Skip to content | Change text size

Education

Key resources

A+ Education (connect | more information)

A+ Education, based on AEI : the Australian Education Index, is an indexing and full text database that provides access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of education in Australia. Subject coverage includes Aboriginal peoples, adult and continuing education, child development, children's literature, curriculum, education, English as a second language (ESL), information science and librarianship, information technology, literature, psychology, teaching and training, Torres Strait Islanders and vocational education.

  • Includes full text
  • ERIC (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education.

    ProQuest education journals (connect | more information)

    This database provides access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. It includes the indexing and abstracts from H.W. Wilson's highly regarded Education Abstracts, and many more titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PsycINFO (connect | more information)

    PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
    See also:
    PsycINFO 2000 to present
    PsycINFO 1985 to present
    PsycINFO 1967 to present
    PsycINFO 1806 to present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

     


    Other resources

    APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    AUSPORT : Australian sport database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport, including sports administration, children and sport, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes.

    AustLit : the resource for Australian literature (connect | more information)

    AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature--URL: http://www.austlit.edu.au/about.

    Australasian education directory : AED (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive guide to educational institutions and related organisations, listing over 700 organisations. AED covers organisations in Australia and New Zealand and includes a Subject Index for Associations. Entries include full addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, email addresses, homepage addresses, regional information where applicable, names and position titles of key personnel. Approximately 50 new records are added each year and other records are modified as required.

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    BAMER (connect | more information)

    The database includes research studies and theses in music education, undertaken by Australians in Australia and overseas universities, as well as those by overseas researchers who are now resident in Australia.

    British education index (connect | more information)

    British Education Index (BEI) is the database equivalent of the printed British Education Index (BEI) and the microfiche British Education Theses Index (BETI). BEI contains the subject descriptions of, and bibliographic references to, significant journal literature relating to education and the teaching of curricular subjects; BETI similarly indexes thesis literature. The database covers all aspects and fields of education from preschool to adult and higher education, normally qualified by age or educational levels. The range of interest within indexed journals results in broad subject and geographical coverage.

    CAIRSS for music (connect | more information)

    CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Citations have been taken from 1,354 different journal titles, 18 of which are primary journals, meaning that every article ever to appear is included. The primary journals are: Arts in Psychotherapy, Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music, Education Bulletin of the National Association for Music Therapy, Contributions to Music Education, Hospital Music Newsletter, International Journal of Arts Medicine, Journal of the Association for Music and Imagery, Journal of Music Teacher Education, Journal of Music Therapy, Journal of Research in Music Education, Medical Problems of Performing Artists, Music Perception, Music Therapy, Music Therapy Perspectives, Psychology of Music Psychomusicology, Quarterly Update: Applications of Research to Music Education.

    Campbell Collaboration (connect | more information)

    The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Through its reviews and annual Colloquiums, the Collaboration strives to make the best social science research available and accessible.

  • Includes full text
  • Career and technical education (connect | more information)

    This database provides abstracts, indexes, and full text articles from over 540 titles, with more than 470 available in full text, covering all aspects of vocational and technical education. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    CBCA education (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database (formerly the Canadian Education Index) containing citations and selected abstracts for articles from over 400 journals which focus on Canadian information in the field of education. Academic, administrative, professional, and topical journals are all included, as are newsletters. It provides a source for those interested in teaching, educational research, and educational administration in Canada. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Cowen tracts (connect | more information)

    Personal collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900). A social reformer and Member of Parliament for Newcastle (1873-86), Cowen's pamphlet collection dates, mostly, from his active years from the late 1840s to early 1880s. The collection reflects his interests in social, educational and economic issues and includes much local material.--Publisher description

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)

    Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.

  • Includes full text
  • DELTAA (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on English second language learning and teaching in Australasia. Source documents include print and non-print resources in a wide range of formats. Subject coverage includes adult basic education, adult immigrant education, Adult Migrant English Program, applied linguistics, cross cultural communication, English as a second language, second language learning, English in the workplace.

    Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • EdITLib digital library for information technology and education (connect | more information)

    Database of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.

  • Includes full text
  • Education : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subject areas as: Adult and Continuing Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Elementary and Primary Education, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Professional Development, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Educational research abstracts online (connect | more information)

    Database of educational research from over 500 journals. Covers current international research in education including subjects such as educational technology, multicultural education, higher education, organisation and management, sociology of education, special needs and technical education and training. Links to full text via Ingenta Select for titles to which Monash library has a subscription.

    Encyclopedia of education (connect | more information)

    Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.

  • Includes full text
  • EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • Europa world of learning : the international guide to the academic world (connect | more information)

    International in scope, each listing provides name; address; telephone and fax numbers, e-mail and internet addresses; principal personnel; activities and publications, where available of societies, museums, libraries, research institutions and universities worldwide.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)

    This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families.

  • Includes full text
  • Hume tracts (connect | more information)

    Personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), Radical Member of Parliament. Hume's collection covers the major political, economic and social developments and reforms taking place in Britain in the early part of the 19th century along with the causes he particularly championed, such as universal suffrage, Catholic emancipation, a reduction in the power of the Anglican church and an end to imprisonment for debt.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • IDP database of research on international education (connect | more information)

    This searchable database contains details of 7,677 books, articles, conference papers and reports on various aspects of international education from publishers in Australia and abroad. The database houses material published from 1990 onwards, a period of major change in education systems around the world and in the trade in educational services.

    Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (connect | more information)

    This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Describes all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. The online edition is browsable, searchable and includes regular updates.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Social sciences (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Jason : postgraduate scholarship database for Australia (connect | more information)

    JASON (Joint Academic Scholarship Online Network) is a searchable database of Australian postgraduate scholarships information for both Australian and international students. Thirty two Australian universities contribute to the list.

    Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering all aspects of the study of language. Major areas of subject coverage include: anthropological linguistics; applied linguistics; descriptive linguistics; discourse analysis/text linguistics; hearing and speech physiology; pathological and normal hearing; history of linguistics; interpersonal behaviour and communication; language classification; pathological and normal language; learning disabilities; lexicography/lexicology; mental retardation; morphology; nonverbal communication; orthography, writing systems; philosophy of language; phonetics; phonology; poetics/literary theory; psycholinguistics; psychometrics; semantics; semiotics; sociolinguistics; special education; syntax; theory of linguistics; and, typology.

    MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies.

    MathEduc (connect | more information)

    MathEduc (formerly MATHDI) is the only international reference database offering a world-wide overview of current and recent literature on mathematics education. This ranges from didactics in mathematics to text books and teaching material. MathEduc also covers education in computer science on the elementary level. The scope includes literature for all school levels up to university education, teachers' training, job training, and general educational and pedagogical issues. About 500 journals from all over the world are evaluated, plus books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, syllabuses, curricula, audiovisual media, teaching aids, games and software.

    Mental measurements yearbook (connect | more information)

    Search Mental Measurements Yearbook to retrieve information and full text reviews of all published English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Produced by the Buros Institute, it includes information published from the 9th print edition onwards.

  • Includes full text

  • On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    NDLTD (connect | more information)

    Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.

  • Includes full text
  • Observatory on borderless higher education (connect | more information)

    The Observatory on Borderless Higher Education is a joint initiative of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and Universities UK. Focussing on the provision of strategic information to senior managers in higher education, the Observatory aims to help subscribers keep abreast of developments globally, in areas such as e-learning, growth in private and corporate education, developing markets and international collaboration. Access is provided to key studies and reports on issues in borderless higher education. Links to other relevant web sites, as well as the latest headlines (archive dates from 2002 to the present) are also provided.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • PEEL in practice (connect | more information)

    Allows users to extend their teaching practice by accessing 1500 articles which have been placed in this database. These articles can be retreived by subject, year level, common teacher concerns, classroom practices such as group work or assessment and over 220 generic teaching procedures. Also has links to publications and detailed information about PEEL, including PEEL Groups in schools and Primary PEEL, and regular updates of Idea of the Month.

  • Includes full text
  • Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    SA ePublications (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals. Journals are bundled together according to the following areas of interest: business & finance, and social sciences & humanties. The SA ePublications service offers access to full-text versions of articles that are exact copies of the printed versions. It offers contents pages of full-text articles and abstracts and the availability of an archive.

  • Includes full text
  • Sage journals online : with access to Sage full text collections (connect | more information)

    The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. Monash University Library has full text access to the following collections: 1. Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 2. Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 3. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1926 - current -- 4. Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1912 - current -- 5. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1944 - current -- 6. Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1952 - current .

  • Includes full text
  • Short courses Victoria (connect | more information)

    Searchable database of short courses in Victoria. Allows you to search for the course you want, and find a course provider that is conveniently located near your home or work. With thousands of short courses listed, the site will give you a brief overview of the course as well as the contact details necessary to find out more.

    Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies.

    Source (connect | more information)

    The Source is a searchable bibliographic database of children's books, poetry, short stories and literary awards. Where a poem or short story is out of copyright, the full text is included. Short biographical details of authors, illustrators and poets are also included.

  • Includes full text
  • SPORTDiscus with full text (connect | more information)

    With over 230 full text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text ia a bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes more than 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

  • Includes full text
  • VOCED : UNESCO/NCVER research database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database covers the topics of vocational education and training research, policy, practice, training systems and published statistics. It has extensive coverage of Australian material and includes a wide variety of key international information. Source documents include: research reports, journal articles, electronic documents, papers (published and unpublished), evaluation studies, policy documents, survey results, proceedings (workshops/seminars/conferences), theses, bibliographies, books, government publications, and published statistics.

    World education encyclopedia : a survey of educational systems worldwide (connect | more information)

    This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This edition provides up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and technological advances.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases