| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Art & designKey resourcesARTbibliographies modern (connect | more information)ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. Subject coverage includes: performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. DAAI : design and applied arts index (connect | more information)This indexing and abstracting database provides access to more than 500 design and craft journals. Also contains 2 directories, or supplementary databases: education directory and periodicals directory. Subject coverage includes: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management. Wilson art full text (connect | more information)Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.
Other resourcesAPAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Arts hub (connect | more information)Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry. ARTstor (connect | more information)Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)
Avery index to architectural periodicals (connect | more information)Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. Avery Index also contains references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Building code of Australia (connect | more information)
Monash students and staff only. Licence restrictions: 9 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session. Car design news (connect | more information)Car Design News is an online magazine for automotive design industry professionals, transportation design students and design enthusiasts worldwide. Updated daily, Car Design News gives a global overview of the latest automotive design news, in-depth coverage of major autoshows and student design exhibitions, as well as design reviews by industry professionals, and feature articles covering the design process behind new concept and production vehicles. Compendex (connect | more information)Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884. Contemporary fashion (connect | more information)A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Dictionary of Australian artists online (connect | more information)The Dictionary of Australian Artists Online (DAAO) provides biographical data, contextual information, commentary and images. Providing authoritative, contemporary information, the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online facilitates, promotes and encourages scholarship on Australian artists. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Also available: Library online tutorials Film index international (connect | more information)Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. Grove art online See: Oxford art online (connect | more information)
Intute. Arts & humanities (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases. Masters of architecture (connect | more information)An ongoing series of colour images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. It has been digitised from the original collection of 58 slide sets which were published between the mid '80s and 2003. It includes the complete Masters of Architecture series and some additional suitable slide sets (approximately 6,000 images, all fully searchable.) There will be regular additions of similar sets of digitised images which will be automatically added to the website. Material ConneXion (connect | more information)Materials ConneXion is the largest global resource of new materials. Its library houses over 3,500 new and innovative materials representing the eight categories of polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives. Complete Library information is accessible via the Internet, using the Material ConneXion's database. MSDS Australia (connect | more information)Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products. Oxford art online (connect | more information)Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art references (Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics) in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.--About page. Restricted to 5 simultaneous users Prints and printmaking : Australia, Asia, Pacific (connect | more information)"Prints and printmaking Australia Asia Pacific provides a gateway for information on printed images from Australia and the Asia Pacific region. Based on the Australian print collection at the National Gallery of Australia there is free online access to over 22,000 images. The databases can be searched by artist, subject or print techniques such as etching, woodcut, wood-engraving, linocut, lithograph, screenprint, monotype and other print related processes such as posters and artists books. Index to online information on printmakers, print workshops, print publishers, print galleries and public and private collections." -- Home page. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
Rhizome.org (connect | more information)Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available online in the form of Web pages or downloadable files. ScienceDirect (connect | more information)ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994. To connect to ScienceDirect please use this link. Important message: Please do not print any ScienceDirect articles on library student printers, model Fuji Xerox Phaser 5550 DT, excluding Berwick and Law Library. Currently it is causing problems; reams of paper are printed, each with symbols on line one, until the job is cancelled at the printer control panel, by pressing the red cancel button. Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the ScienceDirect electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request. Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed. Monash students and staff only Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session. If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs. Please note: - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright). - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line. Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) (connect | more information)Presents the Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) based at the Surrey Institute of Art and Design in Farnham, England. Provides searchable access to image databases in the U.K. including the Imperial War Museum, London College of Fashion, National Education Archive and The Design Council Archive. VADS aims to provide the United Kingdom higher education sector with access to digital research data by building an on-line archive of electronic resources created by and of use to the visual arts community. Provides information on the organization of VADS, depositors and the deposit process, and standards guidelines. Web of knowledge (connect | more information)
ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
YARP : your arts prizes (connect | more information)"Yarp provides detailed information about arts prizes, residencies, scholarships, grants and fellowships from around Australia. From the smallest regional arts prizes right through to the largest, high profile prizes, prize monies vary from $50 to hundreds of thousands of dollars worth. Each record [in the database] includes prize opening date, prize closing date, exhibition date, prize pool total, entry fee costs, whether prize is acquisitive or not, prize website, entry restrictions, details of the prize including breakdown of individual prize categories and dollar values for each, medium/s of prize, genre of prize, organisation contact details, venue contact details, [and] individual contact details where available."--Scope of the database.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|