Skip to content | Change text size

Companies & industries

Key resources

Annual reports collection (connect | more information)

From 2003 contains annual reports for all companies listed on the ASX (Australian Stock Exchange) in Word and PDF formats. Includes annual reports (in Word format only) for the top 500 companies over the period 1995 - 2002. The complete archive extends back to 1992. Reports can be searched, downloaded and printed.

  • Includes full text
  • Aspect Fin Analysis. See: Fin Analysis (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Business source complete (connect | more information)

    A definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. It also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

    Business source premier. See: Business source complete (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • DatAnalysis (connect | more information)

    Detailed reports for all current and formerly listed companies on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX). These reports are updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Includes announcements, financial data for the last 10 years and scanned images of annual reports.

  • Includes full text
  • Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Fin Analysis (connect | more information)

    Fin Analysis provides a 12-year history of detailed financial information for all companies listed on ASX.

  • Includes full text
  • Global Market Information Database. See: Passport GMID (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • IBIS World (connect | more information)

    Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items").

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Note: Only reports listed under "Opened Items" are available.

    Mint global (connect | more information)

    Provides company reports containing detailed financial information (when available) or summary information, and ownership details. Information for listed companies is comprehensive but MINT Global's major strength is its extensive coverage of private companies. It is a version of Bureau Van Dijk's Orbis database. Component modules comprise Datamonitor industry and company profiles, news stories, and original documents such as annual, quarterly and interim reports, corporate responsibility documentation and SEC filings.

  • Includes full text

  • Available only on Australian campuses. No off campus access.

    Passport GMID (connect | more information)

    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.

  • Includes full text
  • WRDS : the path to business intelligence (connect | more information)

    A Web-based data management system providing access to a wide range of financial, economic data, including stock market indices, bond prices, interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series and financial historical data. Of greatest relevance to honours, postgraduate and staff researchers. The Monash subscription comprises the following data providers: Audit Analytics, Bureau Van Dijk, Compustat, CRSP, CSMAR, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics and RiskMetrics (formerly IRRC). WRDS also provides access to a compilation of free access data sets.

    Note: a day pass is needed to access the WRDS site; please read the FAQ instructions on how to get this working.
    For help see: Monash Related WRDS FAQ

     


    Other resources

    ABI/Inform complete (connect | more information)

    ABI/INFORM Complete is ProQuest's premier business journals database and offers access to over 6,800 journals with over 5,510 of those available in full text ... ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprising ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Included in ABI/INFORM Complete is ABI/INFORM Archive ... This database contains complete runs of key business and management journals, providing a unique historical perspective on hundreds of topics, including corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product development, and industry conditions worldwide.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM dateline (connect | more information)

    ABI/INFORM dateline contains citations and abstracts and selective full text for articles from over 280 U.S. local and regional business journals, newspapers and news magazines (230 titles have full text). It focuses on providing access to business information on large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance,and industry news not typically found in U.S. national news sources.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Database includes in-depth coverage for over 3,730 publications, with more than 2,670 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Included in ABI/INFORM Global is ABI/INFORM Archive. ABI/INFORM Global has expanded to include non-periodical content like: EIU ViewsWire -- Coverage of business and economic events from across the globe; ProQuest Business Dissertations -- Access to over 18,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses; Business Cases - over 5,200 documents available in ABI/INFORM from the following publishers: Ivey, Thunderbird, Idea Group, and Darden, and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, with full-text access to the premier business newspaper in North America, with backfile coverage to 1984.--Publisher product description.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business source complete | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM trade & industry (connect | more information)

    "ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics for more than 3,140 publications, with over 2,930 in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others."-- Publisher product description.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    BankScope : world banking information source (connect | more information)

    Information on over 26,500 (13,000 US) banks around the world including: 16 years of detailed accounts (country specific "as reported" and standardised), ratios, ratings and rating reports, ownership, country risk and country finance reports. Includes a financial analysis software program.

  • Includes full text

  • Available only on Australian campuses. No off campus access.

    Boardroom (connect | more information)

    A database of information pertaining to Australian listed companies which can be used to construct lists of companies or people (directors or executives) based on a range of parameters. Lists can be downloaded in spreadsheet format, and can be used to create mailing lists.

  • Includes full text
  • Business who's who of Australia. See: Company 360 (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • CBCA business (connect | more information)

    Database containing citations, selected abstracts and some full text for articles from up to 500 Canadian business journals, including trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Company 360 (connect | more information)

    In-depth business information and analysis on Australia's leading 50,000 private and public companies. Includes: company financial reports, financial ratios & analysis, structure & shareholders - including linkage to parent companies, subsidiaries & affiliates , board & executive profiles, company overviews, ASX data (listed companies) and latest news insight from Australia's leading business journalists - Alan Kohler, Robert Gottliebsen and Stephen Bartholomeusz.
    Licence restrictions: 1 simultaneous user only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.

    Company prospectuses (connect | more information)

    Database of Initial Public Offerings of companies to be listed on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX).

  • Includes full text
  • Connect 4 (connect | more information)

    Connect4 comprises a collection of specialised databases providing documents and customised reports relating to companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX). Monash University Library subscribes to the following Connect4 databases: Annual Reports Collection; Company Prospectuses; Mergers and Acquisitions; New Issues; Takeovers; BoardRoom; and Experts Reports.

  • Includes full text
  • Datamonitor researchstore (connect | more information)

    Use the Research Store to search for individual reports, company and country profiles and interactive data models. Containing over 1000 reports and briefs, 3000 company profiles as well as interactive models and Industry Guides, the Research Store is a wealth of industry and company knowledge across 50 industry sectors. --About Research Store.

  • Includes full text
  • Directory of Australian associations live (connect | more information)

    Provides access to more than 5,500 entries of national and state associations, foundations, marketing bodies, institutes and committees. Also included are international associations with branches in Australia. Not included in this directory are most student organisations, local community and rate payer associations, social clubs, local church groups, very small labour unions and other similar groups. Hundreds of downloadable ready-made lists in MS Excel format are available with entries including fax numbers, e-mail addresses and membership figures.

    EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of global industries (connect | more information)

    Chronicles the history, development and current status of many of the world's most lucrative and high-profile industries, with comprehensive, international coverage organized by industry.

  • Includes full text
  • Expert reports (connect | more information)

    A database comprising specialist reports which have been produced on behalf of the ASX Listed companies since 1992.

  • Includes full text
  • Indiastat.com : revealing India-- statistically. (connect | more information)

    Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production, economic statistics and tourism related data . Also provides data on sectors like banking and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements, etc. Data and statistics can easily be downloaded in MS-Excel/Word/ and HTML formats.

  • Includes full text

  • Note:for access to full text, click on "IP Login"
    Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.

    International directory of company histories (connect | more information)

    Provides a listing of, and access to all titles in this series available electronically so far. Each directory gives information on the development of any of the world's 4,550 largest and most influential companies. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management actions, NAIC codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, and competitors and other significant milestones.

  • Includes full text
  • Mergers & acquisitions (connect | more information)

    This database includes Parts A and B or Parts C and D associated with mergers and takeovers in Australia. Companies are listed by name together with their status. The full narrative of each report is listed, including: Offer descriptions, Experts' reports, Directors' recommendations, Statutory information, Linked document sets.

  • Includes full text
  • New issues (connect | more information)

    Provides access to placements, rights and entitlement issues, bonus issues and initial public offerings made by Australia's publicly listed companies. Lists and reports based on a range of parameters can be generated. Lists can also be downloaded in spreadsheet format.

  • Includes full text
  • Orbis (connect | more information)

    ORBIS is a global database which has information on over 41 million companies. [It] integrates information held across BvDEP's company information product range. ORBIS includes full searching facilities and global standard report format for in-depth international searching and analysis ... As well as descriptive information and the company financials, ORBIS contains further detail such as news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data.

  • Includes full text
  • Osiris (connect | more information)

    "OSIRIS is a fully integrated public company database ... Financial information [is included] on 53,000 listed and major unlisted/delisted companies worldwide (42,000 are non-US companies). The information includes: standardised and "as reported" financials (including restated reports), SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates including recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Takeovers (connect | more information)

    Provides an in-depth summary of every takeover of an ASX listed company in Australia from 1997 onwards. Direct links are provided to the original takeover documents which are available in MS Word and PDF format. All information can also be downloaded in spreadsheet format.

  • Includes full text
  • White pages (connect | more information)

    Online telephone directory of Australian residential, business and government contact information.

    Who's who in business in Australia (connect | more information)

    Provides access to information on Australian businesses and the people who run them. Over 24,000 biographies, 8,000 companies and 12,000 key staff references are included. Company entries include interactive website and email links as well as location, branch, subsidiaries, key staff, brand names, bankers etc. Individual entries include occupation, professional appointments, career, recreations, achievements, marriage, awards, life ethic, education and more. Downloadable ready made lists in MS Excel format are available.

    Yellow (connect | more information)

    "In 2006 we changed our name from Yellow Pages to 'Yellow' to reflect the fact that today Yellow is much more than a print directory. Our comprehensive directory content is now available to more people in more ways. yellow.com.au: is one of Australia's most visited directory sites which puts businesses at the fingertips of more people everyday."--Publisher description.

    Zephyr (connect | more information)

    "An information solution containing M&A, IPO and venture capital deals with links to detailed financial company information. ZEPHYR has five years of global coverage and includes 500,000 deals involving worldwide companies. Up to 100,000 new deals are added per year."-- Home page.

  • Includes full text

  • Available only on Australian campuses. No off campus access.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors and alumni.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors and alumni

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases