Skip to content | Change text size

Mathematics

Key resources

MathEduc (connect | more information)

MathEduc (formerly MATHDI) is the only international reference database offering a world-wide overview of current and recent literature on mathematics education. This ranges from didactics in mathematics to text books and teaching material. MathEduc also covers education in computer science on the elementary level. The scope includes literature for all school levels up to university education, teachers' training, job training, and general educational and pedagogical issues. About 500 journals from all over the world are evaluated, plus books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, syllabuses, curricula, audiovisual media, teaching aids, games and software.

MathSciNet (connect | more information)

MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.

 


Other resources

Academic research library (connect | more information)

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ACM digital library (connect | more information)

    Covers full text journals and proceedings from the Association since the 1950's. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations

  • Includes full text
  • Citebase.eprints.org (connect | more information)

    Citebase is a prototype OAI harvester which provides users with the facility for searching across multiple archives, with results ranked according to many criteria, including citation impact with citation linking. Abstracts and some full records are also available. Citebase contains articles from physics, maths, information science, and (published only) biomedical papers.

  • Includes full text
  • CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • MATHnetBASE (connect | more information)

    MATHnetBASE provides access to over 70 full text mathematical resources, including handbooks and manuals, published by CRC Press. Formulas, techniques, derivations and background material needed in all areas of applied mathematics are included. Publications can be browsed or searched.

  • Includes full text
  • On-line encyclopedia of integer sequences (connect | more information)

    Most people use this web site to get information about a particular number sequence. Its main purpose is to allow mathematicians or other scientists to find out if some sequence that turns up in their research has ever been seen before. If it has, they may find that the problem they're working on has already been solved, or partially solved, by someone else. Or they may find that the sequence showed up in some other situation, which may show them an unexpected relationship between their problem and something else. Another purpose is to have an easily accessible database of important, but difficult to compute, sequences.

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    SIAM journals online (connect | more information)

    Full text articles from journals of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Electronic issues are published on an article-by-article basis in advance of the corresponding print issues.

  • Includes full text
  • SIAM reference collection (connect | more information)

    A searchable collection of over 300 books published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, in the areas of applied mathematics and computational science.

  • Includes full text
  • SpringerLink (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to Springer journals and book series. Subject coverage includes: chemical sciences, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

  • Includes full text
  • STATSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    STATSnetBASE provides access to over 120 full text statistical methods resources, including handbooks and manuals, published by CRC Press. It covers applications in a wide range of disciplines from the environmental and social sciences to medicine, biology and operations research. Publications can be browsed or searched.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing full text access to journals, books, reference works, databases and current protocols published by Wiley. Searching across multiple publications and browsing within specific publications is possible. Subject areas which can be browsed include: business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology and, social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • Wolfram MathWorld : the web's most extensive mathematics resource (connect | more information)

    "MathWorld has been assembled over more than a decade by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from thousands of contributors. Since its contents first appeared online in 1995, MathWorld has emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities. It not only reaches millions of readers from all continents of the globe, but also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers ... MathWorld currently features a number of innovative interactive elements that enhance its usability for a variety of different readers. These features include: The MathWorld Classroom, which provides a set of pop-up "capsule summaries" for more than 300 mathematical terms. Extensive citations to books and journal articles ...Thousands of downloadable Mathematica notebooks. Several types of interactive entries, including LiveGraphics3D applets for interactive three-dimensional geometry." -- About webpage.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases