Skip to content | Change text size

Computer science

Key resources

ACM digital library (connect | more information)

Covers full text journals and proceedings from the Association since the 1950's. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations

  • Includes full text
  • IEEE Xplore (connect | more information)

    IEEE Xplore is a full text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering. It provides access to IEEE transactions, more than 120 journal titles, 600 conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards. Updated weekly, it also provides an email table of contents alerting service. IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and IEE (The Institution of Electrical Engineers) are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.

  • Includes full text
  • INSPEC (connect | more information)

    Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.

    ProQuest computing (connect | more information)

    Search top computing journals (nearly 300 in full text) for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet. The database includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    SpringerLink (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to Springer journals and book series. Subject coverage includes: chemical sciences, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Academic earth (connect | more information)

    The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

    Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Cambridge journals online (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to over two hundred journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

  • Includes full text
  • Citebase.eprints.org (connect | more information)

    Citebase is a prototype OAI harvester which provides users with the facility for searching across multiple archives, with results ranked according to many criteria, including citation impact with citation linking. Abstracts and some full records are also available. Citebase contains articles from physics, maths, information science, and (published only) biomedical papers.

  • Includes full text
  • CiteSeer.IST : scientific literature digital library. (connect | more information)

    CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library that provides autonomous citation indexing, citation linking and full text of Postscript and PDF research articles on the Web. Algorithms, techniques, and software are also provided and can be used in other digital libraries.

  • Includes full text
  • Compendex (connect | more information)

    Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

    Computer database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that provides citations and abstracts to 150 periodicals covering the computer, telecommunications and electronics industry. Full text of articles from 1983 is also provided. It is mainly useful for articles covering product introductions, news and reviews in areas related to software, hardware, electronics, communications and the application of technology.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.

    Computer index Australasia (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes articles from a range of journals such as Australian & New Zealand LAN Magazine, Australia PC User, PC Week, Australian Macworld and other general interest computing journals. Subject coverage includes articles on popular computing, software, hardware, communications and computer applications. Coverage: 1994 to 2001.

    Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Directory of open access journals : DOAJ (connect | more information)

    Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

  • Includes full text
  • ECO, Electronic collections online (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of a collection of journals covering all subject disciplines. Searching across multiple journals and browsing within journals is possible. Bibliographic information is available for all journal issues. Full text articles, including original text and image content, are available for journal titles included in the institution subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)

    eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files.

  • Includes full text
  • Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • InfoSci-Books (connect | more information)

    Database consists of multi-volume book collections covering 12 key areas of information science and technology. Users may access every book chapter published by IGI Global from 2000 onwards.

    InfoSci-Cases (connect | more information)

    "InfoSci-Cases (formerly IGI Teaching Case Collection) offers electronic access to all information technology teaching cases published by IGI Global in one easy-to-use online format. InfoSci-Cases is an extensive, academic, online full-text database which provides ... access to hundreds of teaching cases from IGI Global books and journals...Currently there are over 400 teaching cases available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present time and new cases are consistently added each quarter."--Overview page.

    InfoSci-Journals (connect | more information)

    Provides access to hundreds of journal articles from IGI Global's collection of over 20 journals. Currently there are over 1,000 research articles available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present.

  • Includes full text
  • InfoSECURITYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Established experts meet the increasing challenges of information security, with a wealth of material exploring system analysis and server set-up, as well as cryptography, cyber-crime, and other modern risks.

  • Includes full text
  • Internet encyclopedia (connect | more information)

    This comprehensive compendium offers a broad perspective on the Internet as a business tool, an IT platform, and a medium for communications and commerce. It presents internet theory and developments as described by global experts from such prestigious institutions as Stanford University, Harvard University, and MIT and such leading corporations as Microsoft, IBM, Hewlett-Packard, and Sun Microsystems.

  • Includes full text
  • ITKnowledgeBASE (connect | more information)

    ITKnowledgeBASE is a searchable database of information on all aspects of information technology management, strategies, systems and technologies, containing the complete Auerbach Information Management Service.

  • Includes full text
  • Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    MathSciNet (connect | more information)

    MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.

    ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest science journals (connect | more information)

    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 490 titles--with more than 380 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences and chemistry.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest telecommunications (connect | more information)

    The database includes 130 titles, with more than 105 available in full text. Topics covered include computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, and radio and television.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Rhizome.org (connect | more information)

    Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available online in the form of Web pages or downloadable files.

    Safari tech books online (connect | more information)

    Safari is a database of online books in the area of information technology. Not all titles are available for viewing, selected titles only.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text

  • To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link.

    Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. 13.03.2009


    Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

    SIAM journals online (connect | more information)

    Full text articles from journals of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Electronic issues are published on an article-by-article basis in advance of the corresponding print issues.

  • Includes full text
  • SIAM reference collection (connect | more information)

    A searchable collection of over 300 books published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, in the areas of applied mathematics and computational science.

  • Includes full text
  • Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science (connect | more information)

    An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each is authored by a prominent contributor to the field. New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley encyclopedia of computer science and engineering (connect | more information)

    Includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education.-- Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases