Skip to content | Change text size

Occupational health & safety

Key resources

MSDS Australia (connect | more information)

Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products.

MSDS database (connect | more information)

MSDS is a comprehensive database of more than 310,000 Material Safety Data Sheets, obtained directly from 2,000 North American manufacturers and suppliers. Each sheet, representing a common industrial or commercial chemical, provides detailed chemical and physical properties, health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on storage and handling, spill and disposal procedures, accidental release, personal protection and first aid. Part of CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Web Information Service. On average, over 60,000 records are added or replaced each quarter.

RTECS database (connect | more information)

This database contains detailed profiles of over 140,000 chemical substances. Each profile provides relevant toxicological information, hazard classifications, international occupational exposure limits, regulatory information, occupational exposure survey data and reference to toxicological reviews and NIOSH and OSHA analytical methods. Part of CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Web Information Service.

TOXICOLOGYnetBASE (connect | more information)

From environmental investigations to laboratory testing, from pathological studies to target-organ toxicology, this online tool offers the latest methods and data for any type of toxicological investigation. Also including the ATSDR database, it surveys issues related to food, nutrition, drug abuse, pharmaceuticals, and developmental toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • TOXNET : (Toxicology Data Network) (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including CCRIS, ChemlDplus, DART/ETIC, EMIC, GENE-TOX, IRIS, NCI-3D, TOXLINE, TRI (Toxics Release Inventory). It also provides links to related web resources.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    AUSA : Australasian University Safety Association (connect | more information)

    AUSA is the network of OHS professionals servicing the tertiary education and research sector of Australasia. The AUSA website provides links to the OHS pages of member organisations and other reputable OHS resources, as well as an electronic mailing list for communication within the network. Details of its biennial conference are also provided.

    Chemwatch (connect | more information)

    Chemwatch is one of the world's largest supplier of independently researched MSDS (Material safety data sheets) and other related documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Off campus: Not available.

    CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • ERGONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database providing information involving all aspects of human productivity and comfort. Categories include cognitive engineering and decision, communications, human performance modeling, product design, safety, and work design.

  • Includes full text
  • MAK collection for occupational health and safety (connect | more information)

    Comprehensive and authoritative information for occupational health and safety professionals and researchers is provided here. This includes both the toxicological substantiation of threshold values for chemicals at the workplace (MAK and BAT values) plus the suitable monitoring methods. MAK and BAT values are listed for nearly 1000 substances.

  • Includes full text
  • NIOSH (connect | more information)

    The NIOSH Web site features many different types of databases and information resources. They are categorized here by Chemical; Injury, Illness & Hazards Data and Information; Publications; Respirators and Other Personal Protective Equipment; Agriculture; and Construction. The most popular databases include the International Chemical Safety Cards, NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, and NIOSHTIC-2.

  • Includes full text
  • OCCUP-HEALTHandSAFETYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of over 30 handbooks on occupational health and safety, risk assessment and management. They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.

  • Includes full text
  • OMNRES : OMN training resources database, resources (connect | more information)

    Database lists training resources available in Australia from commercial distributors, educational institutions and government departments. Resources listed include films, videos, audio cassettes, computer based training, games, books, manuals, databases and test instruments. Resource listings include full production details, format, long descriptions, price and supplier contact information. Covers all subject areas relevant to training of management and staff, from human resource development to industrial relations and occupational health and safety (OH&S). Coverage: 1966 to 2000.

    OSH references collection (connect | more information)

    The OSHLINE bibliographic database provides extensive and up-to-date coverage of published occupational health and safety literature from around the world. Developed by CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety), OSHLINE continues the coverage of the NIOSHTIC database which provided comprehensive coverage until 1998. Subject coverage is constantly expanding as new topics of interest emerge in the field of occupational health and safety. OSHLINE provides access to current, peer-reviewed journal articles, research reports, conference proceedings and textbooks - all with detailed abstracts and subject keywords. References are to English language materials.

  • Includes full text
  • Patty's industrial hygiene (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Patty's toxicology (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Sax's dangerous properties of industrial materials (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Sittig's handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Solution finder : OHS (connect | more information)

    CCH OHS Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of occupational health and safety information. Enables searching across all the Australian legislation, cases, commentary, best practice and news regarding issues on OHS obligations, workers compensation, risk management, incident notification, emergency management, psychological risks, recordkeeping, rehabilitation, training, and consultation requirements.

  • Includes full text

  • For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases