Skip to content | Change text size

Chemistry

Key resources

SciFinder Scholar (connect | more information)

SciFinder Scholar is a bibliographic database for chemistry, chemical engineering, and many other scientific areas. It allows searching by author name, research topic, company (or institution) and chemical substance or reaction and by chemical structure. It provides access to journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations and technical reports. The information is retrieved from several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including CAPLUS (1907 to present), CASREACT (1974 to present), and CAS Registry (1957 to present), and also from MEDLINE (1958 to present).
SciFinder Scholar 2007
Restricted to 7 simultaneous users

Due to regular maintenance, this service is not available on Sundays between 14:00 - 17:00 hours AED, except the first Sunday of each month between 09:00 - 17:00 hours AEST
Off campus: Not available
Library access: Designated machine in the Hargrave Andrew Library. Monash staff and students only.
On campus access: Install the SciFinder software to your PC. Monash Student Authcate / respectively Staff Authcate required. THIS WILL NOT WORK IN STUDENT LABS.

SciFinder Scholar Support Information

 


Other resources

Academic earth (connect | more information)

The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

ACS publications (connect | more information)

Provides access to the electronic full text versions of more than 30 journals published (or co-published) by the American Chemical Society.

  • Includes full text
  • Agriculture and natural resources index : ANR-Index (connect | more information)

    ANR-Index, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index archive for a comprehensive search.

    Agriculture and natural resources index archive : ANR-index archive (connect | more information)

    ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index for a comprehensive search. Coverage: 1975 to 2000.

    American elements (connect | more information)

    This company site includes detailed descriptions of a wide range of advanced and engineered materials including properties, safety information, applications and manufacture, particularly for academic research and laboratories. A periodic table diagram can be clicked on to find elements or they can be browsed alphabetically. There is also detailed information on fuel cells, nanotechnology, crystal growth, coatings and solar energy. Details of services offered by the company are provided.

  • Includes full text
  • ATSDR's toxicological profiles (connect | more information)

    Constantly updated, ATSDR'S Toxicological Profiles (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry - U.S. Public Health Service) translates over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version into a comprehensive, current, easy-to-use format on the mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data. Rigorously peer-reviewed, this work covers the toxicological effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds. Each profile includes an examination, summary, and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological data evaluations on the hazardous substance. Offers 162 final toxicological profiles, with an extensive hyperlink system and advanced search capabilities.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Inventory of Chemical Substances (AICS) (connect | more information)

    AICS is a listing of all industrial chemicals in use in Australia between 1 January 1977 and 28 February 1990. In addition, it includes new assessed chemicals and corrections, as required. AICS is maintained under the National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme (NICNAS) and contains over 38,000 chemicals. AICS is a list of chemical identity data; it does not contain information on toxicity, use, manufacturers or importers.

    Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • BIOSCIENCEnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Full-text handbooks and monographs covering topics including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • CHEMLIBnetBASE (connect | more information)

    CHEMLIBnetBASE is a collection of texts from Taylor & Francis/CRC Press in full-text electronic form, including over a dozen titles in inorganic and materials chemistry.

  • Includes full text
  • CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online (connect | more information)

    CHEMnetBASE provides access to the major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC. It includes several chemical dictionaries structured as searchable databases.

  • Includes full text
  • Chemwatch (connect | more information)

    Chemwatch is one of the world's largest supplier of independently researched MSDS (Material safety data sheets) and other related documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Off campus: Not available.

    Cold Spring Harbor protocols (connect | more information)

    Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques. -- About CSH Protocols webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • Colour index international (connect | more information)

    First published in 1925, now published on the web by the Society of Dyers and Colourists and the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists, [this database] is the only authoritative international reference work on these colorants: their nomenclature, constitution, main applications and suppliers. Colorants are listed according to the widely acclaimed system of Colour Index Generic Names and Colour Index Constitution Numbers. A detailed record of products available on the market is presented under each Colour Index reference. Against each product name is listed the manufacturer, physical form, principal usages and comments supplied by the manufacturer to guide prospective customers.--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • combined chemical dictionary (connect | more information)

    The combined chemical dictionary is a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The online version contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (240,000 records); Dictionary of natural Products (155,000 records); Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (100,000 records); Dictionary of pharmacological agents (38,000 records); and Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).

  • Includes full text
  • CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • CSIRO journals (connect | more information)

    Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    dictionary of commonly cited compounds (connect | more information)

    A database contining concise chemical and bibliographic data of 25,000 compounds most commonly used by chemists. Covers organic compounds, inorganic compounds, drugs, natural products, materials, alloys, and the elements and their isotopes.

  • Includes full text
  • Dictionary of inorganic & organometallic compounds (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Dictionary of natural products (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive database of 170,000 natural products which includes: names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, extensive source data, uses and applications, physical state, melting point, boiling point, pKa, and key literature citations, as well as a comprehensive type of compound classification scheme which brings together compounds that are biogenetically related. All information is searchable by text or by substructure.

  • Includes full text
  • Dictionary of organic compounds (connect | more information)

    Contains concise chemical, structural, and bibliographic information on over 255,000 of the most important organic compounds. These have been selected by an international team of experts in the field of modern organic chemistry and cover a wide range of commonly used chemicals, synthetic reagents, pesticides, starting materials, and simple fundamental compounds, plus a selection of natural products, pharmaceuticals, and analytical reagents. Data provided includes names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry numbers, physical properties, and key literature citations. All the information is readily searchable.

  • Includes full text
  • Ei Patents (connect | more information)

    The patents databases on Engineering Village 2 include US and European patents grants and applications covering a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Currently, there are over 10 million patents that are being offered. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) offers access to its full text patent database. Full text patents are available from 1790 to date , and European patents from 1978 with weekly updates. Full text links will route you to the USPTO or European Patent Office web site where you can download images and view the full text of the patent selected.

  • Includes full text
  • Emerald (connect | more information)

    Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Some journal articles are not available with the current Monash subscription.

    Encyclopedia of electrochemistry (connect | more information)

    This comprehensive reference provides all the pertinent information in the field of electrochemistry. Regularly updated.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry (connect | more information)

    The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry covers the following subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology (connect | more information)

    The Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology comprises of more than 300 articles on all aspects of the field. Coverage includes nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, polymerization processes and more.

  • Includes full text
  • Environmental sciences and pollution management (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature in the field of environmental sciences. Source documents include scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Major areas of subject coverage include: agricultural biotechnology; air quality; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (United States); hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; land, air, water, noise, solid waste and radioactive pollution; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology & toxic emissions; waste management; and, water resource issues.

    Handbook of heterogeneous catalysis (connect | more information)

    With almost 200 expert articles in 8 parts, Handbook of Heterogenous Catalysis provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. [Covers] all aspects of the subject, from the physico-chemical fundamentals to large-scale industrial applications.

  • Includes full text
  • Household products database (connect | more information)

    This database links over 7,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

  • Includes full text
  • International pharmaceutical abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide. Major areas of coverage include: drug reactions, toxicity, investigational drugs, drug evaluations, drug interactions, biopharmaceuticals, pharmaceuticals, drug stability, pharmacology, preliminary drug testing, pharmaceutical chemistry, drug analysis, drug metabolism, pharmacognosy, and methodology.

    International tables for crystallography (connect | more information)

    "The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work on chemical technology. Subject areas include chemical reactions, combinatorial synthesis and technology, environmental protection, industrial safety, pharmaceuticals, processes and process engineering and much more. Users can search by key words, author, Chemical Abstract Registry Numbers, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text

  • List of full text titles available

    KPjournal (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to 18 science/engineering journals and research papers published in North Korea in the fields of Natural Science (Biology, Physics, Chemistry), Geography, Medical, Pharmacology, Engineering, Mineralogy.

  • Includes full text
  • NIOSH (connect | more information)

    The NIOSH Web site features many different types of databases and information resources. They are categorized here by Chemical; Injury, Illness & Hazards Data and Information; Publications; Respirators and Other Personal Protective Equipment; Agriculture; and Construction. The most popular databases include the International Chemical Safety Cards, NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, and NIOSHTIC-2.

  • Includes full text
  • Nutrient Data Laboratory (connect | more information)

    NDL's mission is to develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods available in the United States.

    Organic reactions (connect | more information)

    Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. Organic Reactions currently consists of over 140,000 reactions, and will continue to grow annually. Organic Reactions is the definitive resource for synthetic transformations, with an emphasis on preparative aspects. Comprehensive coverage of all examples of a given reaction is provided in tabular form. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given.--Reference work home.

  • Includes full text
  • Organic syntheses website (connect | more information)

    Including the annual and collective volumes published by Wiley, this is a free searchable database of detailed experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds. Searchable fields include: structure or reaction, molecular formula, chemical name, CAS registry number, author's name, annual volume number, and collective volume number.

  • Includes full text
  • Polymers : a property database (connect | more information)

    Provides scientific and commercial information on polymers in a single source. Guides the user through the primary literature via reference citations and though supplier details by providing trade names and commercial product information. Searches by polymer, properties, trade name, application, and more. Provides comprehensive browsable indexes covering the range of property information available. Provides tabulated displays of search results and polymer data as well as monomer data cross-referenced from the relevant polymers. The database contains hotlinks to text files and ... to interactive tables of data. These interactive tables allow you to choose which data to view and how you would like to select, sort, filter and view the data.

  • Includes full text
  • Properties of organic compounds (connect | more information)

    A database containing over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    RSC eBook collection (connect | more information)

    Over 700 books spanning 40 years [published by the RSC] have been brought together digitalised as pdf files and made fully searchable. The result is a comprehensive overview of research and opinion in a multitude of areas of chemical science. Continually updated and expanded throughout the year the RSC eBook Collection provides access to new content as it is published.

  • Includes full text
  • RSC journals (connect | more information)

    Database offers full-text of current chemistry periodicals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. The database of journal articles is searchable by journal title, article title, author, issue number and date, etc.

  • Includes full text
  • Monash has access only to titles for which we have a paper subscription.
    Requires Adobe Acrobat viewer

    RTECS database (connect | more information)

    This database contains detailed profiles of over 140,000 chemical substances. Each profile provides relevant toxicological information, hazard classifications, international occupational exposure limits, regulatory information, occupational exposure survey data and reference to toxicological reviews and NIOSH and OSHA analytical methods. Part of CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Web Information Service.

    Science of synthesis : Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations (connect | more information)

    Science of Synthesis currently contains approximately 2,000 generally applicable synthetic methods in organometallic and heterocyclic chemistry covering 18,000 reactions with roughly 80,000 structures. Version 3.4 (release date: August 2007) Science of Synthesis now contains 32 volumes, covering the fields of Organometallics; Hetarenes and Related Ring Systems; Compounds with Four Carbon-Heteroatom Bonds e.g. Carbonic Acids, Imidic Acids etc. The Electronic Backfile (1909 to 2003) provides immediate access to 146,000 product specific experimental procedures, 580 000 structures, and 700 000 references in all fields of synthetic organic chemistry - dating back to the early 1800s.--Home page (viewed 7 September, 2007).

  • Includes full text
  • Sittig's handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Spectral Database for Organic Compounds : SDBS (connect | more information)

    SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

    Stability constants database (connect | more information)

    This is a database of all significant published metal-ligand stability constants including speciation curve display, temperature corrections and ionic strength corrections. It can be accessed from an initial selection of any one, or any combination, of ligand name (whole or in part), empirical formula, ligand class, metal ion(s), experimental conditions (temperature, medium, etc.), author (whole or in part), journal or page number (whole or in part) or year of publication. Once a profile specification (or template) has been entered the database is searched for the experiments which match the chosen criteria. The data for the list of experiments which match all the criteria are then displayed both in single-experiment (detailed) format and in multi-experiment (condensed) format. The database can also be browsed by ligands, metals, experiments, references and authors.
    Off campus: Not available
    If a pop-up message appears, click OK and wait until the link is established.
    View detailed instructions for further help.

    Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    STREAMLINE : Australia's natural resources database (connect | more information)

    Streamline is an Australian database providing access to information on all aspects of natural resource management including the sustainable management of land resources, vegetation resources and water resources, urban water and waste water and irrigation systems. It indexes both Australian and international journal articles, published and unpublished reports, books, monograph chapters and conference papers, but the information must be written by an Australian or be about Australia. Coverage: 1982 to 2004.

    TOXICOLOGYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    From environmental investigations to laboratory testing, from pathological studies to target-organ toxicology, this online tool offers the latest methods and data for any type of toxicological investigation. Also including the ATSDR database, it surveys issues related to food, nutrition, drug abuse, pharmaceuticals, and developmental toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • TOXLINE (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Major areas of subject coverage include: air pollution; antidotes; biological and adverse effects of drugs; carcinogenesis via chemicals; chemically induced diseases; environmental chemicals and pollutants; food additives; genotoxicity; hazardous materials; health and safety human and animal toxicity; industrial and household chemicals; mutagenicity pesticides and herbicides; radioactive materials; and, risk. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.

    TOXNET : (Toxicology Data Network) (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including CCRIS, ChemlDplus, DART/ETIC, EMIC, GENE-TOX, IRIS, NCI-3D, TOXLINE, TRI (Toxics Release Inventory). It also provides links to related web resources.

  • Includes full text
  • Treatise on geochemistry (connect | more information)

    Provides a comprehensive, integrated summarry of the present state of geochemistry. It deals with all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.

  • Includes full text
  • Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is the benchmark reference in all areas of industrial chemistry and chemical and life-science engineering. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley encyclopedia of chemical biology (connect | more information)

    WECB [covers] the cross-disciplinary field of chemical biology ... Articles in WECB ... are designed to illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. -- Home page. Major topics areas covered in the encyclopedia: Chemical Views of Biology; Biomolecules within the Cell; Chemistry of Biological Processes and Systems; Chemical Biology of Cellular Compartments; Synthetic Molecules as Tools for Chemical Biology; Technologies and Techniques in Chemical Biology; Applications of Chemical Biology.

  • Includes full text
  • Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)

    A searchable database providing access to to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works. It also holds industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, chemistry databases and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals. Online Journals comprise three major collections: 1. Medicine and Nursing. 2. Science, Technology and Medicine. 3. Social Sciences and Humanities. OnlineBooks offer flexible electronic access to thousands of Wiley books from a broad range of subject areas. Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases