| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Biological sciencesKey resourcesBiological abstracts (connect | more information)
Of interest to all levels of students and other researchers, Biological Abstracts is the foremost source of references to the life science journal literature including vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine (experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine), biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology and environment, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International coverage of over 4,000 journals with about 14% of these sourced from Asia and Australasia. About 90% of records in the database include an abstract.
Environmental sciences and pollution management (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature in the field of environmental sciences. Source documents include scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Major areas of subject coverage include: agricultural biotechnology; air quality; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (United States); hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; land, air, water, noise, solid waste and radioactive pollution; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology & toxic emissions; waste management; and, water resource issues.
ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Scopus (connect | more information)Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching. Wild plants of Victoria (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)Interactive database of distribution data with maps, descriptive text and photographs for approximately 4,500 species of wild plants growing in Victoria. Species distributions can be plotted against state-wide thematic maps for roads, rivers, towns, topography, rainfall, geology, soils etc.
Other resourcesAGRICOLA (connect | more information)Provides access to two separate bibliographic databases of the United States National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators: online public access catalogue (books, reports, conference proceedings, FAO and USDA publications, serials, patents and audiovisual material); and, journal article citation index (journal articles, book chapters, short reports and reprints). The databases encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Agriculture and natural resources index : ANR-Index (connect | more information)ANR-Index, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index archive for a comprehensive search. Agriculture and natural resources index archive : ANR-index archive (connect | more information)ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index for a comprehensive search. Coverage: 1975 to 2000. Agriculture and natural resources research : ANR-research (connect | more information)ANR-Research (formerly known as ARRIP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Research Archive to access past and present research projects. Agriculture and natural resources research archive : ANR-research archive (connect | more information)ANR-Research Archive (formerly known as CARRP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database, across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Research to access past and present research projects. Australian faunal directory (connect | more information)Compiled as a public enquiry database and will serve as a source of taxonomic and biological information on all animal species known to occur in Australia. It incorporates the data from the terminated Zoological Catalogue of Australia database project. Includes search interface plus taxonomic grouping and hierarchical checklists to families found or believed to occur in Australia. The checklists, with links to associated data, act as a guide to the heirarchy and as a means to access data. Australian wetlands database (connect | more information)You can find information on Australia's Ramsar sites, wetlands of international importance and nationally important wetlands listed in A Directory of Important Wetlands in Australia (3rd ed., 2001) Bibliography of fossil vertebrates (connect | more information)The BFV online database provides searchable access to various compilations and annual volumes, all considered part of the Bibliography of fossil vertebrates series with an unbroken record of the entire published literature on vertebrate fossils from 1509 to1958 and 1981 to 1993. BioMed Central (connect | more information)BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to original peer-reviewed biomedical research. Publications include journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in biology and medicine are also included. Research materials added by Monash authors are now also available at the site. BioOne Full-Text (connect | more information)This BioOne database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full text articles available from the BioOne organization. Access is provided to over 82 bioscience research journals and 1 book from more than 50 publishers. These titles focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences and are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers. There are two ways to access the database: Search the bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) and then link to the full-text paper; every bibliographic record links to the appropriate full-text in both PDF and HTML formats. The other method is to browse the list of journals, select the journal of interest and view the tables of contents. From there, one can link from the article title to a bibliographic record or directly to the full-text of the paper. If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA Cold Spring Harbor protocols (connect | more information)Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques. -- About CSH Protocols webpage. CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others. EcoSal (connect | more information)An archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell, comprised of several hundred modules of information and interpretation, including the genome database. ELIXIR (connect | more information)DPI's Electronic LIbrary eXchange for Information Resources (ELIXIR), produced by the Knowledge and Information Branch of the Victorian Department of Primary Industries, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, maps, manuscripts and pictorial matter in the Knowledge Resource Centre at Werribee and small regional collections of the Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment. Includes some historical materials from 1853. The libraries hold specialist collections in ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, soil conservation, botany, horticulture, land use and management, water management, pest plant and animal control, geology, aquaculture, fisheries, and marine studies. EMBASE.com (connect | more information)EMBASE.com provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed. Encyclopedia of life sciences (connect | more information)Spanning the entire spectrum of life sciences, the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. Main subject areas covered include: biochemistry, cell biology, clinical medicine, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, functional and comparative morphology, genetics and molecular biology, immunology, microbiology and virology, neuroscience, plant science, science and society, structural biology. Includes content of the Encyclopedia of Human Genome. Regularly updated. Encyclopedia of virology (connect | more information)Covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects....this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. Takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism.--About. ENDANGER (connect | more information)Threatened Species in Australia : A Select Bibliography (ENDANGER), produced by Deakin University School of Aquatic Sciences & Natural Resources Management, is a bibliographic database indexing published and unpublished material on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. A few key references on the general theme of threatened species are also listed. Most of the source documents which include books, chapters in books, journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, theses, and some non-book material (video, charts, posters etc) are published in Australia. EVA : environmental abstracts (connect | more information)EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Source documents are selected journal articles from approximately 600 journals published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. Pre-February 1998 data includes planning, heritage, urban design and town planning subject coverage. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Faculty of 1000 biology (connect | more information)Reviews and evaluates the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers. FaunaBase and FaunaList (connect | more information)FaunaBase provides on-line access to terrestrial vertebrate specimen records in the collections of the Western Australian Museum, the Queensland Museum and Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory. Fish records (WA Museum only) are also included. FaunaList provides a comprehensive phylogenetically arranged checklist of the scientific names for each vertebrate group (amphibians, birds, mammals, reptiles and fishes) recorded from Western Australia and the surrounding seas. Flora of Australia online (connect | more information)Flora of Australia Online aims to provide a uniform description of the plants of Australia, with identification keys, illustrations of most genera and many species and distribution maps of all taxa. GEOBASE (connect | more information)GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database that deeply indexes research literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. The database contains over 1.8 million bibliographic records taken from 2,000 scientific and technical journals. Online coverage is from 1980 to the present, and files are updated weekly. Handbook of biosensors and biochips (connect | more information)"Biosensors and biochips are part of the huge and rapidly evolving areas of biomolecular and bioanalytical sciences. The market for biosensors and biochips is interdisciplinary and growing and has applications in a number of core research areas. With contributions from experts in the field, the Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips provides an essential reference, underpinning many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries."--Home page. HighWire Press (connect | more information)Host site for over 340 journals, mostly high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the medical and biological sciences with some physical and social sciences titles. Access to many full text journals is available where Monash University Library has a subscription or after a period of 6, 12, or 24 months. Register for email alerts, a list of favourite journals or link to related articles in PubMed or the Web of Science. Intute. Health & life sciences (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)BioethicsWeb offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering biomedical ethics. Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area. MEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Nanotechnologies for the life sciences (connect | more information)Nanotechnologies for the Life Sciences is the first comprehensive source on the interface where materials science and life sciences meet on the nanoscale. Offers an in-depth overview of all nanoscale technologies and fabrication methods in materials engineering towards life sciences. Covers the complete range of synthetic methods, tools and techniques being developed towards medical, biological, and cybernetic applications, [and] describes all the important facets of nanofabrication. -- Home page. Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Ovid OLDMEDLINE (connect | more information)
OLDMEDLINE contains citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences. Subject searching of this file is available through key words (the original Medical Subject Headings, assigned prior to 1965) and text phrases. Unlike MEDLINE, this file contains no abstracts nor MeSH heading field data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary.
PLoS (connect | more information)PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Protein science encyclopedia : online (connect | more information)This encyclopedia is only available online. It includes the 160 most up-to-date and relevant content from a collection of 1,000 chapters from books published over the last four years, of which 160 selected chapters have been assembled into a fully searchable electronic encyclopedia. The encyclopedia will stay abreast of current research by regular updates and additions. It will also be linked to other online content via CrossRef and to the online version of the widely used 'Current Protocols in Protein Science'. Covers: Structure of proteins; Function of proteins; analytical methods of proteins; engineering of proteins [and] medical aspects of proteins.-- Home page. PubMed (connect | more information)Free access to Medline, the premier source for biomedical literature, plus the National Library of Medicine's inprocess database. PubMed indexes over 4,600 journals covering topics such as allied health, biological and physical sciences, biomedical engineering, clinical medicine, humanities and information science as they related to medicine and health care. The Clinical Queries service provides built-in search filters that retrieve human clinical research studies on diagnosis, aetiology, therapy or prognosis, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PubMed also links to a number of other National Library of Medicine (NLM) resources including molecular modelling and genetics resources, consumer health information, clinical trials database and the TOXNET cluster of databases. See also: MEDLINE | MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations | TOXNET REEF : Great Barrier Reef marine park province database (connect | more information)REEF, developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO, is a bibliographic database indexing articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, fisheries, history, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology. Source documents include books, maps, journal articles and audio visual material for both scholarly and popular audiences. Many of the records are of historical importance dating back to the 19th century. ResearchNow : a bepress portal (connect | more information)ResearchNow is a database of scholarly information drawing its content from several primary sources: the roster of peer-reviewed, Berkeley Electronic Press journals, all working papers, preprints and other żżżgrey literatureżżż content from institutional repositories hosted by bepress that have opted for inclusion, as well as subject-matter repository materials from the bepress Legal Repository and COBRA: Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive. ScienceDirect (connect | more information)ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994. Springer protocols (connect | more information)Springer protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences offering researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Includes protocols from the Humana Press series: Methods in molecular biology, Methods in molecular medicine, Methods in biotechnology, Methods in pharmacology and toxicology, and: Neuromethods. Formerly issued as: BiomedProtocols.com. STREAMLINE : Australia's natural resources database (connect | more information)Streamline is an Australian database providing access to information on all aspects of natural resource management including the sustainable management of land resources, vegetation resources and water resources, urban water and waste water and irrigation systems. It indexes both Australian and international journal articles, published and unpublished reports, books, monograph chapters and conference papers, but the information must be written by an Australian or be about Australia. Coverage: 1982 to 2004. VicMap topographic (connect | more information)The Vicmap Topographic 1:30000 series displays natural and constructed features on the ground including contours, rivers, streams, waterfalls, lakes, vegetation, roads, cliffs, localities, park boundaries, shipwrecks and more. The series is available in both A4 and A3 standard mapsheets, covers the entire State of Victoria, is provided in PDF ready to print, and is generated utilising the most currently available Vicmap data. The mapsheets are immediately retrievable in PDF, and created from the most up to date and maintained State Government Vicmap digital information. Wild plants of the Ballarat area (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)Interactive database combining distribution data, maps, descriptive text and photographs. It covers the vascular flora of the Ballarat region, both native and non-native, and includes nearly 37,000 records of nearly 1850 species. There is descriptive text for nearly all the plants and colour photographs of over 1170 species. Wiley encyclopedia of chemical biology (connect | more information)WECB [covers] the cross-disciplinary field of chemical biology ... Articles in WECB ... are designed to illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. -- Home page. Major topics areas covered in the encyclopedia: Chemical Views of Biology; Biomolecules within the Cell; Chemistry of Biological Processes and Systems; Chemical Biology of Cellular Compartments; Synthetic Molecules as Tools for Chemical Biology; Technologies and Techniques in Chemical Biology; Applications of Chemical Biology. Wiley encyclopedia of clinical trials (connect | more information)Covers the basic concepts, methodologies, and applications in clinical trials. The range of topics includes: basic statistical concepts, design and analysis of clinical trials, ethics, regulatory issues, and methodologies for clinical data management and analysis. Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)A searchable database providing full text access to journals, books, reference works, databases and current protocols published by Wiley. Searching across multiple publications and browsing within specific publications is possible. Subject areas which can be browsed include: business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology and, social sciences. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request. Important message:
Wiley InterScience platform experiences problems with the search function. Please browse journal to find the article.. World biodiversity database (connect | more information)This is a searchable taxonomic database and information system that documents presently known species. It contains taxonomic information (hierarchies), species names, synonyms and common names, descriptions, illustrations and literature references when available. A direct link to the molecular databanks of the Centre for Molecular and Biomolecular Informatics (CMBI) provides genetic information on protein sequences, nucleic acid sequences and 3D structures for each taxon.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|