| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
JournalismKey resourcesAPA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Crikey : [website] (connect | more information)The Crikey website presents a selection of Crikey's original content along with links to stories from all corners of the web, and includes "independent news, blogs and commentary on politics, media, business, the environment and life." The website also has Crikey Daily Mail, which is sent out daily to subscribers. This email edition of 25 or more original stories is crammed with news, analysis, insider gossip, reviews and prescient tips about politics, media, business, the law, culture and national and international affairs. The Monash access does not include Daily Mail, but all Crikey Daily Mail articles are also posted on the website, which is accessible by password to Monash library users. (Once in the site, click on the Login link at the top of the home page to access Daily Mail, and enter the password and email address from the Monash login page) Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
Other resourcesArts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) (connect | more information)Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport. Australian local government guide (connect | more information)Provides access to over 800 profiles of local councils and municipal authorities throughout Australia. Each entry includes contact information for councillors and senior officers, as well as information about local population, industry, expenditure, services and tourist features. Downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available. Details in each list include: contact, title, address, website address and e-mail address. Australian newspapers : historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954 (connect | more information)The Australian Newspapers Beta service allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains 70,000 digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 1954 and coverage is expanding weekly. The titles in the ANDP (as at July 31, 2008) include: Argus (Melbourne), Brisbane courier, Canberra times, Courier-mail (Brisbane), Hobart town gazette and southern reporter, Hobart town gazette and Van Diemen's land advertiser, Maitland mercury & Hunter River general advertiser, Mercury (Hobart), Perth gazette and Western Australian journal, South Australian advertiser and Sydney gazette and New South Wales advertiser. BBC College of Journalism (connect | more information)"The BBC College of Journalism website includes hundreds of videos, audio clips, discussion pages, interactive modules, and text pages covering every aspect of TV, radio, and online journalism. Much of the material features BBC TV reporters and hosts known around the world. The subjects covered range from craft skills (e.e. writing or directing video) to subject briefings on critical events and topics such as climate change and the conflict in the Middle East, to the many ethical issues now facing journalists. The site is continuously updated, its coverage driven by the practical needs of BBC journalists around the world, as well as current events in the news."--Oxford University Press. Chicago manual of style online (connect | more information)The tools presented here by the University of Chicago Press will be of use to writers, editors, and publishers at other organizations who are looking for models for procedure and content. Tools include: Examples of Chicago-Style documentation, manuscript preparation, sample correspondence, proofreading, and process charts. This site also incorporates the Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style, and queries return results that are distinguishable from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A. Communication & mass media complete (connect | more information)Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles. Current contents connect (connect | more information)Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these. Directory of Australian associations live (connect | more information)Provides access to more than 5,500 entries of national and state associations, foundations, marketing bodies, institutes and committees. Also included are international associations with branches in Australia. Not included in this directory are most student organisations, local community and rate payer associations, social clubs, local church groups, very small labour unions and other similar groups. Hundreds of downloadable ready-made lists in MS Excel format are available with entries including fax numbers, e-mail addresses and membership figures. Encyclopedia of communication and information (connect | more information)
Illustrated London news historical archive, 1842-2003 (connect | more information)"The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations." Informaworld : journals. See: Taylor & Francis online (connect | more information)
Media guide live! (connect | more information)Provides access to more than 25,000 entries of Australia's leading media outlets, encompassing television and radio stations, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and press agencies. News features for up-to-date information on the latest media changes and statistics are also included. Directory entries include: interactive internet and e-mail links, telephone and fax numbers, executive staff, advertising rates, etc. Hundreds of downloadable ready-made lists in MS Excel format are available with entries including fax numbers, e-mail addresses and circulation figures. ProQuest dissertations & theses : full text (connect | more information)"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text ... includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."--Publisher description. ProQuest historical newspapers. The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003) (connect | more information)The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all tites of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ). ProQuest historical newspapers. The Washington Post (1877-1994) (connect | more information)The Washington Post (1877-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Individual issues can be selected or the complete range can be searched by subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. An abstract is provided for each article cited in the database. ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2001) (connect | more information)The Times of India (1838-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1839-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current). Social sciences citation index (SSCI) (connect | more information)The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes over 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Taylor & Francis online (connect | more information)Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which includes: over 16,000 journal titles from the publishers Psychology Press, Routledge, and Taylor & Francis; reference works (Taylor & Francis encyclopedias); a database, Routledge ERA (Educational Research Abstracts Online), and subdatabases of ERA, Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts, Routledge ABES and Ergonomics Abstracts; ebooks; and a link to CRCnetBASE. Note: not all content is accessible to Monash University Library users. Note: Informaworld has moved to a new plaform - Taylor & Francis Online. 28.06.2011 TVNews (connect | more information)TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries. Who's who in Australia (connect | more information)Provides access to over 13,000 biographical entries of notable people in Australia. Every leader in every field is included and encompass writers, sports stars, media identities, and politicians. Entries include: occupation, career, clubs, recreations, achievements, marriage, workplace, awards, committees, voluntary positions, life ethic, education, publications, etc.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors and alumni. |
|