| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
LawKey resourcesAGIS Plus Text (connect | more information)AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 400 titles are indexed. See also: AGIS : Attorney-General's information service | CaseBase CaseBase (connect | more information)CaseBase is a citator and annotator of cases from over 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. It provides a guide as to whether a case has been followed, distinguished or overruled by later judgments with coloured signals to flag positive, negative, or cautionary treatment. Journal articles that comment on the case are included. Alternative off campus access FirstPoint (connect | more information)FirstPoint provides access to case references, citation, history, and digest information for Australian cases since 1825. All case material is classified to a detailed classification scheme, which can be browsed or searched to locate cases on legal topics. Information is sourced from the Australian Case Citator, Australian Digest and Australian Legal Monthly Digest (published by Lawbook Co.). See also CaseBase. LAWLEX (connect | more information)Provides access to full-text Australian legislation, with associated Bill tracking, amendment & commencement information and links to related material, such as Second Reading speeches. Title, keyword or subject searches are available. A good first stop for finding Australian legislation. See also: AustLII Monash Staff only - to set up up a profile for email alerts follow the instructions. LegalTrac (connect | more information)A major bibliographic database that indexes and selectively abstracts articles from law reviews and, speciality law and bar association journals and legal newspapers on cases studies, government regulations, practice of law, statutes, and legal subjects such as taxation and international law. It also covers law related articles for approximately 1000 additional business and general interest titles. Some full text articles are included. Geographical coverage includes the U.S. Canada, U.K. and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. See also: Legal Resource Index on Lexis.com
Other resourcesABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Academic earth (connect | more information)The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website. Academic research library (connect | more information)From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ACCOUNT (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on accounting and related business topics. Source documents include Australian journals, conference papers and academic research papers. AFPD : Australian Federal Police digest (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished materials on policing, criminology and related fields. Source documents include selected Australian and overseas journals, conference papers, and book chapters.
AGIS-ATSIS (connect | more information)The AGIS-ATSIS database is a subset of AGIS that contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. See also: CINCH | APAIS American jurisprudence 2d (connect | more information)American Jurisprudence 2d is an encyclopedia containing over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics. The AMJUR database contains the full text of American Jurisprudence, Second Edition, a modern comprehensive text statement of American law -- State and Federal -- completely revised and rewritten in the light of modern authorities and developments. The encyclopedia contains over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics which, taken together, systematically describe the entire field of American legal doctrine. American maritime cases (connect | more information)"Contains the complete set of the American Maritime Cases publication, from 1923 to [the present]. American Maritime Cases contains significant maritime decisions rendered by United States (Federal and State) courts. It also reports legislative action, administrative law decisions, arbitration decisions, Maritime Law Association of the U.S. source material and other items which are deemed significant to researching U.S. and Canadian law. Cases contain AMC's key indexing system and headnotes." -- Information page. APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
APEC literature database : APECLIT (connect | more information)Focus includes economic cooperation, international trade and trade law, labour and development issues, environment and tourism. Indexes journals (including Australian titles), books, academic papers, reports and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1988 to 2002. AustLII (connect | more information)Provides full text searching of publicly available Australian primary legal materials such as Commonwealth and state consolidated acts and regulations, treaties and decisions of federal and state courts and tribunals. Extensive secondary legal materials such as law reform and royal commission reports, etc. are also included. Includes extensive links to other Australasian, Asian and international legal resources on the Internet. See also: Lawlex Australian defamation law & practice (connect | more information)"This product offers reliable, practical assistance to the practitioner in defamation proceedings, and includes substantially revised commentary to incorporate the changes introduced by the uniform defamation legislation. Legislation relevant to defamation proceedings in all Australian jurisdictions is provided and regularly updated. The service is also an important source for defamation cases which are not reported elsewhere ... Regular bulletins by Judge JC Gibson provide recent case notes, tables of decisions and legislative updates."--Publisher description. Australian encyclopaedia of forms & precedents (connect | more information)Contains over 4,000 ready-to-use legal forms and precedents covering 93 areas of law. It includes a range of legal procedures and concepts, sample documents and forms. Introductory notes explain the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicate where and when each should be used. Precedents are drafted in plain English, by experienced practitioners in leading law firms and from the bar. Australian legal journals index (connect | more information)ALJI allows browsing or searching through journal abstracts, cases referred to, legislative references, and key-citing information by jurisdiction. Includes links to 20 full text online journals, authorised and specialist law reports. Database also contains over 100,000 abstracts from over 400 legal journals. Compiled by the Commonwealth Attorney General's Lionel Murphy Library since 1971. Australian legal words and phrases (connect | more information)A comprehensive index to words and phrases defined in Australian legislation or interpreted and considered in judgments of the superior courts from 1900 to date. Provides over 100,000 words and phrases and complete details of where the word or phrase has been defined and the context in which it is defined. See also: Australian encyclopaedic legal dictionary Alternative off campus access Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Australian Public Affairs Information Service : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset (connect | more information)This bibliographic database is a subset of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include scholarly Australian journals, monographs, newspapers and conference proceedings. Limited articles from overseas publications are also included. Specific subject coverage includes history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture. BAILII : British and Irish Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet. Bankruptcy in Australia : a guidebook (connect | more information)"A practical service where the chapters follow the natural order of a bankruptcy proceeding, taking the user through all the necessary steps with analysis and detailed discussion ... The online version of this service has all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force."--Thomson catalog. BestCase (connect | more information)This web-based research service contains Canada's leading law reports including, among others, Canadian Criminal Cases, Dominion Law Reports, Labour Arbitration Cases, as well as a comprehensive collection of unreported decisions dating back to 1977. It also includes Canada Law Book's case summary services, such as the All-Canada Weekly Summaries and the Weekly Criminal Bulletin, as well as a note-up citator feature. British company law library (connect | more information)A comprehensive information service that includes the text of British company legislation and cases and commentary with the emphasis on practical guidance. Newsletters highlight recent developments. Off campus: Not available If a pop-up message appears, click OK and wait until the link is established. View detailed instructions for further help. Building & construction contracts in Australia (connect | more information)The purpose of this service is to assist parties to building contracts, their consultants and advisors, understand the complexities of building contracts. The authors guide you through the major concepts and forms of building and construction contracts, making this an essential tool for drafting and negotiating these contracts. The commentary includes extensive analysis of the contractual principles relating to building negotiations and disputes, precedents, references to cases that have been relevant to contract law and the law of evidence in general as applied to construction contracts, relevant parts of State Supreme Court Rules, Security of Payment legislation, practice directions and notes and extracts from the Evidence Act 1995 (NSW). Campbell Collaboration (connect | more information)The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Through its reviews and annual Colloquiums, the Collaboration strives to make the best social science research available and accessible. CanLII : Canadian Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)CanLII provides access to primary sources of Canadian Law accessible for free on the Internet. Includes legislative and judicial texts, as well as legal commentaries, from federal, provicial, and territorial jurisdictions. Capital Monitor (connect | more information)Provides tailored news and information services, with information from Parliament, Government and the Courts. Bills Monitors and Acts Assented sections are available for Federal, NSW and Victorian jurisdictions. Major strength is its currency, navigability, and features that aid monitoring such as 'What's new' (daily update on categorised topics), 'Newsletters' and 'Ask our experts by e-mail'. Carter on contract (connect | more information)"Carter on Contract provides a comprehensive reference to contract law ... [including a] full discussion of the theoretical underpinnings of contract law and a perspective on its relation to equity, tort and restitution; a clear statement of the principal rules plus an indication of where the law is heading to help you anticipate changes; identification of uncertainties in the law; sample clauses and practical examples to help draft contracts; practice points alerting you to significant practical issues; checklists to help locate drafting criteria as well as information to assist in the enforcement of contracts; and references to leading and recent cases from both Australia and overseas."--Publisher description. Casetrack (connect | more information)Provides full transcripts of judgments from the British Courts of Appeal (Civil and Criminal Divisions) (April 1996-), Administrative Court (April 1996-), High Court (July 1998-), House of Lords, Privy Council (Nov. 1996-), Crown Office, Employment Appeal Tribunal (July 1998-), VAT Tribunal (Jan. 2002-) and Irish, Northern Irish and Scottish courts. The judgments can be browsed by date and case name, and searched by keywords. A useful database for finding transcripts of very recent United Kingdom decisions. CCH online (connect | more information)Provides online access to selected Australian CCH titles and loose-leaf services. These publications cover topics such as corporations law, family law, industrial law, taxation and, occupational health and safety. Commentary, case law and legislation are included. Publications can be browsed or searched. See also: CCH Solution Finders for Corporations law, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, OHS, Superannuation, Tax, and Trade Practices. See also: Solution finder : corporations law Solution finder : human resources Solution finder : industrial relations Solution finder : OHS Solution finder : superannuation Solution finder : tax Solution finder : trade practices For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science. Ciao : Columbia international affairs online (connect | more information)Designed as a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991, it includies working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences. Has links to over 160 international sites, environmental studies Web pages and news media services. CINCH : Australian criminology database (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. CINCH-ATSIS (connect | more information)The CINCH-ATSIS database is a subset of CINCH that contains records that specifically relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. CLI (connect | more information)
Provides a search interface to several databases of British law, including: [1]. Current law cases, with digests from 1986 to present covering selected reports from over 70 UK commercial law report series, quantum information and Scottish law reports. Case digests from 1947 to 1985 available on the complementary CLI CD-ROM service; [2]. Case citator, a quick guide to case law developments, with links to digests of cases in Current law cases, if available -- [3]. Legislation citator, a guide to whether any act or statutory instrument has been amended, repealed, applied, or referred to by any other legislation, with some coverage from 1989; [4]. Legal journals index (LJI), an index providing summaries of articles, cases, and legislative comments from UK legal journals, including entries from English language legal journals of EU law and Irish published journals, covering over 700 journals dating back to 1986; [5]. LRDI grey paper index (formerly known as BADGER), comprising an index to the public domain information of interest to the legal profession, 1994 to date; [6]. Financial journals index (FJI), an index to the main banking, insurance, pensions, and financial services journals, 1992 to date, with industry specific journals from Jan. 2002.
CLJ law (connect | more information)CLJ Law provides access to databases covering the Malaysian legal system. The databases include cases, articles, practice notes, forms, legislation and words and phrases. In addition to reported court decisions, unreported High Court decisions are included from 1997 onwards. All current Federal legislation is made available in consolidated form, and links are provided between legislative sections and relevant case law. A searchable and browsable full-text database of articles published in MLCJ publications from 1981 onwards is also available. Note: CLJ database works only via Mozilla Firefox. After the log-in, in the pop-up message click the OK button. Collection of laws for electronic access : CLEA (connect | more information)CLEA consists of a bibliographic database in English linked to a full text database in English, French, and Spanish. CLEA contains national legislative texts in the field of intellectual property, texts of treaties administered by World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), texts of treaties not administered by WIPO and bibliographic data entries concerning each legislative text and treaty. Commentaries (connect | more information)"The commentaries service provides access to Thomson's premier annotated legislation and commentary services. With Commentaries Online you can choose to browse the product titles or search to locate legislation and commentary. Extensively integrated with Lawbook publications, you can link to digest summaries in FirstPoint and full text cases."-- Commentaries Online Quick Guide on site (help files). Company receivers and administrators (connect | more information)"Provides a practical insight into company receivership and insolvency practice and is the only service devoted exclusively to company receivership, deeds of company arrangement and voluntary administration ... The legislation is updated as changes occur with the online version providing an enhanced level of currency and contains all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force and references to case law linked to, eg, FirstPoint."--Thomson catalog. Corporations legislation (connect | more information)"Designed for use by practitioners, business professionals and anyone with an interest in corporations law ... Confirm the text of the legislation, quickly and easily with this essential resource. Currency can also be easily sourced by the list of amending instruments at the end of the act or regulation."--Thomson catalog. Corpus juris secundum (connect | more information)Cited more than 90,000 times by all levels of courts throughout the United States, this national legal encyclopedia covers all state and federal legal topics. CJS provides concise legal analysis with exhaustive case citations, making an effort to cite as many states and federal cases as possible. Can be used as a case finder for your jurisdiction, then plug into West's Key Number System to get deeper analysis of local law. Since the citations and the supporting cases involve both state and federal courts, the user gets a full perspective of the law in a local jurisdiction as well as across the country. The encyclopedia contains over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics. Criminal justice abstracts (connect | more information)Indexes and abstracts international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Areas covered include trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Criminology : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. Current law case citator (connect | more information)
Current law legislation citator (connect | more information)
Cvria (connect | more information)CVRIA is the official website of the Court of Justice and Court of First Instance of the European Communities. The site provides access to information about the Court of Justice, Court of First Instance, and the Civil Service Tribunal. It includes the full text of judgments, orders, opinions and notices, and allows searching of cases from the Court of Justice, Court of First Instance and Civil Service Tribunal. DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title. Decennial digest, American digest system (connect | more information)A complete digest of all decisions of the State and Federal courts as reported in the National reporter system and the State reports. Browse or search through the 400+ topics of the West American Digest System. Documents online [WTO] (connect | more information)Provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), including the legal texts of the WTO agreements, from 1995 onwards, with daily updates. Also contains selected material for the period 1986-1994, principally Uruguay Round documents and a small number of GATT documents.Note: this database does not contain WTO publications. Ebook library (connect | more information)Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database. EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business. EC competition law reporter (connect | more information)"Text of the EC Competition Law Reporter, a comprehensive treatise providing analysis of the European Union competition rules as established by the European Commission. The treatise examines basic principles that apply to EC competition law, applies these principles to certain business practices and behavior, and explains procedural rules governing the competition law process. Information on state aids and the relationship between EC competition law and the activities of EU member states is also covered." -- Information page. EISIL (connect | more information)EISIL provides access to the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet. Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary (connect | more information)A searchable database of legal definitions supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, including: jurisprudential and criminological terms; explanations of well known rules and principles of law; international law terms, treaties and conventions; translations of Latin legal words and phrases; descriptions of landmark decisions of the High Court of Australia; and biographical entries. There are links to additional citations in Australian Legal Words and Phrases, and to full-text law report series on LexisNexis AU. Alternative off campus access Encyclopedia of crime and justice (connect | more information)This interdisciplinary resource covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal issues, from domestic violence to terrorism. Entries cite pertinent legal cases as well as publications for further information. Also includes a glossary of related terms. English reports (connect | more information)This database contains the English Reports (1220-1873) and is based on data provided by Justis. The English Reports is the oldest collection of the most authoritative, comprehensive law reports in publication [and] the most authoritative source for published reports of cases that constitute binding precedents in English law. Over 100,000 of the most important cases reported between 1220 and 1873 are compiled into one collection. Updated regularly. English reports, full reprint (1220-1865) : case locator (connect | more information)Contains reprinted decisions of all English courts from 1220 to the commencement of the official Law reports in 1866. HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, along with its "Index of Cases" and "Index Chart." This collection represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867. EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation. EU bookshop digital library (connect | more information)EU Bookshop is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies. Now the EU Bookshop Digital Library will provide access to 12 million scanned pages in more than 110,000 EU publications. Launched at the Frankfurt Book Fair on the 16 October [2009], it offers all publications edited by the Publications Office on behalf of the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies since 1952. Access the digital library by selecting the option ¿¿¿Digital Library¿¿¿ in the search pages. Europa : gateway to the European Union (connect | more information)EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty. European Center for Minority Issues (connect | more information)The European Centre for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. It serves European governments and regional intergovernmental organizations as well as non-dominant groups in the European area. The early monitoring, study and resolution of ethnic tension and potential conflict in all regions of Europe - East and West - provides one of the major focal points for the activities of the Centre. The HeinOnline library includes ECMI Reports and Working Papers, along with the Journal on Ethnopolitics and Minority Issues in Europe. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Expert evidence (connect | more information)"Expert Evidence is an essential resource for preparation and case presentation by litigation lawyers (both civil and criminal), forensic specialists and any expert engaged in investigations and hearings. It combines comprehensive analysis of legal principle with extensive technical treatment of over 75 Expert Witness fields. Major English language international case authorities are referred to and discussed, and academic research publications from around the world are cited as references."--Thomson catalog. Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families. FAMILY-ATSIS (connect | more information)The FAMILY-ATSIS database is a subset of FAMILY that contains records that specifically relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Foreign & international law resources database (connect | more information)FLIRD contains full-text international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice. Foreign law guide (connect | more information)The Foreign Law Guide is a comprehensive source for essential information on foreign law from nearly 200 jurisdictions. FORENSICnetBASE : LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE (connect | more information)Searchable database of essential forensic science and law enforcement reference texts. GATT digital library 1947-1994 (connect | more information)This site provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), an organization that promoted international commerce and the reduction of trade barriers among member states from 1947-1994. Over 59,000 public documents and 300 publications of the GATT are accessible from this site, a digital library created in a partnership between the Stanford University Libraries & Academic Information Resources (SULAIR) and the World Trade Organization (WTO). Globalization and labor standards : GALS bibliographic library (connect | more information)This bibliographic database contains abstracts of recent law journal articles exploring international labour standards in the global economy. Taken from English language law journals from around the world, GALS provides an alphabetical list of summarised articles, followed by citations categorised by subject heading. Current subject headings include: codes of conduct, child labor, NAFTA, WTO, ILO, women's rights, etc. The database can be browsed by subject, author, journal, or searched by keyword. Guide to the international sale of goods convention (connect | more information)"A comprehensive guide on the important contractual issues raised by the U.S. adoption of the U.N. Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. It covers the terms of the Convention, when it applies, what contracts are covered, and whether usages and practices make a difference. It reviews the rules of contract formation, offer and acceptance, conclusion of the contract, sale of goods, obligations of the seller, obligations of the buyer, passing of risk, anticipatory breach, damages, and avoidance." -- Information page. Halsbury's laws of Australia (connect | more information)This legal encyclopaedia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia organised by subject area and covering all nine jurisdictions. Statements of legal principles and propositions of substantive law are supported by references to primary authority (cases and legislation). See also: Laws of Australia Alternative off campus access HeinOnline (connect | more information)Provides searchable access to full text digitized legal journals, reviews and case law, predominantly published in North America. HKLII : Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)HKLII is developed and jointly operated by the University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law and the Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII). It provides free access to primary legal materials from Hong Kong (and some publicly available secondary materials). House of Commons parliamentary papers (connect | more information)HCPP online is a major source for information on 19th and 20th-century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. Includes all sessional papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-2003/04, including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. Monash University Library has access to the following collections: 19th century (1801-1900) and 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) IBFD (connect | more information)IBFD is the portal to high quality independent tax research, international tax information and tax education. ICCA yearbook commercial arbitration (connect | more information)The Yearbook Commercial Arbitration provides ... a direct link to comprehensive documentation and commentary on trends and new developments in the field of international arbitration ... [It] publishes arbitral awards, both institutional and ad hoc, new and amended rules of arbitration institutes and court decisions relating to the major multilateral arbitration conventions. Published under the auspices of the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA) with the assistance of the International Bureau of the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the Yearbook reports on current developments in the law and practice of commercial arbitration throughout the world.--Publisher description. ICL database & commentary (connect | more information)The ICL Database & Commentary aims to provide scholars, as well as practitioners, a starting point for legal research in the field of international criminal law. It is developed by the editor Mark Klamberg. Includes case law from the International Criminal Court and a commentary to the Rome Statute. ILOLEX : database of international labour standards (connect | more information)Trilingual database (English/French/Spanish) on international labour standards containing more than 75,000 full-text documents. It includes the ILO Constitution, ILO Conventions, international labor standards, human rights, employment policy, working conditions, industrial relations, occupational safety and health, and social security. Index to Canadian legal literature (connect | more information)ICLL is both a periodical index and a bibliography of Canadian secondary legal literature. In addition to articles, case comments and annotations for more than 200 Canadian legal and law-related periodicals, ICLL indexes monographs, individual essays from edited collections, federal and provincial government publications, and the publications of law faculties and legal research institutes and associations, including theses. Index to Common Law Festschriften (connect | more information)The Index to Common Law Festschriften is the culmination of a three-year project funded by the New Zealand Law Foundation and undertaken by University of Auckland Law School. There are over 270 common law Festschriften indexed on this database, amounting to over 4,500 chapter entries. In addition, there are more than a thousand entries of English language contributions to predominantly foreign language, non-common law Festschriften from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. Index to foreign legal periodicals (connect | more information)
Indexes articles as well as book reviews from more than 540 legal periodicals worldwide. It covers international law (public and private), comparative and foreign law, and municipal law, and includes materials in all languages. It does not cover articles about the legal systems of the United States, Great Britain, Canada and Australia. IFLP also analyses the contents of appoximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Melanges and congress reports each year.
Index to legal periodicals (connect | more information)Indexes legal journals, books, book reviews, yearbooks, institute and bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. It includes thorough coverage of American law journals and selective coverage of law journals from the other jurisdictions. Index to legal periodicals retrospective (connect | more information)A retrospective database indexing over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Cumulates citations from print editions of Index to legal periodicals published between 1908-1981. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered. INTAX : international taxation issues database (connect | more information)Index, produced by the Australian Taxation Office, to Australian and overseas journals dealing with international taxation issues. Coverage: 1990 to 2003. International encyclopaedia for labour law and industrial relations (connect | more information)This is the online version of the 36 -volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. It features: Country overviews of over 60 countries, English translations of the important labour and industrial relations laws of over 20 nations, and covers individual as well as collective labour relations. International encyclopaedia of laws (connect | more information)Kluwer Law International now brings a selection of their authoritative International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IEL) series online. The series is composed of comprehensive, up-to-date reference works on important disciplines in leading countries. The IEL series covers major fields of law with country-by-country monographs that describe how each national legal system governs the relevant field. National monographs are supplemented, where relevant, with international monographs which detail the workings of supranational organizations that affect the field of law in question, or offer an overview of the field from a comparative perspective. Eight titles are currently available online with more to follow. These are: IEL Civil Procedure, IEL Constitutional Law, IEL Contracts, IEL Energy Law, IEL Environmental Law, IEL Intellectual Property, IEL Labour Law, and IEL Social Security Law.-- Publisher website. International encyclopaedia of laws. Civil procedure (connect | more information)The Civil Procedure volumes of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws provide in-depth descriptions and analysis of numerous domestic systems, guiding lawyers of differing legal backgrounds through foreign proceedings with which they and their clients may be confronted. National monographs describe the main features of each country's judicial organization, the rules governing the jurisdiction of the courts, the actual court proceedings, the rules of evidence, the principles governing preliminary seizure and the enforcement of judgments, and some elements of national arbitration. In addition, a forthcoming EU monograph analyses the Regulation 44/2001, as well as the Conventions of Lugano and San Sebastian. An international monograph will deal with international multi-lateral treaties.--About this title page. International encyclopaedia of laws. Constitutional law (connect | more information)This set of volumes in the International Encyclopaedia of Laws presents a country-by-country survey of constitutional law throughout the world, and is also in the process of publishing, in one source, all of the constitutions of the world in English translations. Each national monograph includes detailed information of the country's political system, historical background, sources of constitutional law, form of government (outlining the legal status, the competence and the working of central state powers, etc.), state form and subdivisions of the state, component states and decentralized authorities, citizenship (especially nationality and the legal position of aliens), and specific problems such as foreign relations, taxing and spending power, emergency laws, the power of the military, and the constitutional relation between Church and State.--About this title page. International encyclopaedia of laws. Contracts (connect | more information)The Contracts subset of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws sheds light on "the fine print" in the world of contracts, helping ensure the viability (or probe the non-viability) of these detail-oriented instruments. Contracts encompass the national monographs of a wide variety of countries, written by experts from those countries. Each national monograph is divided into two parts: the first addresses the general principles at issue, and the second covers the specific types of contracts. The work also addresses international aspects of contract law.--About this title. International encyclopaedia of laws. Energy law (connect | more information)This subset of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws covers national and international energy law. Each national monograph contains a general introduction, a description of the country's energy legislation, an overview of the basic principles of energy law, the historical background, the role of governmental institutions, and the sources of energy law in that country's legal system. Each country's regulatory framework concerning electricity, gas, petrol and coal is fully set forth, with emphasis on the aspects of production, exploitation, transport, distribution, and consumption. Each monograph also deals with the interactions of energy law with environmental law, tax law and competition law. In addition, Energy Law includes international monographs covering international legislation and treaties and the energy law of the European Union.--About this title. International encyclopaedia of laws. Environmental law (connect | more information)This set in the International Encyclopaedia of Laws covers national and international environmental law. National monographs contain, besides a general introduction, a description of the country's environmental legislation, an overview of the basic principles of environmental law, the historical background, the role of governmental institutions, and the sources of environmental law. Other subjects covered for each country include pollution control legislation, nature and conservation management, zoning and land-use planning, liability questions, and judicial remedies. In addition, international monographs cover international legislation and treaties and the environmental legislation of the European Economic Community. International encyclopaedia of laws. Intellectual property (connect | more information)Intellectual Property provides an overview of all the pertinent information on intellectual property needed to gain a clear comprehension of the legislation and policy on the subject in different countries. This is the only publication in its field which analyses and describes theory and practice in a large number of countries. Information is also provided on all major and important international conventions and on international bodies like the EU and WIPO/OMPI. It follows the same comprehensive formula as the other volumes and subsets in the International Encyclopaedia of Laws and as such allows easy comparison between various countries. The monographs are regularly updated and provide effective insights into national and international systems.--About this title. International encyclopaedia of laws. Labour law (connect | more information)This is online version of the 38 volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. It features: English translations of the important labour and industrial relations laws of over 20 nations, covers individual as well as collective labour relations, offers factual information and practical insight into both the technical legal and day-to-day aspects of labour relations, covers developing trends in the relationship between management and labour, covers major international bodies such as The ILO, NAFTA, OECD and The EU, [and includes] Case Law of relevant international and regional jurisprudence with background notes.--About this title. International encyclopaedia of laws. Social security law (connect | more information)This set in the International Encyclopaedia of Laws provides profound information on the different social security schemes in the various countries. The basic ideas and mechanisms of each scheme are described in an easily comprehensible way. The legal mechanisms of the following areas of social protection are covered in each monograph: health care, employment injuries and occupational diseases, sickness benefits, pensions, unemployment and family benefits. Due to the fact that a similar structure of text is used for every country, the main differences between the various national social security systems are clearly underlined. Law enforcements, controls and appeals receive special attention. A group of international monographs explains the role of international organizations in setting norms for social security systems and in coordinating existing systems in cases involving migrant workers and others to whom more than one national scheme may be applicable. An international social security law codex provides the main international texts, in English, that regulate social security. The most relevant cases from the ECJ are also included.--About this title. International trade and U.S. antitrust law (connect | more information)Contains: 1. Analysis of when U.S. law applies to foreign firms doing business in the U.S. and to U.S. firms abroad. 2. Exploration of the effect of globalization on competition between domestic and foreign markets and discusses current U.S. statutes, regulations, and case laws. 3. Discussion of the regulation of dominant firms, extraterritoriality, antitrust problems in export transactions, transnational litigation issues, international transfer of technology and intellectual property issues, competition and fairly traded imports, and "unfair" international trade practices. -- Information page. Justis (connect | more information)Justis encompasses key United Kingdom and Irish case law series, a complete archive of United Kingdom statute law and European Union case law and legislation. It is an advanced online legal research tool providing full text access to sources. It combines huge archives with regular updates. Authoritative sources include: English Reports (1220 - 1873), CCH British Tax Cases (1875-present), CCH British VAT Cases, (1973-present) and CCH Special Commissioners' Decisions (1995-present). Kluwer competition law (connect | more information)Kluwer Competition Law is a fully searchable collection of primary source material, commentary, and analysis for anyone with an interest in EU competition law. Searching and browsing is quick and simple, as the database has been organised into the specific competition law topics of Antitrust, Mergers and State Aid. Each topic consists of an Overview, Legislation and Notices, Commission and Court Decisions and Analytical Materials, taken from KLI publications (journals, books and looseleafs) and explaining the reasoning behind the decisions and their implications. Liberalisation, the Internal Market, Services and Goods and Consumer Policy and the Environment are included as special sectors. The database also includes 29 country reports of National Legislation and of Analytical Materials, derived both from KLI publications and the e-Competitions bulletin. e-Competitions, published by the Institute of Competition Law, is a weekly bulletin published in English on national competition laws and regulations and on the implementation of EU competition law by member states. Kluwer EU IP cases (connect | more information)Kluwer EU IP Cases is a database of copyright and patent decisions from the EU and EPC jurisdictions, reported and summarized in English by correspondents located in each EU and EPC Member State, providing: Summaries of the decisions in English; English annotations; and Full texts of the decisions in their original language. Cases include landmark decisions on copyright and patent law since 1980, plus other relevant copyright and patent decisions since January 2007 from: The European Courts of Justice - all decisions; National courts of the EU and EPC Member States: all Supreme Court decisions and a selection of lower court decisions; and a selection of EPO Boards of Appeal decisions. Kluwer law online (connect | more information)Kluwer Law Online provides access to over 20 online journals in a variety of areas of law including: air and space law, arbitration, business/commercial law, company/corporate law, competition law, environmental law, European community law, intellectual property, international trade law, labour law and taxation. New improvements to the site have seen each journal being allocated its own home page and the browsing facility has been much enhanced. Access to some looseleaf publications is also available. KluwerArbitration (connect | more information)An international commercial arbitration database of primary and secondary materials, with full text access. Includes conventions, legislation, institutional rules, model clauses, case law and commentary from leading publications. Knowledge basket (connect | more information)Provides access to New Zealand law via databases such as: BRIEFCASE - indexes New Zealand case law since 1986; Bills Digest; LINX - the district law society libraries' index of judgments, texts, and journal articles; Refugee Law; and Waitangi Tribunal Reports. Provides access to the following databases - 1) BRIEFCASE, which indexes New Zealand case law since 1986, with references to commentary notes and full reports of cases, 2) BROOKERS, which provides searchable and browsable access to consolidated New Zealand statutes and Regulations, 3) GP legislative databases, which include NZ (unconsolidated) Regulations, Bills, Hansards etc., 4) LINX database, contains index references to Court of Appeal and High Court judgements and is the combined database of the Auckland, Wellington and Canterbury Dist. libraries, 5) Refugee Law, allows free searching of indexed decisions, 6) Waitangi Tribunal Reports, which provides access to Waitangi Tribunal Reports. Note that free access to NZ legislation is available at www.legislation.govt.nz Law handbook online (connect | more information)"The Law Handbook Online contains information on areas of the law that most often affect people in everyday life [in Victoria]. It is designed for the consumer who wants to be better informed about the law and more self-reliant in using it."-- Home page. Includes Law Handbook online services directory, a searchable database of all organisational contacts from the Law handbook, and a discussion forum. Law reform database (connect | more information)The LAW REFORM DATABASE has been under continuous development since 1988. This version (5.4) contains over 7000 records. Each record describes a discrete publication of one of the law reform agencies in Canada, the Commonwealth or the United States. Lawbook online. See: Legal online (connect | more information)
LawnB= Lo aen bi (connect | more information)LawnB Legal Information Service is an extensive collection of Korean legal materials online, and a portal service for all law-related issues. It indexes 50 categories such as statues, precedents, commentaries, administrative documents and statistics, academic articles, law journals, law-related news, etc. Laws of Australia (connect | more information)This legal encyclopaedia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia organised by subject area and covering all nine jurisdictions. Statements of legal principles and propositions of substantive law are supported by references to primary authority (cases and legislation). Legal classics (connect | more information)This subset of Hein Online is an image-based and fully searchable library collection. The library, which contains more than 300,000 pages, contains landmark legal works from the late 18th through the mid 20th centuries. It is based on the titles in "Bibliography of Early American Law" by Morris Cohen. In addition, titles from AALS Law Books Recommended for Libraries and early British and Commonwealth titles form part of the collection. It is expected that aproximately 500 new titles will be added to the collection annually. Legal online (connect | more information)Access is provided to selected databases such as Australian Commonwealth Law Reports, Federal Law Reports, Federal Court Reports, Australian Digest, Australian Legal Monthly Digest, The Laws of Australia and the Australian Case Citator. In case the above link is not working, please use this password for access. Requires IE 5 or higher. Legal scholarship network (connect | more information)A free database of over 35,000 abstracts and 18,000 working papers in law, economics, and finance, in 61 different subject areas, available on the Social Science Research Network site. Search for papers by author and title or abstract keywords. LegalTrac (connect | more information)A major bibliographic database that indexes and selectively abstracts articles from law reviews and, speciality law and bar association journals and legal newspapers on cases studies, government regulations, practice of law, statutes, and legal subjects such as taxation and international law. It also covers law related articles for approximately 1000 additional business and general interest titles. Some full text articles are included. Geographical coverage includes the U.S. Canada, U.K. and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. See also: Legal Resource Index on Lexis.com LexisNexis (connect | more information)The Monash subscription provides access to materials on administrative law, corporations, intellectual property, forms and precedents, and general legal research tools that include a dictionary, an encyclopaedia, case citator, statute annotators and current law developments. Decisions from the Commonwealth and State courts and England are included, as well as the full text of some Australian law journals. Unreported Judgments and Australian Law Reports and Australian Current Law updated daily. Most other resources updated monthly. Alternative access LexisNexis : total research system (connect | more information)LexisNexis is an international online legal research tool providing full-text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc. from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Australia, and many other jurisdictions around the world. (Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law.) Online help: In order to effectively use the system JavaScript and cookies must be enabled. Please see Minimum System Requirements if you are having problems using LexisNexis with IE6. Note: Individual passwords to customise the lexis.com interface are still available for Law Faculty and Business Law & Tax staff if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help. LexUM (connect | more information)LexUM is the University of Montreal's legal information technologies laboratory. LexUM's strategy is based on the advanced use of technology to improve access to law and justice. LeXUM provides free access to law resources including; Canadian law resources and Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII); Decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada and Statutes of Canada; International Law Resources including Juris International, Droit francophone, JuriBurkina; Conferences Proceedings; Canadian Citation Committee. LII : Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)Produced by the Cornell Law School, this comprehensive site provides free and easy access to a vast selection of legal information. Resources include recent and historic U.S. Supreme Court decisions, full-text access to every U.S. state statute and constitution, complete full-text of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and the U.S. Code, as well as bills pending in state legislatures. LII also offers a "spotlight section" which highlights specific Supreme Court decisions during the current term and also includes links to law cases recently in the news. Loislaw (connect | more information)Loislaw offers a wide range of United States legal content and supporting materials, including: up-to-date cases, statutes, rules and regulations, and other primary law for all 50 U.S. states and federal jurisdictions; expert-authored online treatise libraries, focused around practice areas, including Wigmore on evidence, Ginsberg and Martin on bankruptcy, and Price on estate planning; and extensive public records for individuals and corporations. making of modern law : legal treatises 1800-1926 (connect | more information)Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible. Malaysian GAAP, a practical guide to approved accounting standards commentary (connect | more information)Malaysian GAAP provides a complete view of financial reporting standards for non-private entities issued by the Malaysian Accounting Standards. The resource also comments on the IC Interpretations as well as covering the remaining International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) that have yet to be adopted by MASB.--Publisher description. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Max Planck encyclopedia of public international law (connect | more information)"This work represents a new edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law that was published between 1991 and 2001 under Professor Dr. Rudolf Bernhardt. The MPEPIL will be made available in electronic and print form by Oxford University Press from Summer 2008 ... Upon its completion, the MPEPIL will be an updated, comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law. Accordingly, the previous edition is not being revised. Rather, nearly all topics are being rewritten and many new topics included in order to capture the latest developments in international law."--Publisher description. McPherson's law of company liquidation (connect | more information)"Company liquidation is one of the most active areas in insolvency. The authors Michael Gronow and Ros Mason write from the perspective of guiding liquidators and those representing creditors and contributories through the processes of winding up: modes of winding up and applications for winding up by creditors, contributories and others; commencement and effects of winding up; duties, functions and status of liquidators; available assets and their distribution regime; investigations, examinations and prosecutions; termination of winding up and relevant private international law."--Thomson catalog. Media and Internet law and practice (connect | more information)"Media and Internet Law and Practice is the only service of its kind in Australia. It brings together the diverse sources of law for all forms of media, including the internet and on-line services .... the service covers emerging forms of media, including internet, datacasting and Pay TV, narrowcasting, as well as "traditional" media such as print, radio and television. Media, in all its forms, is rapidly changing, especially as we enter the "Information Age". The service is updated regularly, to keep abreast of current developments and to provide a focus on the legal and other challenges, presented by this rapid change."--Preface to revised ed. Modern contract of guarantee (connect | more information)"Provides users with a thorough knowledge of the law relating to guarantees, including a complete analysis of relevant case law. This knowledge enables: solicitors and barristers to minimise financial risk to their clients and fully prepare for litigation; banking and finance professionals to understand their legal obligations and duties to customers and third parties in order to minimise the risk of loan default and costly litigation."--Thomson catalog. MyiLibrary (connect | more information)MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database. Native title infoBase (connect | more information)The Native Title Infobase includes selected material commencing from 1839 to the present day and covers all aspects of native title. It gives reference to Australian material including journal articles, book chapters, books, conference papers, reports and press clippings. It also includes relevant material from other jurisdictions such as New Zealand, United States, Canada, Africa and Asia. NATLEX (connect | more information)Trilingual bibliographic database containing information on national laws on labour, social security and related human rights. Includes references to legal texts from about 180 countries and in more than forty languages. Each NATLEX record contains a detailed bibliographic description, an abstract, ILO Thesaurus descriptors and LABORLEX classification headings, and, when appropriate, links to other related records. NDLTD (connect | more information)Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo. NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository (connect | more information)The NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository provides a free and persistent point of access for working papers, reports, lecture series, workshop presentations, and other scholarship created by faculty at NELLCO member schools. The aim of the Repository is to improve dissemination and visibility of a variety of scholarly materials throughout the academic and legal research communities. New Zealand legislation (connect | more information)This website provides free public access to up-to-date unofficial versions of the following New Zealand legislation: Acts of Parliament; Regulations published in the Statutory Regulations series, and Imperial subordinate legislation in force in New Zealand; Bills (Government Bills, Members' Bills, Local Bills, and Private Bills); Supplementary Order Papers (SOPs); Amendment Acts and amendment Regulations from 1999 onwards; Acts repealed and Regulations revoked after 4 September 2007.--About this site page. NZLII : New Zealand Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)Free access to legal information in New Zealand, including cases & legislation, treaties, and journals. NZLII currently contains 18 databases. Onati International Institute for the Sociology of Law : bibliographic databases : online catalogues (connect | more information)Access is provided to two separate bibliographic databases specialising in the sociology of law and other related subjects such as the sociology of legal professions, family sociology, sociology of criminality and its control, police, prisons, administration of justice, human rights, marginalisation and public policy. The majority of documents are in English with others in Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, French, German, etc. Citations included cover books, series, journal articles and unpublished material. Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites. Oxford reports on international courts of general jurisdiction (connect | more information)Provides comprehensive coverage of decisions from the most important and general international courts, including coverage of all contentious and advisory cases from the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice. It will eventually include cases from other courts, such as the Permanent Court of Arbitration and International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea. ICGJ cases "are published with a short headnote detailing key information about the decision, rather than a full report. This headnote contains basic information about the case including dates, parties and judges, but also provides indicators as to the subjects and keywords applied to the case, the core issue(s) and any previous or subsequent stages." Oxford reports on international criminal law (connect | more information)"ICL focuses on decisions from a range of international criminal courts and tribunals, and at launch will cover decisions from the four main international criminal tribunals: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and Special Court for Sierra Leone. ICL also includes decisions from post-WWII military tribunals such as the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg and the follow-up trials held under Control Council Law No 10. ICL will cover all decisions from these courts which contain anything of jurisprudential importance. Interlocutory decisions which do not contain any point of law (whether that point is substantive, evidential or procedural) are excluded."-- Publisher description. Oxford reports on international human rights law (connect | more information)"IHRL covers international decisions on human rights from a variety of global and regional courts. The Human Rights Law Centre at Nottingham University has selected those cases which are most important for gaining an understanding of the rights and freedoms guaranteed under the European Convention on Human Rights. IHRL will provide a comprehensive coverage of the key issues determined by the European Commission and Court to date. Cases selected include all plenary and grand chamber judgments at the admissibility and merits stage of proceedings, as well as other decisions and judgments of significance for their contribution to the development of the case law of the European Convention.This module will include approximately 500 decisions from year 1961 to 2007, and thereafter 150 per year (out of 900-1000 decisions per year)."--Publisher description. Oxford reports on international investment claims (connect | more information)IIC aims to publish all publicly available awards and decisions arising out of international investment arbitrations, and related enforcement or review decisions from national courts. The collection at launch includes over 300 arbitral awards, decisions, and determinations issued under the auspices of bodies such as: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), ICC International Court of Arbitration, London Court of International Arbitration, Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce, Permanent Court of Arbitration [and the] Association of South East Asian Nations arbitral tribunal. The site also reports awards and decisions of ad hoc international arbitral tribunals, such as those dealing with claims presented under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) or under the arbitration rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL). Determinations on insurance contracts made by the US Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC) are also reported.--Publisher description. Oxford reports on international law (connect | more information)Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) is a new online service bringing together decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Integrating the full scope of international case law for the first time in an easily navigable online environment, ORIL draws upon the expertise of leading scholars and local experts to provide high quality, timely, reports and analysis. Database content is organized into modules comprising: International courts of general jurisdiction, International criminal law, International human rights law, and International law in domestic courts. All content is regularly updated. Oxford reports on international law in domestic courts (connect | more information)Contains domestic cases in international law from over 70 jurisdictions. Features expert commentary, full texts of judgments in their original language and translations of key passages of non-English judgments into English. Includes an archive of cases dating back to 2000, with over 150 new cases added each year. Pacific Islands Treaty Series (connect | more information)The Pacific Islands Treaty Series (PITS) focuses on pacific regional and international treaties that affect pacific island countries. PITS aims to be a comprehensive treaty database for the Pacific Islands region (21 Pacific countries and territories) publishing bilateral and multilateral treaties which Pacific Island states have entered into amongst themselves, as well as with nations and organisations external to the region. PacLII : Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)The Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII) is produced from data developed and published by the University of the South Pacific School of Law with assistance from the Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII). It provides free access to legal materials from the Pacific Islands. ParlInfo search (connect | more information)"ParlInfo search enables everyone to search and obtain Australian Parliamentary information resources including Hansards, Bills, Senate Journals, Votes and Proceedings, Notice Papers, Committee reports, Parliamentary Handbook, newspaper clippings, media, publications and much more. It will also search for information located on the Australian Parliament website."--Home page. Patent disputes : litigation forms and analysis (connect | more information)"Full text of the loose-leaf publication entitled PATENT DISPUTES: LITIGATION FORMS AND ANALYSIS, authored by Gregory J. Battersby and Charles W. Grimes, and published by Aspen Publishers, Inc., a Wolters Kluwer business, and includes over 60 full-length agreements - with accompanying checklists and commentary - covering virtually every area of patent litigation in federal courts and before other administrative bodies." -- Information page. Patterns of global terrorism 1985-2005 (connect | more information)"A comprehensive reference--designed for military, government, and security professionals as well as students of politics, international relations, history, public policy, homeland security, foreign policy, emergency management, and military science--that collates the U.S. Department of State reports on terrorism, Patterns of Global Terrorism, with additional analytical and statistical material"--Provided by publisher. Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number. PngInLaw (connect | more information)pngInLaw is a full-text database of Papua New Guinea legal information comprising: current, consolidated and historical legislation; case law from the National, Supreme and other superior courts; citators; and, treaties. Updated quarterly with interim updates via the NiuMedia Pacific website. Off campus: Not available If a pop-up message appears, click OK and wait until the link is established. View detailed instructions for further help. Principles of the law of trusts (connect | more information)"This highly respected service is a "one-stop shop" paying detailed attention to the underlying general principles and the impact of recent developments in trust law. It also offers a general and comparative view of trusts legislation in all Australian jurisdictions and assists in interpreting the meaning of comparative Acts in the local jurisdiction."--Thomson catalog. Refworld : the leader in refugee decision support (connect | more information)RefWorld is a full-text database of refugee information comprising Country of Origin Information (COI) and Legal Information, including international instruments, national legislation, and national and international case law. Other areas of UNHCR Online provide access to statements of the United Nations High Commissioners for Refugees from 1951; UNHCR information and executive committee documents; UNHCR policy documents and guidelines; and, new stories and briefing notes. ResearchNow : a bepress portal (connect | more information)ResearchNow is a database of scholarly information drawing its content from several primary sources: the roster of peer-reviewed, Berkeley Electronic Press journals, all working papers, preprints and other ¿¿¿grey literature¿¿¿ content from institutional repositories hosted by bepress that have opted for inclusion, as well as subject-matter repository materials from the bepress Legal Repository and COBRA: Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive. SafLII : Southern African Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)SafLII provides free access to legal information in Southern Africa. A joint project of the University of the Witswatersrand Law School and AustLII. SNIPER (connect | more information)A bibliographic database, produced by The Library at IP Australia, of Australian and overseas journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. Solution finder : corporations law (connect | more information)CCH solution finder corporations law is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian corporations law information. Information in topic areas such as regulation, commentary, ASIC rulings, newsletter articles, cases, forms and many others, are covered by this valuable information gateway. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : human resources (connect | more information)CCH Human Resources Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of human resources information. Enables searching across all the Australian legislation, cases, commentary, news and articles, checklists and benchmark surveys regarding issues relating to termination and redundancy, leave and holidays, managing people, superannuation and employee benefits, etc. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : industrial relations (connect | more information)CCH Industrial Relations Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of industrial relations information. Allows searching across CCH's extensive industrial law library, including legislation, cases, commentary, news and articles regarding issues relating to termination and redundancy, leave and holidays, superannuation and employee benefits as well as many others at a topic level. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : OHS (connect | more information)CCH OHS Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of occupational health and safety information. Enables searching across all the Australian legislation, cases, commentary, best practice and news regarding issues on OHS obligations, workers compensation, risk management, incident notification, emergency management, psychological risks, recordkeeping, rehabilitation, training, and consultation requirements. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : superannuation (connect | more information)CCH solution finder superannuation is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian superannuation information. Allows searching across the whole range of superannuation taxation or superannuation regulation or compliance issues, such as: CCH's expert superannuation taxation and regulation commentary, all relevant Acts, Regulations and pending legislation, APRA, ASIC and ATO circulars and releases, all tax and superannuation cases, including all Superannuation Complaints Tribunal determinations, and the very latest superannuation news and articles. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : tax (connect | more information)CCH solution finder tax is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian taxation information. Provides ability to search simultaneously across CCH's Australian Federal Tax Reporter, Premium Master Tax Guide, Tax Navigator for Business, Capital Gains Tax Planner, GST Guide, Superannuation Law and Practice, FBT Guide for Employers, International Tax Agreements, as well as news and key source materials. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : trade practices (connect | more information)CCH solution finder trade practices is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian trade practices information. Covers the breadth and depth of the Trade Practices Act, Sales and Fair Trading legislation, Consumer Credit codes as well as related case law and compliance procedures. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Sound education in Victorian law (connect | more information)Sound Education in Victorian Law is a monthly audio update service of all the latest in Victorian law news, case law and legislation. Subscriber First website also contains the vast library of technical papers on which [audio] programs are based, making it a great research tool. -- publisher's product description. Tax and accounting online (connect | more information)"With over 100 individually available tax, accounting, HR, IR and payroll services and a suite of cost effective online packages, Tax and Accounting Online gives you the flexibility to build a bespoke library to suit your exact requirements ... As well as guidance across tax, accounting, superannuation, bankruptcy, compliance, environment and employment there are forms, templates, examples, checklists and calculators to assist with compliance tasks integrated throughout. You can now also access 12 ATO legal databases from within the site with direct links to ATOIDs."--Publisher description. TAXABS : Australian taxation abstracts database (connect | more information)Indexes and abstracts technical information on all aspects of taxation. Coverage: 1992 to 2003. TaxPoint. See: Tax and accounting online (connect | more information)
TransLex (connect | more information)TransLex can be used in different ways. Search the entire website or browse through any of the four Sections of TransLex. Sections of TransLex are : Principles, Bibliography, Materials or Links. The TransLex-Principles contain more than 120 principles and rules of transnational law, the New Lex Mercatoria. Translex-Biblio is a selected collection of bibliographic references on transnational law organized in alphabetical order. TransLex-Materials are a collection of domestic statutes, international conventions, model laws, restatements and other soft-law instruments which are of relevance for anybody doing research in transnational law and international business law. The TransLex-Links are a selected collection of links to sites which are relevant for anybody doing research in transnational law and international business law. TSO official-documents (connect | more information)Official Documents is the official reference facility for Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers, plus links to other document repositories. United Nations official documents : ODS (connect | more information)ODS Online is a full-text database of parliamentary documents and official records of the United Nations available in the official languages of the UN (English, Spanish and French). Includes General Assembly, Security Council, and other Council resolutions from 1946, all UN parliamentary documents from 1992 and various UN daily journals and lists of documents. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information. United Nations treaty collection= Collection des traites des Nations unies (connect | more information)Includes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and, those formerly deposited with the League of Nations, their latest status and a link to the full texts. Also includes bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat, detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s); and recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published. Unreported judgments (connect | more information)Unreported Judgments offers a comprehensive service of unreported judgments. Sourced from the High Court, Federal Court, Federal Magistrates Court, Industrial Relations Court, Family Court and State Supreme Courts, Unreported Judgment offers subscribers a regularly updated infobase, with new cases being added daily. Victorian courts (connect | more information)Extensive coverage of the essential legislation, practice materials, case law and commentary that practitioners require [for Victorian Courts]. Legislative change and judicial activity in Victoria are constantly increasing and the updating programme of the service must keep pace with these changes to ensure quality and timeliness of its content. Coverage is across all jurisdictions and at all levels - from the Magistrates Court to the County and Supreme Courts for both civil and criminal matters. -- Database provider description. Victorian government publications index (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes all Victorian state and local government publications that have been received and/or processed in the State Library of Victoria since 1987. Publications covered include books, reports, new serials, annual reports, microfiche, microfilm, maps, local laws, ephemera, CD-ROMS, videos, sound cassettes, Internet publications and databases, ministerial statements and notification of administrative changes (including the establishment and abolition of agencies). Victorian reports (connect | more information)
West's general digest (connect | more information)A digest of all current decisions of the American courts as reported in the National reporter system and other standard reports. Westlaw.Australia (connect | more information)Provides access to Australian and international sources of legal information. Australian information includes: Cases, Law Reports, Unreported Judgments, Commonwealth Legislation, Commonwealth Regulations, Corporations Law, Financial Services Law, Regulation and Compliance (APRA, ASIC, ASX, SFE, AUSTRAC, FICS, Treasury), News Sources (AFR, BRW, SMH, Dow Jones, APP News, Reuters etc) and Codes of Practice and Standards. Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law. Online help: Alternative access to Westlaw is available if the link above does not work. Note: Individual passwords to customise the Westlaw interface are available for Law Faculty staff and Law HDR students if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help. WorkplaceInfo (connect | more information)News and information on human resources and industrial relations in Australia. Note: This database is restricted to academic staff and students only World trade online (connect | more information)U.S. database providing trade-related news and information from around the world and from the World Trade Organisation (WTO), with links to full text documents. World trials (connect | more information)In addition to trial transcripts, HeinOnline's World Trials Collection also includes monographs that analyze and debate famous trials, as well as biographies of some of the greatest trial lawyers in history. WorldLII : World Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)The World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility. It provides a single search facility for databases located on the following Legal Information Institutes: AustLII; BAILII; CanLII; HKLII; LII (Cornell); and PacLII. WorldLII also includes as part of this searchable collection its own databases not found on other LIIs. These include databases of decisions of international Courts and Tribunals, databases from a number of Asian countries, and databases from South Africa (provided by Wits Law School). Over 270 databases from 48 jurisdictions in 20 countries are included in the initial release of WorldLII. Databases of case-law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals, and other materials are included. WorldTradeLaw.net : the online source for world trade law. (connect | more information)Searchable full text of GATT/WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports; WTO arbitration awards and decisions; Uruguay Round agreements; Tokyo Round agreements; Doha decisions/declarations; NAFTA Chapter 20 Panel reports; NAFTA and related legal instruments; Dispute settlement commentaries (DSCs) for awards and decision, and primary source documents related to international trade law.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|