Skip to content | Change text size

Literature

Key resources

AustLit : the resource for Australian literature (connect | more information)

AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature--URL: http://www.austlit.edu.au/about.

Contemporary authors (connect | more information)

This worldwide database provides comprehensive biographical and bibliographical information on authors from all genres including fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, and television. Current writers, as well as the most studied literary figures of the early 20th century, are featured.

Early English books online (connect | more information)

This database gives full text reproduction access to the works (over 125,000 titles) listed in: Pollard & Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) ; Wing, Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) ; and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The works in this collection are presented as images, which may be viewed online, or downloaded in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • Literary index (connect | more information)

    A master index to the major literature products published by Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press and Twayne Publishers. It combines and cross-references more than 135,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and over 165,000 titles into one source.

    Literature online : the home of literature and criticism (connect | more information)

    Literature online includes full text of over 350,000 literary works, and resources for over 16,000 authors spanning several centuries. It contains an extensive collection of criticisms, reference works and journals and includes the MLA Bibliography, and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1920 onwards. Quick search allows users to search across entire contents of Literature online from any page.

  • Includes full text
  • MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
    Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

     


    Other resources

    Academic earth (connect | more information)

    The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

    Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    AfricaBib.org (connect | more information)

    The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). Also available is a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

  • Includes full text
  • African-American poetry (connect | more information)

    African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition. Coverage includes writers from both North and South, from rural and urban backgrounds, and ranges from University-educated professionals to those for whom the very acts of reading and writing constituted a defiance of Southern slave laws. Generically, poems range from ballads, broadsides and humorous verse to Romantic odes, sonnets and historical epics.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    American drama, 1714-1915 (connect | more information)

    Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, American Drama 1714-1915 provides literary researchers and historians with a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy exemplified by the work of such playwrights as David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Clyde Fitch and William Vaughn Moody. The collection is fully cross-searchable by keyword and according to such criteria as genre, date and place of first performance, nationality and ethnicity.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    American poetry (connect | more information)

    Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    Annee philologique (connect | more information)

    A database published by the Socie¿¿te¿¿ Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of E¿¿ric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association. Contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Multiple possibilities for searching are available: by modern authors, by full text, by ancient authors and texts, by subjects and disciplines through a multilevel index showing the different levels of classification by word(s) in the title, by publisher, by collection or by periodical.

  • Includes full text
  • Annual bibliography of English language and literature, 1920- (connect | more information)

    The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920-1999. The bibliography consists of 80 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually; a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 has been indexed retrospectively. ABELL has been published in book form since 1920, and ProQuest Information and Learning publish the electronic version in both CD-ROM and web format. While the print volume and CD-ROM instalments are published annually, new bibliographic records are added to the web version in advance of their appearance in the annual versions.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    Arts & humanities citation index (connect | more information)

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database that covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes more than 1,144 arts and humanities journals, from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

    Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)

    This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.

    Bible in English (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Canadian poetry (connect | more information)

    Created in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries, this unique collection contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems by 177 poets including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford, Archibald Lampman, Charles G. D. Roberts and Duncan Campbell Scott, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    digital culture art course (connect | more information)

    Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.

    E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu (connect | more information)

    Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); DBpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); KRpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information.

  • Includes full text
  • Early American fiction 1789-1875 (connect | more information)

    Early American Fiction 1789-1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

  • Includes full text
  • Early American fiction, 1789-1850 (connect | more information)

    Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1850, including key titles such as James Fenimore Cooper's The Last of the Mohicans, Edgar Allan Poe's Tales of the Grotesque and Arabesque and Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter.

  • Includes full text
  • Early English prose fiction (connect | more information)

    A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500-1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel.

  • Includes full text
  • Editions and adaptations of Shakespeare (connect | more information)

    Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century journals (connect | more information)

    Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) . It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion. Monash University Library provides access to Eighteenth century journals II and to Eighteenth century journals III only.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth-century fiction (connect | more information)

    A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

  • Includes full text
  • Electronic literature directory (connect | more information)

    A searchable database listing electronic works, authors, and publishers. Covers poetry, fiction, drama, and nonfiction that makes significant use of electronic techniques or enhancements.

  • Includes full text
  • Empire online (connect | more information)

    This database is being published in five sections between 2003 and 2007 offering approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (2003); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (2003/4); The Visible Empire (2004/5); Religion and Empire (2005/6); and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (2006/7). The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

  • Includes full text
  • English drama (connect | more information)

    English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    English poetry (connect | more information)

    The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Contains over 165,000 poems essentially comprising the complete English poetic canon from 600-1900. Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented. The bibliographic source is the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (Cambridge University Press, 1969-72).

  • Includes full text
  • English poetry, second edition (connect | more information)

    Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets. The main bibliographic source is the New Cambridge bibliography of English literature, 1969-1977. Also includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and other parts of the world. English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with enhanced functionality and the addition of more than 20,000 poems.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Faber poetry library (connect | more information)

    The Faber Poetry Library contains the works of 50 poets comprising 140 volumes of poetry. The authors are all part of the Faber Poetry list and the database enjoys the active support of the publisher and the poets or their estates. Authors covered include Simon Armitage, Rupert Brooke, Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Lavinia Greenlaw, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, David Jones, Louis MacNeice, Andrew Motion, Paul Muldoon, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath, Siegfried Sassoon, Stephen Spender and Edward Thomas.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    Gallica : la bibliotheque numerique (connect | more information)

    Provides access to selected print and visual resources of the digital library of the National Library of France. Includes full text materials, of which some are searchable.

  • Includes full text
  • Guide to Australian literary manuscripts (connect | more information)

    Contains detailed inventories of more than 85 manuscript collections in six major Australian libraries. It covers more than 65 Australian authors, including Peter Carey, Miles Franklin, David Malouf, Kenneth Slessor and Christina Stead. The collections can be browsed by author, and each guide can be browsed by table of contents. The complete collection, and the individual guides, can also be searched by keyword.

    Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland (connect | more information)

    This searchable database consists of a comprehensive listing of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Selected abstracts are provided for entries from 1970 to 1985. From 1986 almost all entries include abstracts.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • KoreaA2Z (connect | more information)

    KoreaA2Z is a knowledge content resource for Korean studies, including full-text online databases collecting primary sources and classics organized by subjects or format. Works such as the History of the Three Kingdoms (Sam'guk sagi )-in over a hundred editions-the Four Books and the Three Classics (Saso samgyong ), and the Digital Encyclopedia of National Culture (EncyKorea) are included in KoreaA2Z.--Database description, eKorean studies.

  • Includes full text
  • KRpia : knowledge reference service (connect | more information)

    Full-text collection of Korean classical books (133 titles in 10 subjects). Users may search and retrieve primary sources, oral sources, classical texts, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and general reference works in fields such as Korean history, literature, civilization, medicine, architecture, and natural history.

  • Includes full text
  • Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering all aspects of the study of language. Major areas of subject coverage include: anthropological linguistics; applied linguistics; descriptive linguistics; discourse analysis/text linguistics; hearing and speech physiology; pathological and normal hearing; history of linguistics; interpersonal behaviour and communication; language classification; pathological and normal language; learning disabilities; lexicography/lexicology; mental retardation; morphology; nonverbal communication; orthography, writing systems; philosophy of language; phonetics; phonology; poetics/literary theory; psycholinguistics; psychometrics; semantics; semiotics; sociolinguistics; special education; syntax; theory of linguistics; and, typology.

    Literary manuscripts (connect | more information)

    The focus of this collection is to provide direct access to facsimile images of verses as catalogued in the Brotherton Library's BCMSV database. Combines facsimile images of all of the [190] manuscripts in their entirety, linked to new indexing and to the powerful BCMSV database which lists first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, MS and record number for over 6,600 poems within the collection.

  • Includes full text
  • Literary manuscripts (connect | more information)

    "The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown. A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature ... Each author collection is included in its entirety, allowing users to browse and search the manuscripts as they would in the Berg Reading Room. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, The Bronte¿¿s, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson [and] William Makepeace Thackeray."--Introduction.

  • Includes full text
  • Literature, arts and medicine database (connect | more information)

    The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database is an annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in medical humanities, for use in health/pre-health and liberal arts settings.

  • Includes full text
  • Medieval travel writing (connect | more information)

    Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothe¿¿que nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universita¿¿tsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, O¿¿sterreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.

  • Includes full text
  • New York times : books (connect | more information)

    Free registration provides access to the book section of "The New York Times". Current and archived book reviews and news articles about literature are available.

  • Includes full text
  • nineteenth century (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic index/catalogue to the Nineteenth Century publishing programme on microfiche of English language books first published between 1801 and 1900 held in the British Library. The publications are organized into eleven main sections and their coverage is described on this site. The brief catalogue records provided in the online index include publication details, subject headings, fiche number and British Library shelfmark. The Nineteenth Century General Collection: society and culture microform collection is held at Deakin University and the Specialist collections are held at other Universities.

    Nineteenth-century fiction (connect | more information)

    Contains 250 complete works of prose fiction by 102 authors from the period 1782 to 1903. Each text is reproduced in full, including all prefatory matter and annotation by the original author. Bibliographic details are included from each of the editions used along with illustrations where available.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    OzLife : Australian biography index (connect | more information)

    OzLife was a selective index to articles about prominent Australians appearing in major Australian newspapers from September 2000 to July 2005. Until September 2002 Ozlife also indexed book reviews on works of Australian fiction and non-fiction which appeared in Australian journals and newspapers. It contains over 48, 000 records. Active indexing in OzLife ceased in July 2005.

    Perdita manuscripts, (connect | more information)

    This digital collection has been produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. "Perdita" means "lost woman" and the aim of the Project has been to identify and describe all manner of manuscript writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. Includes complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include account books, advice, culinary writing, meditation, travel writing, and verse.

  • Includes full text
  • Project Gutenberg (connect | more information)

    Features Project Gutenberg, which has the goal of making information, books, and other materials available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use, quote, and search. Offers access to electronic text listings, recent releases, newsletters, articles, and other archives. Discusses electronic texts and publishing, how to make a donation, and how to volunteer.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Reference guide to holocaust literature (connect | more information)

    Provides biographical and critical essays on 223 writers connected to or concerned with the Holocaust, as well as separate essays on 307 of their works.

  • Includes full text
  • SagaNet : Icelandic medieval literature (connect | more information)

    This is a database of digital images of manuscripts and books covering the entire range of Icelandic sagas. The manuscripts are nearly all in Old Norse or Icelandic. Books can be in any European language, as a number of saga translations are included. Germanic/Nordic mythology (the Eddas), the history of the Norwegian kings, contemporary sagas and tales from the European age of chivalry, Icelandic ballads, poetry and epigrams are also included. Works are from the collections of the National and University Library of Iceland, the Fiske Icelandic Collection at Cornell University, and the A¿¿rni Magnu¿¿sson Institute.

  • Includes full text
  • Source (connect | more information)

    The Source is a searchable bibliographic database of children's books, poetry, short stories and literary awards. Where a poem or short story is out of copyright, the full text is included. Short biographical details of authors, illustrators and poets are also included.

  • Includes full text
  • Thesaurus linguae Graecae (connect | more information)

    The TLG digital library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of the Byzantium in 1453, in excess of 80 million words. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.

  • Includes full text
  • TLS, the Times literary supplement centenary archive (connect | more information)

    More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the Times Literary Supplement, a leading journal of the world's literary and cultural activity. Times Literary Supplement Subscriber Archive covers October 1994 onwards in full text.

  • Includes full text
  • Twentieth century American poetry (connect | more information)

    Collection of over 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    Twentieth-century African-American poetry (connect | more information)

    A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

  • Includes full text
  • Twentieth-century English poetry (connect | more information)

    Includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work try the UK site instead.

    YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)

    The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases