| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Psychology & PsychiatryKey resourcesMEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
PsycINFO (connect | more information)
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.
Other resourcesAcademic earth (connect | more information)The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website. Academic research library (connect | more information)From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link AEI : Australian Education Index (connect | more information)Australian Education Index (AEI), produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts documents from printed and electronic sources at all levels of education and related fields. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles, tests and web. Articles and reports by Australian authors or about Australian education published in overseas sources are also included. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. AgeLine (connect | more information)AgeLine is a searchable electronic database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging from a cross-disciplinary approach. It includes books, articles from over 300 magazines and journals, and research reports and videos. All references include original abstracts. The database covers English-language literature from many countries. AMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. See also: Meditext APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Biological abstracts (connect | more information)
Of interest to all levels of students and other researchers, Biological Abstracts is the foremost source of references to the life science journal literature including vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine (experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine), biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology and environment, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International coverage of over 4,000 journals with about 14% of these sourced from Asia and Australasia. About 90% of records in the database include an abstract.
Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax. CAIRSS for music (connect | more information)CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Citations have been taken from 1,354 different journal titles, 18 of which are primary journals, meaning that every article ever to appear is included. The primary journals are: Arts in Psychotherapy, Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music, Education Bulletin of the National Association for Music Therapy, Contributions to Music Education, Hospital Music Newsletter, International Journal of Arts Medicine, Journal of the Association for Music and Imagery, Journal of Music Teacher Education, Journal of Music Therapy, Journal of Research in Music Education, Medical Problems of Performing Artists, Music Perception, Music Therapy, Music Therapy Perspectives, Psychology of Music Psychomusicology, Quarterly Update: Applications of Research to Music Education. CINAHL plus (connect | more information)CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,802 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. CINAHL Plus also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records. Cochrane central register of controlled trials (connect | more information)
A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
Cochrane database of systematic reviews (connect | more information)A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews. See also: Cochrane Library EBM Reviews On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Cochrane library (connect | more information)A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract. See also: ACP Journal Club CochraneDSR CENTRAL Cochrane Methodology Register DARE Health Technology Assessment NHS Economic Evaluation Database Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE) (connect | more information)Over 4,000 structured abstracts, including commentary, of systematic reviews relating to the effects of healthcare interventions. Prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, UK, reviews of high methodological quality are identified by searching databases, handsearching major medical journals, selected websites and grey literature. DARE is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews. See also: On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. DRUG : drug database (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on psychosocial aspects of substance abuse. Source documents include journals, bulletins, newsletters, newspapers, weeklies, monograph chapters, conference proceedings, research reports, discussion and position papers, theses, government documents and statistics. Both Australian and overseas journals are sourced. Subject coverage includes political, social, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse. EMBASE.com (connect | more information)EMBASE.com provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed. Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior (connect | more information)Update to the MLR first edition of 1995. The content emphasis is on updating of both topics and statistics across a broad spectrum. Specifically addressing the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies, the volumes explore not only the biological basis for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment. ERIC (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education. EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation. ETS (connect | more information)"The ETS Test Collection includes an extensive library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present, and was established to make information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers." Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Expert evidence (connect | more information)"Expert Evidence is an essential resource for preparation and case presentation by litigation lawyers (both civil and criminal), forensic specialists and any expert engaged in investigations and hearings. It combines comprehensive analysis of legal principle with extensive technical treatment of over 75 Expert Witness fields. Major English language international case authorities are referred to and discussed, and academic research publications from around the world are cited as references."--Thomson catalog. FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families. Health and psychosocial instruments (connect | more information)
Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the fields of health, psychology, psychosocial sciences, organisational behaviour and library and information science. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and tests.
International dictionary of psychoanalysis= Dictionnaire international de la psychanalyse (connect | more information)The International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis considers all aspects of the history and modern practice of psychoanalysis in 50 countries, including the relationship between psychoanalysis and other disciplines. Articles include discussion of concepts and notions, biographies of the world's major psychoanalysts and articles on their major works. International encyclopedia of rehabilitation (connect | more information)The International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation is an Internet based, multilingual resource conceived as part of an online information system on rehabilitation ... [and] is meant to provide researchers, professionals, students, persons with disabilities, and the general public with an easily accessible resource via the Internet. It is intended to be a synthesis of state of the science in the principal areas of rehabilitation. Its articles include the principal disabilities, as well as rehabilitation evaluation, interventions and associated topics related to physical, psychological, social and environmental aspects of rehabilitation. The encyclopedia is available in English, French and Spanish.--About page. International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (connect | more information)This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Describes all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. The online edition is browsable, searchable and includes regular updates. Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area. Journal citation reports. Social sciences edition (connect | more information)This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 1,500 journals in the area of social sciences worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area. Journals@Ovid full text (connect | more information)The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. While the Ovid Full Text Collections are subsets of journals combined for local access, Journals@Ovid is an aggregated online database of all Ovid journals, with each journal available by individual subscription. Users of this database can search the entire database of bibliographic citations or limit their search to the full text journals to which their institution subscribes. Users can also link to citations in bibliographic databases on Ovid online and also from references in an article to other full text articles. The journals are classified into at least one of five categories: clinical medicine, behavioral sciences, life sciences, nursing and physical sciences. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying (connect | more information)Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. Coverage of topics is broad and multi-disciplinary. Meditext (connect | more information)Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Mental measurements yearbook (connect | more information)Search Mental Measurements Yearbook to retrieve information and full text reviews of all published English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Produced by the Buros Institute, it includes information published from the 9th print edition onwards. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Ovid MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations (connect | more information)
Search Ovid MEDLINE in-process to locate very recently published material. This database consists of records waiting for full processing, such as addition of MeSH terms and other fields, prior to transfer to Ovid MEDLINE. Also includes citations from selectively indexed Medline journals not included in Medline. These are permanently retained in this database.
Ovid OLDMEDLINE (connect | more information)
OLDMEDLINE contains citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences. Subject searching of this file is available through key words (the original Medical Subject Headings, assigned prior to 1965) and text phrases. Unlike MEDLINE, this file contains no abstracts nor MeSH heading field data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary.
PEP : Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (connect | more information)The PEP Archive 1 Version 7 (1871-2005) contains 26 premier journals in psychoanalysis, 56 classic psychoanalytic books, and all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud. The articles span 120 publication years. Access is only available to the abstracts, not full text. PILOTS database (connect | more information)"The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage." -- Information page. PsycBOOKS (connect | more information)PsycBOOKS contains the full text of scholarly book titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA). In 2006, the database includes about 900 titles, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950-2002, approximately 300 archival resources in psychology, and the exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology with over 1,500 authored entries. PsycBOOKS is updated with new releases of APA books and books originally produced by other publishers on a monthly basis. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable. Psychology : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)Includes the full text of 35 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Applied Psychology, Assessment, Child Development, Clinical Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Counseling Psychology, Cross-Cultural Psychology, Cultural Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Educational Psychology, Environmental Psychology, Family Studies, Group Work, Industrial/Organizational Psychology, Language Acquisition, Latin American Studies, Learning Disabilities, Measurement, Neuropsychology, Personality, Philosophical Psychology, Psychiatry, Psychology of Diversity, School Psychology, Social Psychology, and Sociology of Race and Ethnicity. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format. Sage journals online : with access to Sage full text collections (connect | more information)The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. Monash University Library has full text access to the following collections: 1. Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 2. Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 3. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1926 - current -- 4. Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1912 - current -- 5. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1944 - current -- 6. Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1952 - current . Scopus (connect | more information)Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies. Violence & abuse abstracts (connect | more information)"Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 35,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline."--About the database. Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|