Skip to content | Change text size

Language studies

Annee philologique (connect | more information)

A database published by the Socieżżteżż Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of Eżżric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association. Contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Multiple possibilities for searching are available: by modern authors, by full text, by ancient authors and texts, by subjects and disciplines through a multilevel index showing the different levels of classification by word(s) in the title, by publisher, by collection or by periodical.

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Chicago manual of style online (connect | more information)

    The tools presented here by the University of Chicago Press will be of use to writers, editors, and publishers at other organizations who are looking for models for procedure and content. Tools include: Examples of Chicago-Style documentation, manuscript preparation, sample correspondence, proofreading, and process charts. This site also incorporates the Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style, and queries return results that are distinguishable from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    International bibliography of sign language (connect | more information)

    Bibliography of books and articles focusing on sign language research, but also including material on deaf culture, sign language interpreting, and education of the deaf. Includes some abstracts.

    Macquarie dictionary : Australia's national dictionary online (connect | more information)

    The Macquarie dictionary has been online since 2003 and is constantly updated with new words as they enter the Australian language. Searching may be confined to the Macquarie dictionary only, or combined with the thesaurus.

  • Includes full text
  • Macquarie thesaurus (connect | more information)

    The first thesaurus ever written to be based on the distinctly Australian use of English. It can be searched alone, or simultaneously with the Macquarie dictionary online.

  • Includes full text
  • MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
    Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Translation studies bibliography (connect | more information)

    Translation Studies Bibliography (TSB) is an annotated bibliography of the field of translation and interpreting studies. Translation and interpreting studies comprises the discipline dealing with transfer and mediation, containing aspects of intra- and interlingual translation, intercultural communication, adaptation, interpreting, localization, multimedia translation, language mediation, terminology and documentation. TSB includes journal articles, monographs, (articles from) collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases