Skip to content | Change text size

Medicine

Key resources

EBM reviews (connect | more information)

A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, (Cochrane methodology register, Health technology assessment, NHS economic evaluation database) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    ACP Journal Club
    CochraneDSR
    CENTRAL
    Cochrane Methodology Register
    DARE
    Health Technology Assessment
    NHS Economic Evaluation Database
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    EMBASE.com (connect | more information)

    EMBASE.com provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed.

    Meditext (connect | more information)

    Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text
  • MEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

    Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
    See also:
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations
    Medline 1950 to present with daily update
    OldMedline 1950-1965
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations,Medline daily, MEDLINE and OldMedline 1950-present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Ovid MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations (connect | more information)

    Search Ovid MEDLINE in-process to locate very recently published material. This database consists of records waiting for full processing, such as addition of MeSH terms and other fields, prior to transfer to Ovid MEDLINE. Also includes citations from selectively indexed Medline journals not included in Medline. These are permanently retained in this database.
    See also:
    Medline 1950 to present with daily update
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations,Medline daily, MEDLINE and OldMedline 1950-present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     


    Other resources

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health bibliography : ATSIhealth (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian indigenous health. Source documents include journals, theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents.

    Academic earth (connect | more information)

    The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

    AccessMedicine (connect | more information)

    A repository of medical knowledge, the AccessMedicine site provides access to the Clinical Library, comprising titles which have various interactive features, and also to the LANGE Educational Library, made up of electronic text reproductions of selected print medical education titles (non-interactive). Also includes sections entitled Guidelines, Quick Access Medicine, LANGE Case Files and Laboratory Values.

  • Includes full text

  • Licence restrictions: 5 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    ACP journal club (connect | more information)

    A journal that comprises structured abstracts of original research articles and systematic reviews from over 100 clinical journals. Content of articles selected is based on explicit criteria, followed by an assessment of its relevance to medical practice. Published by the American College of Physicians, articles reviewed focus on more common diseases and conditions. From 1995 to 2002, includes some content of the UK publication, Evidence Based Medicine. Also available as part of EBM Reviews. Full text links in the references allow you to explore the evidence in the primary source. Full text references link you to other full text documents within the database, as well as to bibliographic databases such as MEDLINE. Bi-directional linking allows you to link from MEDLINE to documents in the same collection or to journals available in Ovid Full Text.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    AMED : allied and complementary medicine (connect | more information)

    A bibliographic database of journal articles on allied and alternatives to conventional medicine. Subjects covered include: complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    AMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Meditext

    Anatomy.tv (connect | more information)

    Presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. Leading practitioners in each field provide explanations of the illustrations.

  • Includes full text
  • ATSDR's toxicological profiles (connect | more information)

    Constantly updated, ATSDR'S Toxicological Profiles (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry - U.S. Public Health Service) translates over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version into a comprehensive, current, easy-to-use format on the mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data. Rigorously peer-reviewed, this work covers the toxicological effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds. Each profile includes an examination, summary, and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological data evaluations on the hazardous substance. Offers 162 final toxicological profiles, with an extensive hyperlink system and advanced search capabilities.

  • Includes full text
  • AUSPORT : Australian sport database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport, including sports administration, children and sport, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes.

    AusportMed (connect | more information)

    AusportMed is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes. Subject coverage includes medicine, health, biomechanics, psychology, diagnosis, treatment, nutrition diet, physiology, physical fitness and drugs in sport.

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian public affairs information service : health (connect | more information)

    Australian bibliographic database tha indexes articles from published material. Subject coverage includes the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Source documents include a wide range of journals, newspapers, conference papers and books.

    Biological abstracts (connect | more information)

    Of interest to all levels of students and other researchers, Biological Abstracts is the foremost source of references to the life science journal literature including vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine (experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine), biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology and environment, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International coverage of over 4,000 journals with about 14% of these sourced from Asia and Australasia. About 90% of records in the database include an abstract.
    See also: Biological Abstracts 2002 - 2008
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    BioMed Central (connect | more information)

    BioMed Central Ltd. provides free access to original peer-reviewed biomedical research. Publications include journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in biology and medicine are also included. Research materials added by Monash authors are now also available at the site.

  • Includes full text
  • BIOSCIENCEnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Full-text handbooks and monographs covering topics including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • Books@Ovid (connect | more information)

    The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.

  • Includes full text

  • On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Chemwatch (connect | more information)

    Chemwatch is one of the world's largest supplier of independently researched MSDS (Material safety data sheets) and other related documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Off campus: Not available.

    CINAHL plus (connect | more information)

    CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,802 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. CINAHL Plus also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records.

  • Includes full text
  • Cochrane central register of controlled trials (connect | more information)

    A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
    See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Cochrane database of systematic reviews (connect | more information)

    A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Cochrane library (connect | more information)

    A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    ACP Journal Club
    CochraneDSR
    CENTRAL
    Cochrane Methodology Register
    DARE
    Health Technology Assessment
    NHS Economic Evaluation Database

    Cochrane methodology register (connect | more information)

    A database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of health care and social interventions. The Cochrane Methodology Register contains over 9,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care. Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts, and reports of ongoing methodological research. Records contain bibliographic information and, in many cases, a summary. Provided as part of the Cochrane library.
    See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Cold Spring Harbor protocols (connect | more information)

    Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques. -- About CSH Protocols webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • Conference papers index (connect | more information)

    This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: agriculture; biochemistry; chemistry; chemical engineering; forestry; biology; environmental science; soil science; biotechnology; and, clinical medicine.

    CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE) (connect | more information)

    Over 4,000 structured abstracts, including commentary, of systematic reviews relating to the effects of healthcare interventions. Prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, UK, reviews of high methodological quality are identified by searching databases, handsearching major medical journals, selected websites and grey literature. DARE is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.

  • Includes full text
  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews


    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu (connect | more information)

    Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); DBpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); KRpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of molecular cell biology and molecular medicine (connect | more information)

    Covering everything from Alzheimer's Disease to Zebrafish Genome, the Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine is a kaleidoscope of modern life sciences and modern medicine. It originally appeared in print in 6 volumes, covering some 11,000 pages and approximately 230 articles with a total of 2,400 figures and 500 tables. Approximately 70 articles on cell biology and 60 molecular biology articles have been added covering areas that have become prominent since preparation of the first edition. As such, all major disciplines comprising and supporting molecular cell biology and molecular medicine are covered in true encyclopedic detail.--Reference work home.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of virology (connect | more information)

    Covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects....this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. Takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism.--About.

    eTG complete (connect | more information)

    Searchable peer-reviewed clinical guidelines. Topics include: 1. Therapeutic Guidelines -- Analgesic, Antibiotic, Cardiovascular, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastrointestinal, Neurology, Oral and Dental, Palliative Care, Psychotropic, Respiratory, and Rheumatology. 2. Management Guidelines -- Developmental Disability.

  • Includes full text
  • EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • Faculty of 1000 medicine (connect | more information)

    Faculty of 1000 Medicine is a scientific literature awareness tool. This online research service comprehensively and systematically highlights and evaluates the most interesting papers published in medicine, based on the recommendations of 2,500 leading international researchers and clinicians. Faculty Members submit short evaluations of 2-3 interesting articles that they have read in the previous month, providing an article rating ...Evaluations are systematically organised according to subject keywords and are cross-linked to make it easy for users to find evaluations of interest to their specialty. Users can also customize the service to their interests and opt for regular updates by email, including stored searches on keywords of interest, at a frequency that suits them.

    FORENSICnetBASE : LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database of essential forensic science and law enforcement reference texts.

  • Includes full text
  • FreeBooks4Doctors : promoting free access to medical books (connect | more information)

    Provides links to free medical textbooks available online. Users may search by title or broad subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • H&S : health & society database (connect | more information)

    Covers health policy and administration, health services, economic issues, mental health and illness, pregnancy, birth, mortality, morbidity, health education and promotion and ethical aspects such as abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies as they relate to the health and well being of Australian families and individuals. Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Health & Society is a subset of the Family database and indexes articles from published and unpublished materials, such as journals, conference papers, book chapters, government publications, statistical documents, annual reports and theses.

    Harrison's online (connect | more information)

    Online version of the key textbook Harrison's principles of internal medicine. Search or browse the complete text, illustrations and expanded features or link to featured updates, related web sites, online pretests or the New England Journal of Medicine collections. Updated daily, AccessMedicine delivers the complete text, illustrations, and updates to the print version of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17th Edition. The fully searchable database regularly presents new and revised content from the distinguished editors and contributors of Harrison's.

  • Includes full text
  • Health and psychosocial instruments (connect | more information)

    Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the fields of health, psychology, psychosocial sciences, organisational behaviour and library and information science. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and tests.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Health technology assessment (connect | more information)

    "The Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions)... Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations."--Database guide.
    See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Henry Stewart talks. Biomedical & life sciences (connect | more information)

    Henry Stewart Talks publishes animated audio visual presentations by world leading experts. The presentations consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronised for ease of listening. They are all approximately 40-50 minutes long and are organised into a comprehensive series of talks.

  • Includes full text
  • HIVA : HIV/AIDS database (connect | more information)

    HIVA, Australia's most comprehensive HIV and AIDS collection, is a bibliographic database of journal articles, books and audiovisual titles listed in the catalogues of the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network. It is designed to provide invaluable information support for health care professionals, students, researchers, and people living with HIV/AIDS. It covers the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS, as well as the relationship between alcohol and other drugs to HIV/AIDS.

    Informa healthcare (connect | more information)

    InformaHealthcare.com combines the pharmaceutical, life science and medical journal titles published by Informa Healthcare onto one platform to simplify your experience, and deliver online content from more than 170 journals.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • International bibliographic information on dietary supplements (IBIDS) database (connect | more information)

    Over 730,000 citations on the topic of dietary supplements from four major database sources: biomedical-related articles from MEDLINE, botanical and agricultural science from AGRICOLA, worldwide agricultural literature through AGRIS, and selected nutrition journals from CAB Abstracts and CAB Health.

    International encyclopedia of rehabilitation (connect | more information)

    The International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation is an Internet based, multilingual resource conceived as part of an online information system on rehabilitation ... [and] is meant to provide researchers, professionals, students, persons with disabilities, and the general public with an easily accessible resource via the Internet. It is intended to be a synthesis of state of the science in the principal areas of rehabilitation. Its articles include the principal disabilities, as well as rehabilitation evaluation, interventions and associated topics related to physical, psychological, social and environmental aspects of rehabilitation. The encyclopedia is available in English, French and Spanish.--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Intute. BioethicsWeb (connect | more information)

    BioethicsWeb offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering biomedical ethics.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Health & life sciences (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. MedHist (connect | more information)

    MedHist is a free catalogue of evaluated, high quality Internet resources and websites relating to the history of medicine and allied sciences, covering all aspects of the history of health and development of medical knowledge. Also provides a searchable calendar of events.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Nursing, midwifery and allied health (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • ISIHighlyCited.com (connect | more information)

    Tool to identify the most highly cited scientific researchers in the life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and engineering who have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. Contains biographical information and listing of publications for each researcher. The bibliography is enhanced by links to the full bibliographic citations with selected abstracts and cited references indexed in the ISI Web of Science. The database can be searched by name, subject category, country, or institutional affiliation.

    Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    KPjournal (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to 18 science/engineering journals and research papers published in North Korea in the fields of Natural Science (Biology, Physics, Chemistry), Geography, Medical, Pharmacology, Engineering, Mineralogy.

  • Includes full text
  • KRpia : knowledge reference service (connect | more information)

    Full-text collection of Korean classical books (133 titles in 10 subjects). Users may search and retrieve primary sources, oral sources, classical texts, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and general reference works in fields such as Korean history, literature, civilization, medicine, architecture, and natural history.

  • Includes full text
  • Literature, arts and medicine database (connect | more information)

    The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database is an annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in medical humanities, for use in health/pre-health and liberal arts settings.

  • Includes full text
  • MD Consult (connect | more information)

    The CD Consult Core Collection helps physicians answer clinical questions and stay abreast of recent developments by integrating: 49 respected medical reference books; over 71 medical journals and clinics; PDFs available for many Elsevier journals and clinics (dating back to 2002); comprehensive drug information; more than 1,000 clinical practice guidelines; over 5,000 customizable patient education handouts; and more.

  • Includes full text
  • MedlinePlus (connect | more information)

    MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • MIMS online (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the full MIMS database of abbreviated and full information (including OTC) on prescription and non-prescription drugs available in Australia. Full colour product identification pictures are available.

  • Includes full text
  • MyiLibrary (connect | more information)

    MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database.

  • Includes full text
  • NDLTD (connect | more information)

    Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.

  • Includes full text
  • NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Groundbreaking studies, classic texts, and illustrative atlases make this site a premier neuroscience reference. It offers the latest on Parkinson's and Alzheimer's as well as circadian studies, cytokines research, and computational neuroscience.

  • Includes full text
  • NHS economic evaluation database (connect | more information)

    The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
    See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    NIOSH (connect | more information)

    The NIOSH Web site features many different types of databases and information resources. They are categorized here by Chemical; Injury, Illness & Hazards Data and Information; Publications; Respirators and Other Personal Protective Equipment; Agriculture; and Construction. The most popular databases include the International Chemical Safety Cards, NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, and NIOSHTIC-2.

  • Includes full text
  • NUTRITIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Contains the latest authoritative information on nutrition in health and disease, sports nutrition, phytonutrients, the cancer-diet connection, and oxidative stress. Up to 99 titles are available for browsing or searching.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Ovid OLDMEDLINE (connect | more information)

    OLDMEDLINE contains citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences. Subject searching of this file is available through key words (the original Medical Subject Headings, assigned prior to 1965) and text phrases. Unlike MEDLINE, this file contains no abstracts nor MeSH heading field data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    PHARMACEUTICALnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive resource for both industrial and academic researchers, this site explores drug discovery, development, and delivery systems. It covers quality and manufacturing and includes ADME - Toxicology information and dosage forms.

  • Includes full text
  • PILOTS database (connect | more information)

    "The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage." -- Information page.

    PLoS (connect | more information)

    PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

  • Includes full text
  • POPLINE (connect | more information)

    POPLINE(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 350,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE has numerous special features including links to free, fulltext documents, the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles and many abstracts in French and Spanish.

    ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest health & medical complete (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,200 publications with more than 965 available in full text and of these, over 770 include MEDLINE¿¿ indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PubMed (connect | more information)

    Free access to Medline, the premier source for biomedical literature, plus the National Library of Medicine's inprocess database. PubMed indexes over 4,600 journals covering topics such as allied health, biological and physical sciences, biomedical engineering, clinical medicine, humanities and information science as they related to medicine and health care. The Clinical Queries service provides built-in search filters that retrieve human clinical research studies on diagnosis, aetiology, therapy or prognosis, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PubMed also links to a number of other National Library of Medicine (NLM) resources including molecular modelling and genetics resources, consumer health information, clinical trials database and the TOXNET cluster of databases.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: MEDLINE | MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations | TOXNET

    RURAL : rural and remote health database (connect | more information)

    RURAL, a bibliographic database produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, covers a range of areas including rural medical practices, indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, the practice and educational needs of health care providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. There is international coverage of journal articles, some conference and discussion papers.

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text

  • To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    SPORTDiscus with full text (connect | more information)

    With over 230 full text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text ia a bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes more than 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

  • Includes full text
  • STAT!Ref (connect | more information)

    StatREF includes general clinical medicine, pharmacology, physiology, surgery or psychiatry electronic books that can be searched individually or simultaneously. Alternatively, browse the table of contents for an individual book title. Link to Stedmans medical dictionary. Five concurrent users.

  • Includes full text
  • Therapeutic guidelines. See: eTG complete (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Trip database (connect | more information)

    The TRIP Database searches web sites with high-quality medical information. A search on the TRIP Database links directly to relevant 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. Clinical areas: cancer, cardiovascular, child health, endocrinology, gastrointestinal, HIV/AIDS, infectious diseases, mental health, musculoskeletal, neurology, pregnancy and childbirth, respiratory care, women's health.

  • Includes full text
  • U.X.L. complete health resource (connect | more information)

    This resource covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of 140 health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues. Includes a general glossary, bibliography, and subject index.

  • Includes full text
  • Videos in clinical medicine (connect | more information)

    This site has peer-reviewed educational videos with the goals of providing effective clinical instruction and improved patient care. Topics include but are not limited to: Paracentesis, Central Venous Catheterization, Lumbar Puncture, and Basic Laceration Repair.

    Wiley handbook of current and emerging drug therapies (connect | more information)

    The Wiley Handbook of Current and Emerging Drug Therapies is an authoritative, primary reference tailored to meet the needs of researchers, graduate students and practitioners dealing with numerous biomedical applications, especially in the fields of therapeutics, pharmacology, and drug discovery and delivery. No other resource focuses on drug discovery and pharmaceutical research from this unique perspective, combining scientific and business aspects of today's biotechnology.--Reference work home.

  • Includes full text
  • Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    World Scientific eBooks (connect | more information)

    World Scientific eBooks are electronic versions of World Scientific print titles. All subject areas that World Scientific actively publishes in are available in eBook format. Covers 16 different subject areas, concentrating on STM titles - Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest, Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases