Skip to content | Change text size

Information management

Key resources

Academic research library (connect | more information)

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ACM digital library (connect | more information)

    Covers full text journals and proceedings from the Association since the 1950's. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations

  • Includes full text
  • Australian library & information science abstracts : ALISA (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from Australian published and unpublished material on library and information science, children's literature and archives. Completed publication in 2005.

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    LISA : library and information science abstracts (connect | more information)

    This indexing and abstracting database provides access to over 440 library and information science periodicals from more than 68 countries. Major areas of coverage include: artificial intelligence, computer science applications, data warehousing, knowledge management, archives, management, technology, library use and users, medical information, online information retrieval, publishing and booksellers, records management, telecommunications, technical services, and the internet. Also includes book reviews.

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text

  • To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     


    Other resources

    Access to archival databases (AAD) (connect | more information)

    "The Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System gives you online access to electronic records that are highly structured, such as in databases. The initial release of AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records, which include over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates. Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats ... AAD allows you to search for and retrieve specific records from selected series and data files over the Internet." Includes a link to search descriptions of NARA's non-electronic records through NARA's online catalogue, ARC.

    APAIS thesaurus (connect | more information)

    The APAIS thesaurus lists the subject terms used to index articles for APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service, a subject guide to literature in the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS thesaurus was introduced in 1978 when APAIS became available as an online database and was first published by the National Library of Australia in 1980 to facilitate online searching.

    Archives and records management literature in Australia and New Zealand : ARLIT (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexed articles from published material on archives administration and records management in Australia and New Zealand. Coverage: 1940-2000.

    Australian and New Zealand Books in Print : ANZBiP-Books in Print (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database provides booksellers and librarians with information about Australian and New Zealand books, series of books, and imprints. Information about publishers is listed in a separate file titled ANZBiP-Publishers.

    Australian and New Zealand Books in Print, Publishers : ANZBiP-Publishers (connect | more information)

    This database provides booksellers and librarians with directory information about Australian and New Zealand publishers. Information about books, series of books, and imprints are listed in a separate file titled ANZBiP-Books in Print.

    CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)

    eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of communities of practice in information and knowledge management (connect | more information)

    "This encyclopedia will give readers insight on how other organizations have tackled the necessary means of sharing knowledge across communities and functions"--Provided by publisher.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of library and information science (connect | more information)

    Online version of the print encyclopedia. Features extensive and up-to-date coverage of topics in librarianship and related fields.

  • Includes full text
  • English short title catalogue (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic records for over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly but not exclusively in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Engraved music, maps, and prints are excluded, although atlases and texts which are wholly engraved do appear in ESTC. Some other categories of material are excluded, for example trade cards, playbills and playing cards. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).

  • Includes full text
  • Global books in print (connect | more information)

    Provides online searching of the American, Canadian and British Books in print family of databases simultaneously. Complete bibliographical citations of English-language books, audiobooks and videos are included, as well as selected reviews, information on award winners and bestsellers. Access to a comprehensive database of over 165,000 publishers, distributors, wholesalers and book agents is also available.

    Health and psychosocial instruments (connect | more information)

    Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the fields of health, psychology, psychosocial sciences, organisational behaviour and library and information science. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and tests.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    ILRS (connect | more information)

    The Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS), is the primary source of information on interlibrary loan and document delivery services. Entries within the Directory include the name, NUC symbol, address and contact details for the interlibrary lending or document delivery service as well as information about interlibrary loan charges and policies. The current and most comprehensive version of the ILRS Directory is available from the National Library website at: http://www.nla.gov.au/ilrs/

    Imagining the Internet : a history and forecast (connect | more information)

    A multi-section resource containing thousands of pages. It exposes future possibilities while simultaneously providing a look back at the past. This resource includes special explanatory sections on the future and past development of communications networks. It includes videos and audio recordings that reveal the ideas of cutting-edge thinkers such as Douglas Engelbart and Vernor Vinge as they discuss the future. It has informative areas targeted to benefit children under 12 (KidZone), and to help teachers of elementary, middle school, high school and college students use the site to educate .The site shares a look back at what people were saying in the 1990s during the "awe" stage of the development of the internet, and it records a legacy of predictive statements as they are made.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • InfoSci-Books (connect | more information)

    Database consists of multi-volume book collections covering 12 key areas of information science and technology. Users may access every book chapter published by IGI Global from 2000 onwards.

    InfoSci-Cases (connect | more information)

    "InfoSci-Cases (formerly IGI Teaching Case Collection) offers electronic access to all information technology teaching cases published by IGI Global in one easy-to-use online format. InfoSci-Cases is an extensive, academic, online full-text database which provides ... access to hundreds of teaching cases from IGI Global books and journals...Currently there are over 400 teaching cases available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present time and new cases are consistently added each quarter."--Overview page.

    InfoSci-Journals (connect | more information)

    Provides access to hundreds of journal articles from IGI Global's collection of over 20 journals. Currently there are over 1,000 research articles available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present.

  • Includes full text
  • Internet archive (connect | more information)

    "The Internet Archive is a ... non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections."--About the Internet Archive. Includes Wayback Machine for viewing web pages removed from the Internet, archives of images, sound files, music, texts.

    Internet library for librarians (connect | more information)

    Internet Library for Librarians provides links to more than 3,000 resources. All the resources are recommended, selected, and reviewed by librarians. Each entry has a full description of the goals and /or scope of the resource, as well as the contact information if provided.

  • Includes full text
  • Libraries Australia search [subscription service] (connect | more information)

    Libraries Australia is the search interface for Kinetica, an Internet-based service provided by the National Library of Australia. The service acts as a single gateway to a number of Australian and international databases which can be searched simultaneously. Specific databases include: National Bibliographic Database (over 13 million records for resources held in Australian libraries), Research Libraries Group Union Catalogue (over 138 million records for resources held in U.S. libraries), and Te Puna (records of resources held in New Zealand libraries), Australian Chinese Japanese Korean Database (1.44 million records), and Kinetica Authorities (1.6 million authority records). Links to resources include: Find a Library, Ask a Librarian, Australian Literature, Australian Law, Australian History, Australian Family History, Australian Science & Technology, Australian Government, Australian Statistics and Recent Australian Publications.

    Libraries Australia [free service] (connect | more information)

    The Libraries Australia free service is a version of Libraries Australia containing a subset of the ANBD and restricted functionality. It contains only ANBD records which have at least one holding or contain the Australian content indicator and ANBD and PictureAustralia as searchable databases. Features include the simple search interface, the ability to print and email records as text, access to the brief and full view of records, the ability to get items online, from libraries, Copies Direct and online booksellers and the ability to search for contact details for Australian libraries.

    Library, information science & technology abstracts (connect | more information)

    Database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.

    PublicADMINISTRATIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Covers such topics as: business information systems, customer relationship management (CRM), facilities management, finance and investing, healthcare management, human resources and training, library and information science, project management, quality and standards, security management and supply chain management (SCM).

  • Includes full text
  • Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (connect | more information)

    RAAM provides researchers with a convenient, centralised register of locations for primary research material. It does not provide detailed descriptions of the collections themselves; rather, it alerts researchers to the existence of collections and enables them to pursue further enquiries about the material, either online or through direct contact with repositories.

    Scholarly communication toolkit (connect | more information)

    Provides an educational resource, [offering] librarians a central hub for background information about scholarly publishing, journal economics, digital repositories, authors' rights, and other issues in the realm of scholarly communication. Offers tools and practical resources, [including] a collection of tested and replicable tools for talking with faculty, administrators, students, and other campus stakeholders about the issues. These tools include handouts, talking points, presentations, videos, and a glossary, all designed to help librarians articulate a clear and thoughtful message about the changes needed in our scholarly communication system. [Includes] a repository [to] encourage sharing and reusing content.--About the Toolkit webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • Serials in Australian libraries : SIAL (connect | more information)

    Provides location details of serials in Australian libraries. Also available is a companion database - Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS). The main sequence of the ILRS directory is arranged by NUC symbol, as displayed in the holdings statement of records in SIAL.

    Ulrichsweb.com (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database providing detailed and comprehensive information on serials published worldwide, covering all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly, are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. The web version contains several new searchable and browseable indexes, such as language and frequency, that are not available on either the CD or the print version. In addition users can link to related serials for alternate titles and related media titles, as well as other relevant links and e-mail addresses.

    Victorian government publications index (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes all Victorian state and local government publications that have been received and/or processed in the State Library of Victoria since 1987. Publications covered include books, reports, new serials, annual reports, microfiche, microfilm, maps, local laws, ephemera, CD-ROMS, videos, sound cassettes, Internet publications and databases, ministerial statements and notification of administrative changes (including the establishment and abolition of agencies).

    WorldCat (connect | more information)

    The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. It describes: books; computer data files; computer programs; films and slides; journals; magazines; manuscripts; maps; musical scores; newspapers; sound recordings; videotapes; CDs; CD-ROMs, etc. It does not include individual articles, stories in journals, newspapers or book chapters. Covers thousands of subjects and includes material in 400 languages, dating from as early as before 1000 B.C.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases