George was Under Secretary for Home Affairs (1830) and the Colonies (1830-34), Secretary at War (1835-39), and Secretary of State for the Colonies (1846-52). Albert Henry George was Administrator of Rhodesia (1896-97) and Governor-General of Canada (1904-11). The Greys were particularly interested in parliamentary reform, colonial affairs and Catholic emancipation.--Publisher description. Ebook library (connect | more information)Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database. Electronic journals and newspapers on Africa (connect | more information)An annotated archive of links to African Studies Electronic Journals and Newspapers. Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. Encyclopedia of modern Asia (connect | more information)Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally. Europa : gateway to the European Union (connect | more information)EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty. Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection (connect | more information)On deposit from the FCO, this collection comprises the earlier collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office. Both include rare publications from overseas. The Foreign Office Collection consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century. The Colonial Office Collection is chiefly comprised of pamphlets sent back from Britain's colonies, including some unique early material from Australasia.--Publisher description. Hume tracts (connect | more information)Personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), Radical Member of Parliament. Hume's collection covers the major political, economic and social developments and reforms taking place in Britain in the early part of the 19th century along with the causes he particularly championed, such as universal suffrage, Catholic emancipation, a reduction in the power of the Anglican church and an end to imprisonment for debt.--Publisher description. In the first person (connect | more information)In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals, In the First Person indexes first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes - those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world. With selective full text and/or audio. Indiastat.com : revealing India-- statistically. (connect | more information)Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production, economic statistics and tourism related data . Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, etc. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats. Restricted to 2 simultaneous users InfoNation (connect | more information)Searchable database of statistical information on the geography, economy, population, and social indicators of the member states of the United Nations, drawn from the United Nations World Statistics Pocketbook, its Statistical Yearbook, and other sources. Up to seven countries and four statistical data elements may be included in one search. Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology. International data base (IDB) (connect | more information)This dataset contains information from tables of demographic, economic and social data for the countries of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided . Information presented includes population, health, nutrition, morality, fertility, family planning and contraceptive use, literacy, housing, and economic activity data. Tabular data are broken down by such variables as age, sex and urban/rural residence. International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (connect | more information)This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Describes all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. The online edition is browsable, searchable and includes regular updates. Intute (connect | more information)From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." Intute. Social sciences (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. KISS :Han'guk ui haeksim chisik chongbo chawon (connect | more information)Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles from over 5,600 journals, covering all subject areas. Knowsley pamphlet collection (connect | more information)The Knowsley collection reflects the political careers of the Earls of Derby. Edward George, the 14th Earl, was successively Irish Secretary (1830-33), Colonial Secretary (1833-34, 1841-44), and three times Prime Minister (1852, 1858-59, and 1866-68). His son, Edward Henry, 15th Earl, was Colonial Secretary and later Indian secretary in his father's administration of 1858-59.--Publisher description. KSI e-Book (connect | more information)Provides access to over 4,500 electronic books and theses that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Korea. LSE selected pamphlets (connect | more information)LSE has a substantial number of 19th century pamphlets. Among its pamphlets are comprehensive collections of political party materials, including election manifestos and political cartoons. There are also collections from pressure groups such as the Fabian Society, Imperial Federation Defence Committee, Poor Law Reform Association, Workhouse Visiting Society, Liberal and Property Defence League, and from cooperative movements such as the Cooperative Women's Guild.--Publisher description. Mass observation online (connect | more information)Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation founded in 1937 to record everyday life in Britain. This online resource contains primary material gathered by Mass Observation from 1937-1955, including diaries and questionnaires sent in by its panel of volunteers, and research gathered by paid investigators in the form of File reports and Topic collections. The collection includes works by Mass Observation founders Tom Harrisson, Charles Madge and Humphrey Jennings, and photographer Humphrey Spender, as well as contributions by volunteer panellists Nella Last and Naomi Mitchison. Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica. Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites. OpenSIGLE (connect | more information)OpenSIGLE - System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe is your open access to SIGLE bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe. Examples of GL include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers and pre-prints, some official publications, and other types of grey literature. OpenSIGLE covers pure and applied science and technology, economics, other sciences and humanities. PDIP : Indonesian learned periodicals database (connect | more information)A bibliographic database that indexes articles and conference proceedings on the sciences in Indonesia, as well as seminar papers on science and technology that were organised in Indonesia. It covers more than 1,280 journals and contains 36,690 articles ranging from the humanities and social sciences; physical sciences; pure and applied sciences. Coverage: 1980 to 1998. PDIR : Indonesian research report database (connect | more information)A bibliographic database that indexes research reports and survey reports in Indonesia. PDIR reflects the function of the Center for Scientific Documentation and Information at the Institute of Sciences, namely to collect Indonesian scientific publications, to document activities of scientific publications on Indonesia, to develop a national scientific bibliographical database, and to provide scientific and technical information (STI) services. Coverage: 1980 to 2000. PolicyArchive (connect | more information)PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It houses summaries and full texts of public policy research from various think tanks, universities, government agencies, and foundations. It allows research users, policy makers, the media, and the public to quickly access the depth and breadth of research in numerous subject matters. Ultimately, PolicyArchive will indefinitely preserve the life of public policy research ... and provide society at large with long-term access to the benefits of that important research--Press release June 19, 2008. POPLINE (connect | more information)POPLINE(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 350,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE has numerous special features including links to free, fulltext documents, the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles and many abstracts in French and Spanish. ProQuest social science journals (connect | more information)This database covers a wide range of disciplines within the social sciences including addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link RAND voices of Jihad database (connect | more information)This online database is a compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation, and has been collected from publicly-accessible websites. Original links are provided, along with excerpts and full-text content when available. SA ePublications (connect | more information)A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals. Journals are bundled together according to the following areas of interest: business & finance, and social sciences & humanties. The SA ePublications service offers access to full-text versions of articles that are exact copies of the printed versions. It offers contents pages of full-text articles and abstracts and the availability of an archive. Scopus (connect | more information)Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. SEDAC : Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (connect | more information)Search a distributed system of catalogs held at SEDAC and other federal, regional, state, and international organizations. These catalogs contain metadata records describing data sets and other resources available from the Earth, natural, and social science communities. Social theory (connect | more information)Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization ... [It] brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day. Included in the ... searchable content are seminal works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Ju¿¿rgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault and Jean Baudrillard. This release of Social Theory includes more than 90,000 pages from 274 works by 94 authors.--Publisher description. UNdata (connect | more information)Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. Urban studies abstracts (connect | more information)Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. The full archive of this index has been digitized, bringing coverage back to 1973. Links to full text sources are available when Monash University Library holds a subscription. Web magazineplus (connect | more information)Indexes over 8,500 journals, faculty papers and annual reports of academic institutions published in Japan. Areas covered include medicine, science, humanities, popular culture, business and social sciences. Updated weekly. World Christian database (connect | more information)The World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups. Extensive data are available on 9,000 Christian denominations, 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as data on 5,000 cities, 3,000 provinces and 238 countries.-- Home page. World Digital Library (connect | more information)The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials. The objectives of the World Digital Library are to promote international and inter-cultural understanding and awareness, provide resources to educators, expand non-English and non-Western content on the Internet, and to contribute to scholarly research. Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information. World news connection (connect | more information)Translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. World Scientific eBooks (connect | more information)World Scientific eBooks are electronic versions of World Scientific print titles. All subject areas that World Scientific actively publishes in are available in eBook format. Covers 16 different subject areas, concentrating on STM titles - Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest, Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|