Skip to content | Change text size

Engineering

Key resources

Compendex (connect | more information)

Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

Engineering village (connect | more information)

This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • IEEE Xplore (connect | more information)

    IEEE Xplore is a full text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering. It provides access to IEEE transactions, more than 120 journal titles, 600 conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards. Updated weekly, it also provides an email table of contents alerting service. IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and IEE (The Institution of Electrical Engineers) are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    Academic earth (connect | more information)

    The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

    AccessEngineering (connect | more information)

    AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to the engineering collection in the following subject areas: Biomedical - Chemical - Civil - Communications - Construction - Electrical - Energy - Environmental - Green/Sustainable - Industrial - Material Science - Mechanical - Nanotechnology - Optical. In addition, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering is embedded on all search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • ADT : Australasian Digital Theses Program (connect | more information)

    ADT is a project dedicated to establishing a distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by postgraduate research students at Australian universities. The theses of member institutions are digitised and made available as part of the deposit process. A selected number of existing theses which are frequently requested are also digitised. Users may search the database or browse the theses by institution. The retrieval is enhanced by the inclusion of metadata tags in the documents.

  • Includes full text
  • ASM materials information : ASM handbooks online (connect | more information)

    ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Car design news (connect | more information)

    Car Design News is an online magazine for automotive design industry professionals, transportation design students and design enthusiasts worldwide. Updated daily, Car Design News gives a global overview of the latest automotive design news, in-depth coverage of major autoshows and student design exhibitions, as well as design reviews by industry professionals, and feature articles covering the design process behind new concept and production vehicles.

  • Includes full text
  • CivilEngineeringnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A database of over 122 full text civil engineering handbooks and reference titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Conference papers index (connect | more information)

    This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: agriculture; biochemistry; chemistry; chemical engineering; forestry; biology; environmental science; soil science; biotechnology; and, clinical medicine.

    Conference proceedings citation index. Science (CPCI-S) : 1990-present. (connect | more information)

    The conference proceedings citation database include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in the discipline of science, covering: Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Medicine and Physics. The database allow you to track emerging ideas and new research before the material appears in the journal literature. Part of the ISI Web of Science, the database can be cross-searched with the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.

    Corrosion handbook (connect | more information)

    "The DECHEMA Corrosion Handbook ... covers corrosion data and the chemical resistance of all technically important metallic, non-metallic, inorganic and organic materials in contact with aggressive media. Furthermore, it describes methods of corrosion protection and prevention. This makes it the prime information source worldwide for the selection of materials for equipment in which corrosive media are handled or processed."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Derwent innovations index (connect | more information)

    Comprehensive database of international patent information, with over 20 million patents worldwide from 1963. Covers: chemical, electronic and electrical engineering, and mechanical engineering.

    Directory of open access journals : DOAJ (connect | more information)

    Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Ei Patents (connect | more information)

    The patents databases on Engineering Village 2 include US and European patents grants and applications covering a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Currently, there are over 10 million patents that are being offered. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) offers access to its full text patent database. Full text patents are available from 1790 to date , and European patents from 1978 with weekly updates. Full text links will route you to the USPTO or European Patent Office web site where you can download images and view the full text of the patent selected.

  • Includes full text
  • ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Up to 226 handbooks and reference titles are available for searching or browsing in the area of electrical engineering and related disciplines.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of statistics in quality and reliability (connect | more information)

    In today's climate of intense industrial competition, certification and qualification are increasingly important. Statistical techniques in quality engineering play a vital role in these processes ... [This reference work] offers a vital knowledge source to support the development and implementation of statistical tools. It provides in-depth coverage of a wide variety of topics, including Six Sigma, Data Mining, Process Capability and Measurement Systems Analysis.-- Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Energy citations database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database contains citations and abstracts, and selected full text documents of energy related scientific and technical information publicly available from the United States Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography and computer science are covered. Citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations and patents are included.

  • Includes full text
  • ENGINE : Australian engineering database (connect | more information)

    ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. It covers all branches of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, geotechnical, ocean and military.

    ENGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    ENGnetBASE is a database containing the full-text of all engineering handbooks published by CRC Press in electronic format. The titles cover a wide range of engineering disciplines, as well as some computer science and physical science areas.

  • Includes full text
  • ENVIROnetBASE (connect | more information)

    ENVIROnetBASE provides access to over 100 full text handbooks and manuals covering all aspects of environmental science published by CRC Press. Publications can be browsed or searched.

  • Includes full text
  • ERGONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database providing information involving all aspects of human productivity and comfort. Categories include cognitive engineering and decision, communications, human performance modeling, product design, safety, and work design.

  • Includes full text
  • Essential science indicators (connect | more information)

    Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is a resource that enables researchers to conduct ongoing, quantitative analyses of research performance and track trends in science. Covering a multidisciplinary selection of 11,000+ journals from around the world, this in-depth analytical tool offers data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases. Available as a ten-year rolling file, ESI covers 10 million articles in 22 specific fields of research, and is updated every two months. There are also links to Web of Science¿¿ where more detailed information on papers can be found. -- Thomson products information page.

    EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • Green Building Council of Australia (connect | more information)

    Website of the Green Building Council of Australia. The Green Building Council of Australia's mission is to define and develop a sustainable property industry in Australia and to drive the adoption of green building practices through market-based solutions. Site includes information about the council, news, resources, events and advocacy, education and courses, and podcasts and audio/video presentations from various prominent speakers in the area.

  • Includes full text
  • Handbook of heterogeneous catalysis (connect | more information)

    With almost 200 expert articles in 8 parts, Handbook of Heterogenous Catalysis provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. [Covers] all aspects of the subject, from the physico-chemical fundamentals to large-scale industrial applications.

  • Includes full text
  • Handbook of magnetism and advanced magnetic materials (connect | more information)

    Provides a state-of-the-art, comprehensive overview of our current understanding of the fundamental properties of magnetically ordered materials, and their use in a wide range of sophisticated applications.

  • Includes full text
  • Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : engineering collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Engineering Collectio provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia. It covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas.

  • Includes full text
  • INSPEC (connect | more information)

    Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.

    Institution of Civil Engineers' virtual library (connect | more information)

    Large repository of over 20,000 full text civil engineering papers. Includes searchable archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present. 26 civil engineering journals are indexed.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • ISIHighlyCited.com (connect | more information)

    Tool to identify the most highly cited scientific researchers in the life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and engineering who have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. Contains biographical information and listing of publications for each researcher. The bibliography is enhanced by links to the full bibliographic citations with selected abstracts and cited references indexed in the ISI Web of Science. The database can be searched by name, subject category, country, or institutional affiliation.

    Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work on chemical technology. Subject areas include chemical reactions, combinatorial synthesis and technology, environmental protection, industrial safety, pharmaceuticals, processes and process engineering and much more. Users can search by key words, author, Chemical Abstract Registry Numbers, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text

  • List of full text titles available

    Lyell collection (connect | more information)

    Collection of earth science literature; includes the Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Society's Memoir series, Special publications series, and the Engineering geology special publications series. Includes 14,000+ peer-reviewed articles.

  • Includes full text
  • MAK collection for occupational health and safety (connect | more information)

    Comprehensive and authoritative information for occupational health and safety professionals and researchers is provided here. This includes both the toxicological substantiation of threshold values for chemicals at the workplace (MAK and BAT values) plus the suitable monitoring methods. MAK and BAT values are listed for nearly 1000 substances.

  • Includes full text
  • MATERIALSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    From ceramics and textiles to industrial engineering and manufacturing, machine design, lasers and optical engineering, manufacturing processes, nanoscience/nanotechnology, packaging and systems engineering, this dynamic library of over 170 handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and treatises, explains the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse material applications.

  • Includes full text
  • MATHnetBASE (connect | more information)

    MATHnetBASE provides access to over 70 full text mathematical resources, including handbooks and manuals, published by CRC Press. Formulas, techniques, derivations and background material needed in all areas of applied mathematics are included. Publications can be browsed or searched.

  • Includes full text
  • MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Covers topics ranging from aerospace engineering, industrial engineering and manufacturing, industrial engineering management, lasers and optical engineering, to machine design, manufacturing processing, nanoscience/nanotechnology, packaging and systems engineering. Up to 120 texts are included for searching and browsing.

  • Includes full text
  • Merck index (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • MyiLibrary (connect | more information)

    MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database.

  • Includes full text
  • NANOnetBASE (connect | more information)

    At the forefront of nanoscience and nanotechnology, these works come from top international experts affiliated with the most prestigious institutions in the field. This site now includes the award-winning Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, the leading nano reference available today. Up to 47 titles are available for browsing or searching.

  • Includes full text
  • NDLTD (connect | more information)

    Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • PHYSICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    From astrophysics to quantum physics, materials science to optoelectronics, this unified library offers both fundamental theories as well as contemporary investigations of time, matter, and space. It includes many volumes from the world-renowned Institute of Physics.

  • Includes full text
  • ProjectMANAGEMENTnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database providing the tools needed to guarantee projects delivered on time with a strong return on investment. This library contains the work of experts who discuss preferred software packages and models, as well as give succinct step-by-step advice on how to maximize talent, processes, and resources to produce a positive bottom line.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest science journals (connect | more information)

    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 490 titles--with more than 380 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences and chemistry.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Referex engineering (connect | more information)

    Referex Engineering is a searchable database providing access to the full text of over 1,600 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focussed on technique and practice, as well as specialised professional information.

  • Includes full text
  • ResearchNow : a bepress portal (connect | more information)

    ResearchNow is a database of scholarly information drawing its content from several primary sources: the roster of peer-reviewed, Berkeley Electronic Press journals, all working papers, preprints and other ¿¿¿grey literature¿¿¿ content from institutional repositories hosted by bepress that have opted for inclusion, as well as subject-matter repository materials from the bepress Legal Repository and COBRA: Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive.

  • Includes full text
  • SCANfile (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on science/technology policy and R&D/general management. Source documents include articles indexed from over 200 current Australian and international journal titles. Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T and R&D management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer.

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text
  • Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    SciFinder Scholar (connect | more information)

    SciFinder Scholar is a bibliographic database for chemistry, chemical engineering, and many other scientific areas. It allows searching by author name, research topic, company (or institution) and chemical substance or reaction and by chemical structure. It provides access to journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations and technical reports. The information is retrieved from several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including CAPLUS (1907 to present), CASREACT (1974 to present), and CAS Registry (1957 to present), and also from MEDLINE (1958 to present).
    SciFinder Scholar 2007
    Restricted to 7 simultaneous users

    Due to regular maintenance, this service is not available on Sundays between 14:00 - 17:00 hours AED, except the first Sunday of each month between 09:00 - 17:00 hours AEST
    Off campus: Not available
    Library access: Designated machine in the Hargrave Andrew Library. Monash staff and students only.
    On campus access: Install the SciFinder software to your PC. Monash Student Authcate / respectively Staff Authcate required. THIS WILL NOT WORK IN STUDENT LABS.

    SciFinder Scholar Support Information

    Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    Scitation (connect | more information)

    Provides access to abstracts and to selective full text of journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies as well as American Society of Civil Engineers journals. Subject coverage includes physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, and materials science.

  • Includes full text
  • Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • SIAM reference collection (connect | more information)

    A searchable collection of over 300 books published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, in the areas of applied mathematics and computational science.

  • Includes full text
  • Sittig's handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • SPIE digital library (connect | more information)

    The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings from 1990 to present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.

  • Includes full text
  • Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database of up to 49 handbooks on telecommunications and related engineering areas.

  • Includes full text
  • TRIBOLOGYnetBASE/LUBRICATIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Instantly access the properties, factors, and formulae your research requires. Download charts, pages, even chapters from an ever-growing library of complete handbooks and reference material, including titles found in the STLE Body of Knowledge. Topics covered include: electrical engineering, electronics, industrial engineering & manufacturing, machine design, manufacturing processing, mechanical engineering and nanoscience/nanotechnology.

  • Includes full text
  • WATERnetBASE (connect | more information)

    WATERnetBASE offers a complete resource for environmentalists, agriculturists, and engineers, including the methods, data, and innovations critical to understanding and advancing new directions in water science and engineering.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing full text access to journals, books, reference works, databases and current protocols published by Wiley. Searching across multiple publications and browsing within specific publications is possible. Subject areas which can be browsed include: business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology and, social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    World Scientific eBooks (connect | more information)

    World Scientific eBooks are electronic versions of World Scientific print titles. All subject areas that World Scientific actively publishes in are available in eBook format. Covers 16 different subject areas, concentrating on STM titles - Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest, Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    Database downtime
    Access to all Electronic Resources will be temporarily unavailable on:
    Tuesday 7th and 14th of July 2009
    between 08:00 - 09:00 hours
    due to major IT works. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.
    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases