Skip to content | Change text size

Music

Key resources

African American song. See: American song (connect | more information)

American song (connect | more information)

"American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more."--About the database. Also includes the database, African American Song. This resource documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives. The database will contain (when complete) 50,000 audio tracks, including collections of recordings by the top fifty names in the history of black American music.

Archive of dissertation abstracts in music (connect | more information)

This archive provides abstracts relating to completed dissertations and theses and to those in progress in the musicology and ethnomusicology field.

BAMER (connect | more information)

The database includes research studies and theses in music education, undertaken by Australians in Australia and overseas universities, as well as those by overseas researchers who are now resident in Australia.

CAIRSS for music (connect | more information)

CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Citations have been taken from 1,354 different journal titles, 18 of which are primary journals, meaning that every article ever to appear is included. The primary journals are: Arts in Psychotherapy, Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music, Education Bulletin of the National Association for Music Therapy, Contributions to Music Education, Hospital Music Newsletter, International Journal of Arts Medicine, Journal of the Association for Music and Imagery, Journal of Music Teacher Education, Journal of Music Therapy, Journal of Research in Music Education, Medical Problems of Performing Artists, Music Perception, Music Therapy, Music Therapy Perspectives, Psychology of Music Psychomusicology, Quarterly Update: Applications of Research to Music Education.

Classical music library (connect | more information)

Classical Music Library provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists.

Classical scores library (connect | more information)

Contains classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.

Contemporary world music (connect | more information)

"Contemporary world music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world"--About the database.

Dance in video (connect | more information)

Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.

Doctoral dissertations in musicology-online : DDM-online (connect | more information)

Citation database of completed higher degree theses (PhDs), or doctoral dissertations, in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific and humanistic disciplines. Citations are arranged alphabetically by author within the following broad categories: general/miscellaneous, Antiquity, Middle Ages, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Twentieth century. The database is searchable by author and keywords.

DRAM (connect | more information)

A collection of over 1,500 CDs (9,800 compositions), sound recordings, documenting American music. It includes folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary and electronic music. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists.

  • Includes full text
  • Grove music online (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text with ongoing updates of: The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed. (London, 2001); The New Grove dictionary of opera (London, 1992); and, the New Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd ed. (London, 2002). New articles and articles which have been updated since their appearance in print show a date in the upper right corner of the screen. Grove music online continues to grow with both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove dictionaries.

  • Includes full text

  • Restricted to 6 simultaneous users.

    IIMP full text (connect | more information)

    IIMP Full Text draws its current content from more than 380 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, with over 35 full text titles, including retrospective coverage from over 110 periodicals. It provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text coverage of the most important scholarly and popular musical journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Licence restrictions: 1 simultaneous user only.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • Music index online (connect | more information)

    Index of journal articles about classical and popular music from more than 640 international music periodicals.
    On campus access only.

    Naxos music library (connect | more information)

    "Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 165,000 tracks, including classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database"--FAQ.page.
    Monash students and staff only.
    Licence restrictions: 5 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    Naxos music library. Jazz (connect | more information)

    One of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,900 albums. Over 500 jazz artists are represented. It comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. -- FAQ page.
    Monash students and staff only.
    Licence restrictions: 5 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    Opera in video (connect | more information)

    Opera in Video presents a collection of streaming video performances of the most commonly studied operas and covers the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance in the world of opera.

    RILM abstracts of music literature (connect | more information)

    This database contains over 310,900 bibliographic citations and abstracts of scholarly music literature worldwide. Source documents include: journal articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, theses, videos, reviews and more. Subject coverage: musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy, iconography, historical musicology.

    Rock's backpages (connect | more information)

    Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.

  • Includes full text
  • Smithsonian global sound for libraries (connect | more information)

    Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes. Also, various musical collections will be available for purchase and immediate download. Users may browse by country, genre, cultural group, language, instrument, artist, ensemble, album, label, or category, such as American Folk, American Indian, Jazz, Spoken word and sounds, and Children's or conduct an advanced search.

     


    Other resources

    AEI : Australian Education Index (connect | more information)

    Australian Education Index (AEI), produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts documents from printed and electronic sources at all levels of education and related fields. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles, tests and web. Articles and reports by Australian authors or about Australian education published in overseas sources are also included. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training.

  • Includes full text
  • APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    Arts & humanities citation index (connect | more information)

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database that covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes more than 1,144 arts and humanities journals, from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

    Arts hub (connect | more information)

    Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry.

  • Includes full text
  • Asian resources : a select directory of databases : ASIANRES (connect | more information)

    Directory contains detailed information on Asia-related databases and search services which are accessible from Australia. Primary focus is research, the social sciences and humanities, and the smaller less commercial databases that are being developed in the Asia-Pacific region. Asia as defined here, includes the Indian subcontinent, East Asia, and South East Asia. Coverage to 2001.

    Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    digital culture art course (connect | more information)

    Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.

    Early English books online (connect | more information)

    This database gives full text reproduction access to the works (over 125,000 titles) listed in: Pollard & Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) ; Wing, Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) ; and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The works in this collection are presented as images, which may be viewed online, or downloaded in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • encyclopedia of popular music (connect | more information)

    Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Updated three to four times a year with new and revised articles, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music is also entirely cross-searchable with Grove Music Online through the Oxford Music Online gateway.

  • Includes full text
  • ERIC (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education.

    Film index international (connect | more information)

    Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

    Garland encyclopedia of world music online (connect | more information)

    The Garland encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Contains the full text of the 10 volume print encyclopedia (originally published in 1997), which is searchable all together for the first time.

  • Includes full text
  • Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland (connect | more information)

    This searchable database consists of a comprehensive listing of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Selected abstracts are provided for entries from 1970 to 1985. From 1986 almost all entries include abstracts.

    Intute. Arts & humanities (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Jazz music library (connect | more information)

    Jazz Music Library is a collection of jazz recordings which covers thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. It's an essential resource for the study and teaching of jazz history, performance, theory, or appreciation.

    MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
    Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    Music online (connect | more information)

    Music online is a comprehensive database of streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. It allows users to cross search all of the music databases that Monash University library subscribes to, and published by Alexander Street Press; that is, any combination of these databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online and Opera in Video. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries will be added to this cross-search platform later in 2009.

    MusicAustralia (connect | more information)

    MusicAustralia aim is to develop a web-based music service that will provide integrated access to Australian music resources and information. It is being developed and delivered as a collaboration between the National Library of Australia, ScreenSound Australia, the national screen and sound archive, and other national cultural institutions and the wider Australian music community. Music in all its formats, across styles and genres and, both heritage and contemporary material, is included. Currently, it provides access to more than 170 items of digitised music material, including published music, manuscript scores, audio recordings, multimedia presentations and other music resources which are available online. The service also has features that allow users to view or listen to music items one at a time, to listen to several music items one after another, or to view and listen to music simultaneously. Future developments include scoping and developing a directory structure to include people, organisations and events linked to Australian music.

    Oxford dictionary of national biography (connect | more information)

    The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included; the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2003.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford music online (connect | more information)

    Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.

  • Includes full text
  • Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.

  • Includes full text
  • Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)

    The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

    Project Muse (connect | more information)

    Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest education journals (connect | more information)

    This database provides access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. It includes the indexing and abstracts from H.W. Wilson's highly regarded Education Abstracts, and many more titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PsycINFO (connect | more information)

    PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
    See also:
    PsycINFO 2000 to present
    PsycINFO 1985 to present
    PsycINFO 1967 to present
    PsycINFO 1806 to present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies.

    Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases