Skip to content | Change text size

House of Commons parliamentary papers

Connect to House of Commons parliamentary papers via Direct Connection

About this resource

The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. They are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the history of the past two centuries, and are fundamental to an understanding of current legislation, policy making and the political environment. HCPP online, with searchable full text, and detailed subject indexing, makes it possible to fully exploit the enormous potential of this resource for the first time. Between 1801 and 2000, around 9.5 million pages for over 184,000 parliamentary papers were published. Since 2001, the number of papers has grown by approximately 4,000 for each parliamentary session. HCPP delivers searchable full text for each paper, along with a detailed index. HCPP currently contains an index for 1801-2004, full text for the entire 19th century, and for 1901-1945. Two further installments will complete the 20th century, starting with coverage to the mid 1970's.

  • Data Format: Text and graphics.

Subject headings

  • Great Britain--History--19th century--Sources.
  • Great Britain--Politics and government--19th century--Sources.
  • Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    See also
    Accessing databases